We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terrace Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier View Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (770)
Filter reviews
770 results
Traveller rating
527
162
64
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
162
64
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdegustation dinnerkiwi juicehot towelscourse mealthe general managerrefreshing drinknew zealandtraditional maorion arrivalstar serviceunderfloor heatingtour groupsmall balconytwo nightsnative bushbathroom floorfranz joseph
Filter
Updating list...
554 - 559 of 770 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed her as part of a Back Roads cycling trip, so the hotel was chosen by Back Roads and included in the trip price. The hotel room and bathroom was quite luxurious with contemporary furnishings. The rooms open out onto a rain forest so they feel very private. The common areas and the restaurant are also upscale contemporary.

Restaurant dinner was sophisticated with an extensive wine list. Breakfast was a combination of cold items and made-to-order eggs, etc.

Very friendly and responsive service.

This was one of the top two places (the other being the Sofitel in Queenstown) we stayed at on a ten day cycling trip staying at eight different hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear GTfromDC

It is always rewarding to welcome our valued Backroads guests with a chilled welcome juice and hot towel after such an action packed cycle to Te Waonui Forest Retreat! Considering how many world-class properties you have reviewed, it was especially pleasing to read that you rated our staff and service delivery so highly - thank you for this!

Yours sincerely

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed and had two nights , Richard ( GM) and his team provided fantastic service , the meals are world class and the bedrooms very well appointed , peaceful and private , the spa is outstanding try the hot rocks !
This hotel provides very high standard of service and quality fittings that made our stay very enjoyable.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Tim

It is always a pleasure to welcome you and your discerning guests back to Te Waonui Forest Retreat. Let's not wait another year before we meet again in Franz Josef Glacier!

Yours sincerely

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

You could tell from the moment we arrived that there was a focus on customer service and the experience. From beginning it to the end, we were treated as the most important guest staying at the hotel. The kiwi beverage we had at arrival was very tasty.

We have been traveling around South Island with our three children (10 to 6) and had a two night stay in Franz Josef to take in the nearby glaciers.

We had two adjoining rooms, perfectly situated to accommodate our three kids in one room and my wife and I in another. Each room has a great balcony that looks into a mini rain forest. The hotel itself is well appointed and quite comfortable, with a selection of pillows for us picky travelers. Furnishings are up to date and very comfortable. There is a pay laundry available as well which is very useful. You can read the website and see all the other amenities.

The restaurant at the hotel is the best in town, serving a 5 course vegetarian meal that was wonderful. The meat dishes look promising based on their description. It fills up fast, so make your reservation early.

We did have a couple issues at the beginning of our stay, but as noted at the beginning of this review, their customer service is first class. Richard runs a great hotel (and is the epitome of customer service) and I would fully recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to or near Franz Josef.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Loveforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear LoveForFood

Although your response is a candid one, I clearly remember your challenges, and how together, we communicated at the time ensuring your stay at Te Waonui Forest Retreat was such a positive and memorable one for you and your family. There are very few second chances in this business so I appreciated your call for assistance that involved me ensuring your stay was a positive and seamless one!

Yours sincerely

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We arrived after a tiring trip to a lovely welcome by Richard the General Manager and his very friendly, helpful staff. We were offered a refreshing drink and warm hand towel, before we were shown to our rooms and the facilities explained to us, which was a very nice touch.

We had our three teenage children with us and they were extremely happy with the luxurious rooms, not to mention the wi-fi arrangement which they put to good use. They found it a relaxing place to be and enjoyed feeling we were in a special place.

After the substantial breakfast offered we had an invigorating day walking the glacier, enjoying the town of Franz Joseph and the Glacier Hot Pools before having dinner together in the dining room. We enjoyed the food and service (both breakfast and dinner) and it was great to be able to retire to watch a family movie together in our room. Two nights went by very quickly.

Overall we rated this a wonderful, memorable experience and highly recommend Te Waonui as a special destination with fantastic facilities. It totally lived up to our expectations of a luxury retreat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Lynne

Thank you for contacting me directly to make your reservation at Te Waonui Forest Retreat and for sharing your experience with others on Tripadvisor. We are finding more and more that Te Waonui is no longer the West Coast's best kept secret, and it has been great to welcome numerous Christchurch guests on our 2 night website packages over the past summer months.

Yours sincerely

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We arrived after long journey to be greeted with very appreciated hot flannels and glass of Kiwi drink. We where shown to our well appointed room with great view of rain forest. Tried to book treatments but all taken so organise these if wanted before arrival. Hot pools very near hotel for your relaxation. We real enjoyed our dinner which was very well presented. After a restful night we where refreshed to continue our travels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenlynne143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Karenlynne143

Thank you for your positive review of Te Waonui Forest Retreat. Glad that we offered you a relaxing and restful time in Franz Josef Glacier before your return to London.

Yours sincerely

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews