We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had booked at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef and upon arrival found that we had been up-graded to Te Waonui. This deserves the 5 stars. Upon arrival received a refreshing kiwi drink and warm towel in the reception area while our luggage was taken to our room. The service through out our stay was 1st class. The room was what you would expect for the hotels rating. The spa was excellent even with the light rain. The staff was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Playin-Hooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, and we appreciate your high rating of our service delivery at Te Waonui Forest Retreat. We are commencing with our fifth summer season and a "genuine caring attitude" was one of our most important personal attributes we were on the lookout for when recruiting service team members this year.

Yours sincerely

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
There are newer reviews for Te Waonui Forest Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Hospitality at its best - that's how I can describe this hotel. Everything was amazing during our 2-night stay: from the staff, to food and the room, everything was amazing. We used the spa services as well (body wraps/massages) and we thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a very relaxing experience and we would definitely go back if we had the chance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear JustMi

Thank you for rating your time with us so highly. In a similar vein, readers can take advantage of these two-night packages at Te Waonui Forest Retreat & Spa described in your posting by visiting www.tewaonui.co.nz.

Yours sincerely

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

It takes a fantastic hotel and service to make a traveller not mind that it was pouring rain! The service was awesome right from the moment we arrived. We were greeted by name and offered a warm cloth and a glass of kiwi juice. The view from our room of the rain forest was amazing!

Room Tip: The pools looked amazing as well but we didn't get a chance to use them.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Debbie

Thank you, and pleased to read that you enjoyed your time in our magical rainforest. Te Waonui Forest Retreat guests can enjoy the proximity of Glacier Hotpools which are directly adjacent to our Hotel & Spa. Adorn yourself in our organic cotton bathrobes and complimentary slippers, grab a bath towel and soak all your city blues away!

Yours sincerely

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We spent the weekend at Te Waonui Forest Retreat - what a wonderful weekend, rain and all!
From the moment we arrived in the car park right through to departing, we experienced hospitality at its best. We arrived 10 hours later than anticipated (9.30pm) due to flights being cancelled because of bad weather. The staff, the food, the service and attention to detail was fantastic.
When we arrived we were treated to thirst quenching kiwifruit cocktails and a lovely hot flannel to freshen up with. Our check-in was effortless, our baggage was whisked away to our rooms and dinner was ready and waiting to be served. After dinner we settled into our beautiful and cosy rooms nestled in the rainforest and drifted off to sleep in beds that are so comfortable you just float away.....

After breakfast on Saturday - which was absolutely delicious, our day was filled with so many lovely things to do locally - which not even the rain could spoil. There is so much to do and on offer even when the weather is not at its best. The staff at Te Waonui were so helpful and went all out to ensure that we had a great time!

We took in a 'movie' 22 minutes long at The Alpine Adventure Centre - this movie, 'Flowing West' featuring the Glacier Country took us on a journey of exploration from the peaks of Mt. Cook down over the stunning glaciers and rain forest to the waves of the Tasman Sea - all from an armchair! We then visited the Westcoast Wild life Centre, home to the rarest kiwi and learned so much our the Rowi Kiwi. This was followed by lunch at The Landing Restaurant - great food and great hospitality!

We topped-off off our day at The Hahana Day Spa with a wonderful relaxing full body massage.

We had our pre-dinner drinks in the Bar which is so cosy and inviting before enjoying the 5-course degustation which was magnificent!

We will most certainly be back as there is still so much to explore and experience in Franz Josef - staying at Te Waonui is the 'cherry on top'.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Virna

Pleasing to read that your corporate incentive trip to Te Waonui Forest Retreat was such a wonderful success :-) Accommodation is part of the entire guest experience, and on the back of NZ's West Coast being voted by Lonely Planet readers as 10th best region in the world to visit, I am especially proud that ALL stakeholders represented themselves so proudly!

Yours sincerely

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

I was fortunate to receive an upgrade from Scenic to stay at their luxury hotel Te Waonui for the two nights my tour had me staying in Franz Josef, it was an amazing stay. My room was on the upper floor close to the Canopy Restaurant, very handy, and the second I walked in my breath was taken away by the view from the balcony, a beautiful rain forest scene, I think I sat there for a good hour just appreciating the view and song of the birds.

That night I ate at the Canopy Restaurant and I can attest to the fact that the food here is worth every last penny you pay, it is so flavoursome and a real experience in itself. My first night I partook in tea smoked scallops, mains of merino with a lovely jus and in between they cleansed my palette with a most gorgeous lavender granita. The second night I enjoyed a fantastic mushroom vegetarian dish and chocolate fondant.

A wonderful venue with great staff and services. Would happily return here to stay when in NZ next.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank BryGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear BryGL

Thank you for your valued feedback which I will share with my team. Pleasing to read that your Silere lamb from our Canterbury plains, and export grade Marlborough scallops were a highlight of your dining experience at Te Waonui Forest Retreat. Enjoy the remainder of your NZ journey before your return back to Perth.

Yours sincerely

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed in Te Waouni for 2 nights as part of a honeymoon trip around New Zealand and it was definitely the best hotel we stayed in. The welcome was outstanding, staff excellent and rooms were clean, large and very comfortable. The glacier hot pools very close by are a must, and the hotel food was also very good. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Fran

Thank you for sharing this special time with us at Te Waonui Forest Retreat. It's feedback like this and knowing that we are making a difference in people's lives that makes me love my job!

Yours sincerely

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent 2 nights in Te Waonui. I think we came here during the off peak season and I don't see many visitor staying in the hotel. This gave us a the exclusivity and luxury VIP kind of feeling. The people working there were extremely helpful and friendly. They take care of every small little details of your stay to make sure you are satisfied. The rooms were luxurious. We must emphasise the meals that we have taken in the restaurant. We didn't expected we can get good quality fine dining in such a small town. We enjoyed every meals that we had there during our stay and the waitress were friendly. My wife even told me that the chef cooked her fresh scramble eggs when the chef just happened to came out of the kitchen and saw my wife scooping up the scramble eggs that was served in the chafer. Everything was extraodinary here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sOtSoTdEi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear SotsoTDEI

The recent Haast Pass closures unfortunately interrupted some of our guest travel arrangements at Te Waonui Forest Retreat ....

It sounds like this act of God assisted in allowing you to enjoy our Hotel all to yourselves :-)

Thank you for your valued feedback and glad to read that you found our team to be so accommodating.

Yours in hospitality

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Waonui Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Address: 3 Wallace Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#1 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: £347 - £517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Waonui Forest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotels in New Zealand don't get any better than this! Nestled amongst native West Coast rainforest at Franz Josef is a very special five-star Qualmark rated retreat. Designed with utmost care of its precious environment, guests at Te Waonui Forest Retreat will find themselves encircled by rainforest and accommodated in natural and sustainable luxury. Te Waonui Forest Retreat promises all its guests a truly unique and memorable experience. At one with nature, the five-star Qualmark rated Te Waonui Forest Retreat is the ultimate coming together of luxury escape and environmental awareness. Great care has been taken to ensure this exceptional forest retreat steps lightly upon the earth, from the organic cotton bedspreads to its recycled local building materials. Discerning travellers will appreciate the hotel’s attention to detail, which starts with attentive personal service upon arrival, and continues throughout all the hotel facilities and every aspect of your stay. As our guest you will enjoy exceptional quality and service, including: Luxuriously appointed guest rooms, generously proportioned and featuring the highest standard of room amenities, such as your personal pillow menu, natural wool mattress underlay, and high speed Internet access. Dining among the tres in ‘The Canopy’ restaurant, and savouring quality local cuisine, including an indulgent five-course degustation dinner. Innovative, environmentally sustainable architecture and building materials that create a healthy, warm and quiet haven for you to enjoy. Easy access to many excellent local attractions, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers, just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Waonui Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Waonui Forest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing