We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best guide in New Zealand! Wonderful Scenic Views!”

Glacier Country Kayaks
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.61*
and up
Kayak Adventure from Franz Josef Glacier
More Info
US$101.64*
and up
Kayak and Walk Adventure from Franz Josef Glacier
Ranked #1 of 11 Tours in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A unique kayak adventure across Lake Mapourika, created by the mighty Franz Josef Glacier. We experience amazing panoramic views of the glaciers and southern alps, mirror like water and also explore a Kiwi Conservation area amongst some of Westland's oldest untouched rainforest. Free photos are included with each tour!
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent the morning heli-hiking and were not planning on doing anything in the afternoon but the concierge at our hotel said not to miss the kayaking during our stay. We booked it and got there just in time for one of the most scenic and relaxing afternoons of our trip. Our guide took us to all the best spots and was a lot of fun too. As it turns out, her significant other was also our guide that morning when we went heli-hiking. Small world. Anyway, not only was this tour amazing but Glacier Country Kayaks has some of the best customer service of any company we ran into in New Zealand. Our guide had taken beautiful pictures of us kayaking during the afternoon and made a CD that was included free. We were leaving early the next morning and we were not going to have time to pick it up so she got everything copied to the CD that evening and dropped it off personally at our hotel for us. Thank You so much!

Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glacierkayaks, Owner at Glacier Country Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hi Matthew,

Wow - thanks so much for your wonderful review! I'm glad that both my partner and I provided you with a great experience from the Glacier out to our peaceful lake in the afternoon:)

Many thanks
Bronwyn & Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 246 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Thank you for the fun afternoon Bronwyn! It turned out to be a beautiful afternoon in spite of the bad wether earlier in the weekend. They were very accommodating in conjunction with my Glacier hike and even picked me up from the heli pad. I have to say the trip through the rainforest river was the highlight to my weekend. Can't wait to take another trip when I'm back in the area.

1  Thank petro008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glacierkayaks, Owner at Glacier Country Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thanks for the Review! It's a rewarding day walking on the ice and being swept up from the helipads to go for a paddle! Very pleased that the Kiwi Sanctuary paddle through the rainforest was the highlight of your weekend - we look forward to the next time!

-Bronwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was one of the first to experience the kayak, hike combo earlier this season. I do live in the area so it was wonderful to see some more of our fine scenery, by getting out on the water and hiking through our kiwi sanctuary. There is no other way to see this area without doing this trip. The guides were fun and informative, at the same time they were making sure that we knew what to do and how to do it with the kayaks. If you are not so confident you soon will be with their loving tender care. This is a trip that will suit all levels of ability. Prepare to have a great time!

Thank Jules068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glacierkayaks, Owner at Glacier Country Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thanks for your feedback on our newest product - the Kayak & Walk! It's something we've all put our heart and soul into creating this last season and it's been a success so far! Looking forward to getting more happy paddlers over to check it out:)
Cheers
B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I booked in this trip for myself and a friend as a combo package with the Skydive, we had an amazing afternoon and would recommend the kayak trip to anyone visiting Franz Josef. Clare, our guide, was such fun, friendly and very knowledgeable - she made sure we were all comfortable and safe in our kayaks and the tour route itself was fantastic. An amazing way to see the gorgeous surroundings. Thankyou so much Clare, we had a brilliant time! :)

Thank GemmaReap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glacierkayaks, Owner at Glacier Country Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thanks for your review Gemma! Sounds like you had a pretty epic day - skydiving and kayaking, you've now seen the region from all angles! Happy Travels:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Was looking for something to do for a morning and saw the kayaks by reception, popped in to check it out and ended up on trip which was great. It got a bit windy so the paddle in was more challenging but up to the sanctuary was "easy as"! great guide and the office lady was really nice too. Throw in some free photos and its a great way to spend the morning/day/evening. If I come back i'd like to do the sunset on a calm day, bet it would be stunning.

Thank fromlondononwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glacierkayaks, Owner at Glacier Country Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thanks for your great review ! We're always stoked to see our paddlers enjoy the lake even in adverse weather conditions! The kiwi sanctuary is your reward on the far side - thanks for sharing, and we hope to see you back for a sunset paddle someday :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glacier Country Kayaks also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Glacier Country Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing