We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good and reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really good and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This was the first site we stayed in our campervan on and I thought "if they're all like this then we will have a great stay in New Zealand". Staff were friendly, the toilet facilities were clean enough (it's not going to be 5* quality now, is it?) and it kicked off our trip comfortably. The "TOP 10" chain is not always the best to use but I'd say this one is an exception. Only downside is it a 30 minute walk into Franz Josef so you will need to drive in and park up - which is a misery in the rain but you have to take the rough with the smooth.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBob623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    161
    91
    39
    9
See reviews for
113
206
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We went in feb so it was not full, and booked a campervan powered site. We were allocated a provisional pitch but told we could move to any other that was available. Nearly all had fantastic views overlooking the snow capped mountains. Very friendly staff, and they even gave us a lift into town for our evening meal. Very clean and all the facilities we required for a great stay. Highly reccommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnandbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

The accommodation was adequate and spacious as we were led to believe it would be. We had, due to its reputation, tried to book into several top ten sites on our tour of New Zealand but had found them already booked. In hindsight this turned out to be a bit of a bonus. I know not all "top ten" sites can be judged solely on the merits of this specific park but we left feeling that we would not be in a rush to book into any more in the future.
The area of franz-josef is phenomenal and we had an awesome experience whilst staying there. However the region , due to its humidity,is renowned for a small black fly which prefers to feed on local, native animals but , given the opportunity, is quite happy with humans. Unfortunately upon our arrival, every single window in the accommodation had been left open and there were literally hundreds of insects of all varieties waiting to greet us. This was not a disaster in itself but was not a great start. Another disappointing aspect of the park itself was the crushed green glass that was all over the floor and was seemingly part of the make up of the gravel that had been crushed into the roads and driveways all over the park itself. This was utterly bizarre and within minutes had been unavoidably walked into the accommodation itself meaning we had to operate a strict "foot ware at all times" policy. Even for 5 adults this was occasionally overlooked and there were a couple of cuts suffered but on no circumstances would I entertain the thought of bringing young children to this establishment.
For five adult travellers, the most disappointing aspect of this holiday park was the staff in the reception. With the stunning views on offer in f-josef there were many people who were keen to post photos to either loved ones or onto social media sites and the reception was making a roaring trade in Internet access cards, despite the fact that the Internet connection for the whole area had been severely impaired so that ,in effect, these cards were virtually useless and led to a frustrating and fruitless night attempting to connect, reconnect etc etc. Upon contacting the reception about this we were told, quite rudely, that this was tough and there would be no refunds despite the fact that they were fully aware of the problem with the lack of connectivity. I felt more sorry for the man who had been trying to Skype his kids all night than I did for myself. He was visibly annoyed and upset (but still received no refund as he had used the card to some degree). This attitude from the staff was consistent with the information we received regarding trips and expeditions around F-josef. They only showed any interest in us when there was the possibility of us booking any excursions through them even though we were only after information at first. When we mentioned a helicopter trip over the glacier we suddenly became almost best friends despite being given one word, monotone answers previously.
It was very obvious that we would only be given the attention and information we were looking for when our hands were halfway to our pockets.
I must say at this point that the helicopter ride was awesome, but could have, in hindsight, been sourced slightly cheaper elsewhere. I don't mind people making a bit of commission at all but would prefer to not be made to feel that it can be done without a bit of common courtesy.
Every other campsite we stayed at in New Zealand were a stark contrast to this and people have gone out of their way to make us feel welcome and have given fair and impartial advice. I do appreciate that maybe, as the staff were, i think maybe Croatian and French, that certain aspects of a conversation/body language can be misunderstood or lost in translation. But I won't be in a hurry to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robprice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

i chose because it has 5star qualmark. The hotel is easy to find. It situates in the main road. Not so far from Franz Josef town centre. The room is comfort and clean. We chose the room with share bathroom. It's ok because less people had shared them with us. The price is valueble. I like it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

The camping ground was clean and a bit stark, it looked quite new. The facilities were good but my husband had to wait for a shower and he felt that the number of showers and toilets was not adequate for the number of people in the camp. We were in our campervan and were very close to the neighbours. This is disappointing in a site that is quite expensive. The staff were pleasant and friendly.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

After 10 days tenting through east coast, golden bay and upper west coast, we came across this camp ground....it's surrounded with beautiful views (mountains, glaciers, wooded, and marsh land). A bit away from town, about 2-3 km, so it is very quiet. The facilities are great, more than adequate to accommodate all at peak season. The staff are so friendly, as well. They did the booking for glacier flight, and got a discount for us eventhough we were not Top10 member. Would spend more time here, if we had more time. Perfect tenting sites!

Room Tip: Best tenting sites are toward the back of the campground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apain_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Excellent campers kitchen, lounge and showers etc.
Our Motorhome was on a concrete slab with grass between sites in a well laid out park.
A viewing site had been created from a large mound which was planted out; a nice distant view of Franz Joseph glacier and the surrounding snow capped mountains from here.
An ironing board was broken and unusable on this occasion and hair dryers overheated and cut out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 12 in Franz Josef
518 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glow Worm Accommodation
Glow Worm Accommodation
#3 of 12 in Franz Josef
306 reviews
10.7 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Property: Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Address: 2902 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful setting with great views of the mountains, Franz Josef TOP 10 has accommodation to suit every budget. Guests in campervans and campers enjoy modern kitchen and bathroom facilities. Accommodation includes standard cabins with shared facilities and self-contained park motel units suitable for singles, couples, families or larger groups. We have two spas for guests to use, Wi-fi throughout the park, kids playgrounds, Sky TV, games room. Our staff know the area and are happy to advise on the best way to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing