We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best NZ hotels we stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
213 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“One of the best NZ hotels we stayed in”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Te Waonui is a hotel built and run with green credentials in a wonderful location. The rooms are generous and of very high standard, with the whole buiding set hard against the rainforest. The staff are very pleasant and much better trained than in most of the hotels we stayed in. The dinner on the first night was excellent, the meal the second evening not quite as good. As was usually the case in NZ the cooked breakfast was far from hot, although the choice of fruit etc was excellent.

Overall, however, we had a very enjoyable stay - enhanced by seeing juvenile kiwis that were about to be released into the wild - not your everyday hotel experience!

The hotel is an upmarket option if you wish to visit the Franz Josef Glacier (highly recommended) or do any of the walks in the area. We would be very happy to stay there again if we ever get the opportunity.

Room Tip: All rooms face the rainforest due to the way the hotel is laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TW_GM, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Barbara41

We appreciate your time taken in writing this review.

During your stay the hot line on our breakfast buffet gave us significant headaches but the problem was resolved and since then the hot items have been maintained at the optimum temperatures.

I am also happy to report, the Kiwis that came to see you at the hotel were successfully released and are all doing well in their new home out in the Okarito forest.

Should the opportunity ever present itself we would love to see you back again.

Kind Regards



Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    137
    58
    10
    4
See reviews for
99
423
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This is a truly magnificient property which is located walking distance to the Franz Josef Glacier. The hotel is set in beautiful rainforest location, the staff a truly amazing and ever so helpful and then the bed and the rooms and just stunning. If that isn't enough, the food in their restaurant is 5++ service, food, and appearance truly wonderful.

I cannot wait to go back and to all the Management and staff thank you for making my stay at Te Waonui truly wonderful. Till I come back... J. Metzner

Room Tip: All rooms are good as they all face the Rainforest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2011

When our touring group arrived at this hotel we were offered a welcome drink, and the staff couldn't do enough for us. I had a large room and a large bed, which was complete with Possum Pillows! (there were also plenty of other pillows on the bed too). The glass doors opened out directly onto the rainforest. I had a top quality dinner, which was beautifully presented. One night in this hotel wasn't enough!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TW_GM, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Karen R

Thank you for your great feedback, if one night wasn't enough... We are still here if you would like to visit again !

Best Regards



Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Very welcoming reception and great room. Dinner top quality, although I am not sure some of the combinations worked. Wine excellent and good value. Staff charming.
Breakfast was not as good with some basics missing (the large coach group staying there may have got there first). Internet so expensive I did not use it.
Overall pleasant but not good value. I would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TW_GM, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Dear Tyma

We appreciate your comments as it’s the best way to learn how to correct our weaknesses and continue to strive for perfection.

My apologies for your experience at breakfast, while we do serve a breakfast buffet it is mainly aimed at our groups due to the logistics of their departure times. Our individual guests are quite welcome to partake of the buffet if they so desire but we also run, as a standard, a concurrent A la Carte menu designed specifically to take care of their needs independently of that of the group.

Our internet service was recently restructured and as a result we are able to offer a much more competitive rate for 24hour uncapped access.

We do hope that when in Franz Josef again you’ll elect to stay with us.

Kind Regards



Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This is a wonderful property in the Franz Josef area. The meals are five star as is the service.
The rooms are modern, and the views are superb if the weather is cooperative. If you want to feel pampered in the middle of the beautiful new Zealand rain forest come here.

Room Tip: Every room is good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam49Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TW_GM, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Dear sam49Wisconsin

Thank you for the wonderful comments !

We hope you’ll come back and visit us again.

Best Regards



Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is an excellent upscale hotel. Service is excellent. All personnel were outgoing and very friendly. The dinner meal was the best from the starter to the dessert. The property is clean and well maintained. This is indeed a forest retreat. A very pleasant setting. We only stayed overnight so can not comment on outside activities.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoupleFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TW_GM, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Dear CoupleFl

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

If you missed out on the activities in the area you definitely have a reason to visit us again, there is quite a lot to participate in (even when the weather doesn’t play along)

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future !

Best Regards



Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westchester county, ny
Level Contributor
166 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Franz Joseph is a tiny town of only 400 residents and with all the tourist can hit 4000 ...having said that there are just a handful of motels and hotels in the very tiny town. Te Waonui is the perfect hotel for the area. The rooms are small but very efficient...they are very Eco conscious which is important. The staff is delightful and friendly. Plus there is a wonderful restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dh24yaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TW_GM, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Dear dh24yaya

Thank you for your great comments.

You are correct in saying that we are very Eco conscious and as a result we were recently awarded with an Enviro Gold rating from Qualmark, we are extremely proud of this recognition and will continue to improve our way of doing business that minimises our impact on the environment.

I’m sure you are aware of our commitment to saving the endangered Rowi, as a result of the support from our guests were able to hand over a check to the value of $ 3200 to the Department of Conservation for November alone. We are hoping the initiative will continue generating contributions throughout the season to enable the expansion of the breeding program.

Best Regards



Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
295 reviews
24.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Waonui Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Property: Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Address: 3 Wallace Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#1 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Waonui Forest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotels in New Zealand don't get any better than this! Nestled amongst native West Coast rainforest at Franz Josef is a very special five-star Qualmark rated retreat. Designed with utmost care of its precious environment, guests at Te Waonui Forest Retreat will find themselves encircled by rainforest and accommodated in natural and sustainable luxury. Te Waonui Forest Retreat promises all its guests a truly unique and memorable experience. At one with nature, the five-star Qualmark rated Te Waonui Forest Retreat is the ultimate coming together of luxury escape and environmental awareness. Great care has been taken to ensure this exceptional forest retreat steps lightly upon the earth, from the organic cotton bedspreads to its recycled local building materials. Discerning travellers will appreciate the hotel’s attention to detail, which starts with attentive personal service upon arrival, and continues throughout all the hotel facilities and every aspect of your stay. As our guest you will enjoy exceptional quality and service, including: Luxuriously appointed guest rooms, generously proportioned and featuring the highest standard of room amenities, such as your personal pillow menu, natural wool mattress underlay, and high speed Internet access. Dining among the tres in ‘The Canopy’ restaurant, and savouring quality local cuisine, including an indulgent five-course degustation dinner. Innovative, environmentally sustainable architecture and building materials that create a healthy, warm and quiet haven for you to enjoy. Easy access to many excellent local attractions, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers, just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Te Waonui Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Waonui Forest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing