We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect setting”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

An idyllic setting in the mountains, we were fortunate enough to stay here when it was relatively quiet (although we'd still booked in advance). Once again, a good Top 10 site with clean facilities and a good sized kitchen. Only gripe would be that, unlike most of the other places at which we've stayed, this one didn't have much separation between sites, so there wasn't a great deal of privacy. Not a massive issue though, as it was so quiet whilst we were there.

The guy on reception was helpful with maps, pointing out nice places to stop for food and beers. It's about a 20 minute walk down the main road to the town centre.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex-and-Carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    158
    90
    39
    9
See reviews for
110
199
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My experience with management over the telephone, and during check in and check out was fantastic a great team, providing excellent customer service.

The park is large and units are spread out, providing excellent carparking, ammenities and wow great views.

Very close to the glaciers, and reception has a small variety of foods and facilities for booking tours,

Overall a great experience 9 out of 10

The only DISAPOINTMENT was the internet, I cannot believe that in this day and age motel/hotel operators believe that the internet is an option one should pay for, Internet is a utility like electricity, pay TV, water etc, and should be included in room rates, I do not mind paying $195 per night for a 2 bedroom self contained unit (excellent) but $30 for internet WOW what a rip off,,, Even MCDonalds provide FREE Internet/WiFi with a $5 order, Stayed in 4 hotels this trip and the only place that charged for WiFi

Room Tip: Ask about internet use charges before checking in,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255122Richard1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Imagine waking up and looking out your motorhome window straight onto the mountains. Absolutely beautiful.
Friendly staff, clean tidy park. Very clean showers/toilets. Free warm spa.
Its a little bit out of town, but that was ok with us.
I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devil_n_Disquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

arrived here 5pm, with cloudless skies, by 2am snowing, and in end was most snow in Franx Josef for over 30 years

so fun in Park with all snow

kitchen, bathrooms etc are clean and operating

staff very helpful, as all roads out of town closed by snow, till after lunch day 2

a good base to use to venture up to the glacier

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tayug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Very nice little holiday park with the snow capped mountains off in the distance. Room and bed were huge and facilities were all new and clean. Very happy with our stay here, staff were very helpful and polite. Enjoyed our stay here and hope to come back.

Room Tip: The ensuite units were lovely and had a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brissiepeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

Excellent service and probably the nicest top 10 I've stayed at yet. Staff went above and beyond to ensure our stay was a good one. We had a powered site and facilities were top notch and very clean. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotwxsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The first room we checked in has NO heater at all! And this is May. We upgraded to a second room with actually a heater, but then the room was still cold and very uncomfortable. Facilities are bad throughout. Along our trip we stayed in another Top 10, and found that both of them are lackluster in quality. Don't be lured by the $5-10 savings in room rates (sometimes even at the same price). You get much better quality in other motels and holiday parks. The staffs are unfriendly by NZ standards and provides little information as we checked in. I guess they just want to go off early since we arrived around 1 hr before their reception closing time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave179_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Franz Josef hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#2 of 12 in Franz Josef
223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glow Worm Accommodation
Glow Worm Accommodation
#3 of 12 in Franz Josef
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Property: Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Address: 2902 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful setting with great views of the mountains, Franz Josef TOP 10 has accommodation to suit every budget. Guests in campervans and campers enjoy modern kitchen and bathroom facilities. Accommodation includes standard cabins with shared facilities and self-contained park motel units suitable for singles, couples, families or larger groups. We have two spas for guests to use, Wi-fi throughout the park, kids playgrounds, Sky TV, games room. Our staff know the area and are happy to advise on the best way to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing