We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terrace Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (770)
Filter reviews
770 results
Traveller rating
527
162
64
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
162
64
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdegustation dinnerkiwi juicehot towelscourse mealthe general managerrefreshing drinknew zealandtraditional maorion arrivalstar serviceunderfloor heatingtour groupsmall balconytwo nightsnative bushbathroom floorfranz joseph
Filter
Updating list...
656 - 661 of 770 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Thought that our stay in the Te Waonui Forest Retreat" was gong to be the best hotel experience in our New Zealand holiday, but found it disappointing given the price and the represenations regarding service. First the positives, the building is newly constructed with largely successful efforts to integrate it with the natural environement -- a major plus relative to the many, less fortunate hotels in town. The food was very good; the room, spacious with a view of the forest.

The negatives related to our service experience. When we checked in about 5:00 PM, we were advised that we should reserve for dinner at 6:15 PM -- we suggested 6:30 or 6:45 to give us a little more time, but were told that the earlier time would be much better. We were still getting organized at 6:20 when we received a call from the restaurant asking if we were coming! We went down a few minutes later to find ourselves the only diners in the restaurant -- in fact, the only diners for the next half hour! We had a similar experience when requesting a late check-out. We had booked through the hotel a morning "heli-walk gracier" and asked on the departure morning to have the 10:00 AM check-out extended so that we could change prior to departure (as occupancy at the hotel appeared to be very low) -- they offered a time that appeared to be prior to the conclusion of the tour so we asked for clarification on tour timing or an additional 30 minutes beyond the time offered. The front desk indicated that they had large tour groups arriving, were not able to offer a later check-out time, but would talk about it later (?). We checked-out early and when we returned from the excursion to pick up our car, the hotel appeared deserted. To be fair, the manager at check-out when advised of our experience apologised for any misunderstandings and offered to extend the departure time -- not so tempting after we had already packed and left the room. In many places of the world with standard accommodations, these problems would not be worthy of menition -- when paying top dollar in New Zealand (a place with extraordinary hospitality), they are disappointing.
One further surprise was by chance reading the note by the bottle of free drinking water advocating sustainability and noting in passing that due to water shortage, the water in the plumbing system was not potable -- an alert at check-in or adjacent to the tap might be more helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpmsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

let me say first the hotel is a very pleasant place to stay, it's what they're charging for what you get that I have the problem with.

plus side
can't praise the staff enough-definitely 5 star very personal service and attention here
fantastic beds and bedding, soooooo comfortable. Where can I buy one?!
some thoughtful touches-a welcome drink in reception and complimentary mini bottle of fizz chilling in the room and a plate of fresh fruit and cookies
great location in the middle of the rainforest but still walking distance to town and the hot springs

minus side
you get so little for what you could expect from comparable hotels for the money-for instance no ipod dock or bath ( maybe it's an eco thing but where's the hot tub? and the spa? and the outside space to lie out and read a book or sunbathe in that lovely rainforest?)
rooms average, nothing special and a small, if private, balcony
charging internet on top of a list price of $600-they must be joking!!!Forget the fizz on arrival and give me internet instead.
breakfast service was a bit hit and miss-orders mixed up or didn't arrive, lukewarm tea. There are absolutely stunning views over the mountains from the dining room but they are hidden by blinds (?!)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumbobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TW_GM, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear jumbobelle

We appreciate all the feedback on your stay, thank you for the positives as well as pointing out where we are falling short.

I would like to take this opportunity to point out that each of our rooms is equipped with an ipod-dock and only the double queen rooms do not offer bathtubs. Rooms are allocated based on how the reservation is made however we would have been most happy to provide you with a King room and bathtub had we known your preference.

We do not offer a spa on site however the Glacier hotpools with full spa services are located right next to our property.

Our guests now receive a 60 minute/1000MB FREE internet connection per room per day.

From Karamea to Haast Te Waonui Forest Retreat remains the first and only premium hotel with a 5* Qualmark rating. Our service levels and inclusions are reflected in the rate we charge.

We hope that you will elect to stay with us for the extra comfort and personalised service if in the area again.

Kind Regards



Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

2011 saw my dream of a tour of New Zealand come to reality. I toured both Islands, North with family and South with APT on a luxury 10-day coach tour. Most hotels were really good, apart from one, which I will review separately. The Te Waonui Forest Retreat however was quite incredible in every way: ambiance, staff, service, food, comfort and oh the bed! It was the most comfortable experience ever - I never wanted to get up again! They had special mattress toppers of merino wool and goose down ( £500 to buy and import) and I've tried to find one here ever since, but couldn't! It was my base for a helicopter trip the next morning to the top of the Fox Glacier - another unforgettable lifetime experience, especially landing on the glacier and walking on it. The 40 minute flight took me over Mount Cook and the Tasman Glacier also. It was totally breathtaking and indescribably beautiful. Later we went on to ride on a jet boat down the Haas River - and this was just one day of my holiday! If you've not been to New Zealand do it! And if you get near enough, do try the Te Waonui Forest Retreat.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are good. They have a balcony overlooking the Rain Forest. Worth checking before booking, just in case. It is quiet, apart from the noises of the forest. Sorry no photos - I arrived late afternoon and was off again in the morning. Would love to have stayed there much longer! It is probably quite expensive, 4 or 5 star, it was part of my tour, so I don't know exactly.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbrajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TW_GM, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear barbrajay

We were honoured to be part of your dream tour of New Zealand, thank you for your kind comments.

Te Waonui Forest Retreat is a Qualmark rated 5* hotel and not as expensive as you may think given all our rate inclusions.

Please look us up if you are ever in New Zealand again.

Warm Regards



Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We were on a three week tour around New Zealand and were lucky to stay one night (unfortunately not more) at Te Waonui Forest Retreat in Franz Josef, Westland NZ. A warm welcome by the very friendly and highly professional staff, a luxury room with a great view on the rain forest and last but not least an outstanding 5-course-menu in the excellent restaurant "The Canopy" made our stay a memorable event. We will be back on our next trip to New Zealand. Keep on your way folks at Te Waonui, you are our no 1, thanks a lot!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TW_GM, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear ZPS

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, it's always fantastic to be someone’s nr1 !

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Te Waonui.

Kind Regards



Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Met on arrival with hot towel and iced tea, after a long day's drive: staff could not do enough to look after us. The premises are well located and next to the Hot Bath Spa.

Overall, this was a wonderful experience and a revival after a long journey. Our two day stay was not long enough.

The premises are located in tropic like gardens, which our room, a deluxe one with balcony, overlooked. The bed was amazingly comfortable, with a quilt topper, making it very relaxing.

Dinner was included in our package, which was a five course degustation. However, you need to take time for it: our dinner took two hours. There were some very interesting dishes.

Wifi was an extra, and not very fast in the bedroom. There was a $20 per day family package, which meant I could connect various computers and smartphones.

There was a complementary laundry, for those who need it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TW_GM, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear AlbertSolihull

We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to seeing you back with us again !

Kind Regards



Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews