We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pork Belly? Yes!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alice May

Alice May
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Price range: US$7 - US$22
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: As warm and welcoming, as a traditional English Carriage House. The white walls and exposed rafters are adorned with riding tack, farm tools and other historic artifacts. While the wooden floors, wagon wheel bar stools and open fireplace add to the warmth.
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Pork Belly? Yes!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I was introduced to pork belly at Alice Mays. Quite delightful! I have tried it many times since. All are under par. The waitress from Eureka promised it'd be great. Like the name of that town....I found it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBR_PSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    382
    156
    50
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All foreigners and big groups please read this”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our treatment at the Alice May restaurant was absolutely horrific.

We were a group of eight that visited the restaurant and were under no impression that it was a fine dining establishment. Patrons dined in t-shirts and walked in with trek shoes, beer was being served. Beer was being served.

We talked, we laughed, as expected of any large group and made a reasonable amount of noise. We were neither high nor drunk. After dessert, we decided to play a game that included making the sound of a werewolf which a few of us did. NONE of us howled at the top of our lungs and we only did it ONCE.

Immediately, we were rudely interrupted by one female service staff and she said, with a look of contempt and sheer disgust, I quote, "please stop making noise, the noises you are making is absolutely awful." We were shocked. The "noise" we were making certainly didn't warrant such a response.

Here's a lesson in good service. She cld've said "I wld appreciate if you cld keep your voices down" or a thousand other similar variations expected of a waitstaff to paying customers.

We tried to nicely explain later that she cld've found a better way to put it across but her response was even more appalling. She tld us that she was already being very polite by not screaming at us and tld us to leave.

We were under such a good impression of New Zealand until our unfortunate encounter with this black sheep.

Regardless of how good the food may be (it wasn't stellar), the entire experience can be ruined by bad service.

Of all the many other restaurants our hostel staff recommended, we regretted picking Alice May and wld strongly advise foreigners unfamiliar with the restaurant's strange "speak as though you are in a library" culture to avoid this place. It is certainly not the place for large groups who want to boisterously laugh or chatter over dinner either.

A restaurant who hires such a waitstaff does not deserve your money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OneZie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Wonderful ending to a great day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great friendly welcome when we arrived. We were recommended the 3 course special for $30 and it was all delicious. Couldn't fault anything! Presentation of food and wonderful, helpful waitress Lara was great, especially the way she dealt with a rude Chinese group!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samowens62128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Rustic charm and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Good food and a cosy eatery with a nice local history in Franz Josef. Complimentary drink for early diners.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great service great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We enjoyed our dinner so much the first night we went back for dinner the second night. Very friendly staff which made the meals even better. We had the venision osso bucco and the beef carpaccio. Both were excellent but the carpaccio was over the top. Unlike any I've had before. Wonderful find for dinner.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alice May also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Alice May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing