We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique location”
Review of 10 Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
10 Cottages
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Really quaint, nice to be able to park right outside our own cottage

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homealonepets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed here overnight as part of our self-drive tour around the South Island. The cottages are at the end of a cul-de-sac but only minutes from the main road. While the cottages weren't fancy, they were well equipped with a queen and single bed, a table with 2 chairs, a kitchenette and heaters in the room and bathroom. The bed and pillows were too soft for my liking and there's no bedhead so your heads are pushing up against the wall. The staff at the Terrace Motels were very helpful and friendly and gave us information on activities and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaz188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed at 10 cottages for 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. The location was excellent and very close to the main street. Made it an easy choice if you wanted to walk to the shops or dinner (we didn't - it was to cold!)

When entering the unit, I remarked on how clean, private and excellent the accommodation was. We felt safe and the staff were so polite and helpful. Suggestions of things to do on a poor weather day lead us to enjoy our experience in the area and see sights we would not have previously considered.

I would like to thank you for the lovely accommodation and for making our Franz Josef part of our trip a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank racula6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This hotel is nestled amongst the beautiful mountain ranges of west coast. The cottages look new. The are wooden and when heated stay warm. They are small but clean. very functional with a fridge, TV, heater, kettle etc. The bathroom is clean too.
When the earthquake happened, we were staying here. We were outside doing sighseeing, and our relatives could not contact us on mobile. So they contacted the hotel, and the staff was very king to leave a note in our room, and also tell us afterwards who called etc.
They also provided us with maps and useful information about nearby attractions, and weather.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adwait_kulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Bit like a posh caravan but everything you need for overnight stay.Very clean and comfy bed.Ideally situated close to centre of village for eating out etc. Very friendly recption staff at terrace Motel

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Really lovely little cabin, very private and quiet and close to the center of town. Very good kitchen and large well appointed bedroom/living room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eussebn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Great stay, I truly enjoyed the cottage, their style and the location. It's located in a quieter area but still 3 minutes away from the main road and all the activities. The staff (at the other hotel where you have to check in) was really helpful, going through all the things I could do depending on the weather (very important factor while you are in Franz Josef.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iannyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,217 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Cottages

Address: 8 Graham Place, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range: £71 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 10 Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backing onto peaceful greenery, 10 Cottages offers self-contained Cottages with individual balconies. Located just 2 minutes walk from the centre of Franz Josef Village and 3 minutes walk to the Glacier Hot Pools, 10 Cottages is the ideal stop for a holiday in Franz Josef. Guests can enjoy Unlimited Free WiFi and free off-street parking. The 10 Cottages offers views from snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from most rooms and its grounds. All rooms contain a kitchenette with microwave and breakfast making facilities, flat-screen-televisions with satellite channels, hairdryer, electric heating and blankets. There is an onsite launderette and the nearest restaurant is within 100 metres. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. The 10 Cottages has also arranged discounts for guests with some restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your 10 Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing