We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and good value”
Review of 10 Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
10 Cottages
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Nailsea, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and good value”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights back in March of this year during our 5 week trip around New Zealand. These cottaqges did not look much from the outside however we were most impressed as they they were very modern, well-equipped and warm. The owner was most friendly and welcoming . Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    103
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
146
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We were greeted by professional and friendly Rosemary who talked us through all of our options during our stay eg: walks around local lakes, tours and further down to Queenstown where we were headed next. We were also provided options either to stay in the motel or inthe cottages as we were the only ones in the cottages that night. We chose the latter and as we were situated at the end of a culdesac close to the main town centre it, it was nice and quiet and we had a great view of the mountains. The rooms were very clean and serviced daily and a good size for a short stay. Note that it feels a bit strange being so close to the neighboring houses and it might be feel a bit intrusive. So if you like to be in a hotel/motel complex there are options to choose from at Franz.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mealzybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed two nights here so we could visit the glaciers and Lake Matheson. We weren't sure what to expect, as they looked a bit like tin shacks and I was afraid they would be cold - it was dismal, overcast and raining when we arrived. However, inside it was warm and cosy and not really any different from any motel room.

The 'cottages' are well placed in a nice quiet corner of Franz Josef and just a short walk from the supermarket/restaurants etc. They all have great views of the mountains (when it's not overcast that is!) and ours seemed to have the best one as the next morning when the sun was shining, the owner came to take pics of the mountain from our window for the new brochure!

Facilities are fairly basic, but everything is very clean, and the bathroom was better than in some hotels (though with the usual bath towels that are just that bit too small!). The kitchenette was adequate, with no real cooking facilities apart from a microwave, so not perfect for self-catering for more than a couple of days.

All in all, a great place to stay if you don't want to pay through the nose for accommodation - we'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stopped at 10 Cottages for a couple of nights on a recent trip to South Island. The accommodation itself was ideal for our needs. Self contained and spotlessly clean, the detached chalets are located at the end of a cul-de-sac in a quiet part of Franz Josef, but within easy walking distance of the main facilities in the town. The accommodation reception is located a short walk away - the receptionist was very friendly and gave us a number of helpful tips with regard to eating out in the town. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenLynne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Really quaint, nice to be able to park right outside our own cottage

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homealonepets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed here overnight as part of our self-drive tour around the South Island. The cottages are at the end of a cul-de-sac but only minutes from the main road. While the cottages weren't fancy, they were well equipped with a queen and single bed, a table with 2 chairs, a kitchenette and heaters in the room and bathroom. The bed and pillows were too soft for my liking and there's no bedhead so your heads are pushing up against the wall. The staff at the Terrace Motels were very helpful and friendly and gave us information on activities and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed at 10 cottages for 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. The location was excellent and very close to the main street. Made it an easy choice if you wanted to walk to the shops or dinner (we didn't - it was to cold!)

When entering the unit, I remarked on how clean, private and excellent the accommodation was. We felt safe and the staff were so polite and helpful. Suggestions of things to do on a poor weather day lead us to enjoy our experience in the area and see sights we would not have previously considered.

I would like to thank you for the lovely accommodation and for making our Franz Josef part of our trip a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racula6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Cottages

Property: 10 Cottages
Address: 8 Graham Place, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 10 Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backing onto peaceful greenery, 10 Cottages offers self-contained Cottages with individual balconies. Located just 2 minutes walk from the centre of Franz Josef Village and 3 minutes walk to the Glacier Hot Pools, 10 Cottages is the ideal stop for a holiday in Franz Josef. Guests can enjoy Unlimited Free WiFi and free off-street parking. The 10 Cottages offers views from snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from most rooms and its grounds. All rooms contain a kitchenette with microwave and breakfast making facilities, flat-screen-televisions with satellite channels, hairdryer, electric heating and blankets. There is an onsite launderette and the nearest restaurant is within 100 metres. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. The 10 Cottages has also arranged discounts for guests with some restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 10 Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing