We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Basic but clean and new.”
Review of 10 Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
10 Cottages
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location. Basic but clean and new.”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This location is within a few minutes drive, even walking distance, from the township.

Very handy to restaurants and the Scenic Helicopter Flights.

The cottages complex seems new and only offers a Microwave - no cooktop.

They are more of a free standing motel room than a cottage and they are all very closely clustered together.

However, we were only there for one night and it was very clean with a very good bed and pillows.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    103
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
44
147
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We were only passing through Franz Josef so required only one nights accommodation. Slight trouble finding the reception turns out that is based on the street over from the cottages at The Terrace motel.
The cottage itself was clean, bed comfortable, small kitchenette and freeview tv. Basic but everything we required.
Parking was a little on the tight side but street parking would be available.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSmith00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay with us.
We are trying our best to sort out the reception/office issue by giving advance notice to our guests upon booking on where to check in. We are pleased to know you'd consider staying again if visiting the Glacier Region in the future. We are more than happy to welcome you back.

Regards,
10 Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

You check in for 10 Cottages just around the corner at a motel, with friendly and helpful service. The receptionist immediately provided a detailed map of the area, marking places she recommended and answering any questions we had. Our unit looked a bit like a corrugated metal shed with a sliding glass door from the front, but inside where it counts, was everything we needed. In the room with comfortable bed and plenty of room were a minifridge, hair dryer, kitchen sink, microwave, glasses, dishes, utensils, TV, and blow dryer. There was even a little private Laundromat with a couple of washers and dryers available for a few two-dollar coins.

Everything in town is within walking distance, and they had booked a glacier walk for us with Franz Joseph Glacier Guides. I thought the price for the helicopter transport up and back, and the three hour glacier walk, was pretty steep before we did the walk. Afterward I decided the price was a bargain—don’t miss this one. It was one of the highlights of our three weeks in New Zealand.

Two minor issues that should not affect your decision to stay here: wi-fi is provided in blocks of 50MB per night, which is plenty if you just want to email and file a TripAdvisor report or two; but don’t think about sending large files, such as photos, back home, unless you want to pay for extra capacity. The speed is very slow at times, but that may well be a problem throughout this fairly isolated town. And like many hotels, there’s a sign in the bathroom indicating where to put towels if you want them washed. Also, as in many hotels, this one is ignored by the cleanup people, and our towels were washed after only one use.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Compact units but had all we wanted for two nights. Very clean with little mini kitcehn area with sink and microwave but no hob. Parking outside cottages a little limited and was not sure which parking spot we should have parked in. Close to main street. Found staff very helpful

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth/Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opua, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

These compact (8 * 4 meter) cabins are located just 150 meters from the center of town just one street east of the main road. Check in is at the Terrace Motel next door.

Our cabin was equipped to sleep three, was well heated, and had a small table and three chairs. The kitchenette included a microwave, fridge and sink.

It was an absolute delight to wake up to a view of a snowcapped peak right from our bed. I believe cabins one through five all have this beautiful view.

Room Tip: Suggestyou ask for cabin 1 through 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We are happy to share a beautiful part of the region with you on your stay here. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

i stayed at 10 cottages for 2 nights and though i have nothing to complain about the services,the attitude of the hosts towards us was very rude and uncalled for..i accidently spilled some curry on the bed linen and the host charged 80 dollars from us.that's fine and i agreed to pay for it immediately but she was very rude in this matter.these things happen and she should have been gracious about it.one doesnt expect behavior like that in the hospitality industry

Room Tip: the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arpit1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose_tom10, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Dear Arpit,
Thank you for your feedback and for rating our rooms, cleanliness and service 4 out of 5.
We pride ourselves on maintaining a very high standard and our staff work very hard to achieve this and we will pass this on to them.

This review is 11 months after staying with us.
To refresh your memory a contribution of $60 was charged to you not $80 as stated.
Check-out was made without informing us of the damage to the duvet and the bed spread.
You returned later to collect items left behind and still did not mention the accident and at that stage we brought the damage to your attention.
We were very upset that you had left without advising us of your accident that food has been spilt on the duvet and bed spread, as this was curry which is impossible to remove (if any one know a method of removing curry stains, I would be pleased to know).
The $60 was to cover only the dry cleaning cost but unfortunately both the duvet and bed spread needed to be replaced. The contribution of $60 was far below the replacement value.
We have been in the Hospitality for over 16 years and are always generous if the guest informs us of any incident, breakage or accident they may have had.

We can only apologise for our behavior and if you feel we have treated you unfairly.

Regards,
Tom and Rosemary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

10 Cottages exceeded our expectations. The cottage was new, spacious and clean. Little noise from guests in neighboring cottages as they are detached. The staff were friendly and helpful. A very nice place to stay for the price!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 and it had a bit of a view of the mountains, it was also more separated from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
We are pleased to read that your stay exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Cottages

Property: 10 Cottages
Address: 8 Graham Place, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 10 Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backing onto peaceful greenery, 10 Cottages offers self-contained Cottages with individual balconies. Located just 2 minutes walk from the centre of Franz Josef Village and 3 minutes walk to the Glacier Hot Pools, 10 Cottages is the ideal stop for a holiday in Franz Josef. Guests can enjoy Unlimited Free WiFi and free off-street parking. The 10 Cottages offers views from snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from most rooms and its grounds. All rooms contain a kitchenette with microwave and breakfast making facilities, flat-screen-televisions with satellite channels, hairdryer, electric heating and blankets. There is an onsite launderette and the nearest restaurant is within 100 metres. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. The 10 Cottages has also arranged discounts for guests with some restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your 10 Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing