We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, well-placed, affordable accommodation -- next to the rain forest!”
Review of 10 Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
10 Cottages
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We enjoyed a two-night stay at 10 Cottages and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We recommend asking for one of the ten free-standing cottages nearest the rain forest ... we were treated to our first glimpses of the fantails birds and loved listening to the forest after returning from dinner. The rooms have a wee fridge and microwave, comfortable beds (each room has a double and a single bed) and the cottages are located right behind the Terrace Motel (check in there), one block off Hwy. 6. The town is fairly small but 10 Cottages is that same block away from The Landing, a great pub/restaurant .. and there is a bakery a couple blocks up Hwy 6 in the direction of Fox Glacier. The Kiwi House is one-half block away. The staff in the 10 Cottages office were wonderfully helpful in all aspects, helping with glacier walks, directions, etc. We highly recommend 10 Cottages!

Room Tip: Ask for the ones next to the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irishwriter1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Irish Writer,
Thank you fro staying with us and taking the time to write a review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed the fantail birds they are so friendly- it is delightful to see them.

We take pride in maintaining the cottages and are pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction. Thank you for your wonderful review .

Regards
Tom and Rosemary Your Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

We spent two nights here and found the wee stand-alone cottages great. Close to each other, but still private. There's something special about using the bathroom facilities listening to native birdsong! Had no trouble finding the place and it was very comfortable, clean and had all the facilities we required. Handy to town, restaurants and hot pools. Host very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hottees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank You for your kind words.
It always makes us happy to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay.
The bird song is a joy- so glad you liked it.
We take pride in having the rooms at a high standard of cleanliness .
we appreciate your feed back
Thank you for staying with us.
Regards Tom and Rosemary Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This location is within a few minutes drive, even walking distance, from the township.

Very handy to restaurants and the Scenic Helicopter Flights.

The cottages complex seems new and only offers a Microwave - no cooktop.

They are more of a free standing motel room than a cottage and they are all very closely clustered together.

However, we were only there for one night and it was very clean with a very good bed and pillows.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We were only passing through Franz Josef so required only one nights accommodation. Slight trouble finding the reception turns out that is based on the street over from the cottages at The Terrace motel.
The cottage itself was clean, bed comfortable, small kitchenette and freeview tv. Basic but everything we required.
Parking was a little on the tight side but street parking would be available.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrSmith00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay with us.
We are trying our best to sort out the reception/office issue by giving advance notice to our guests upon booking on where to check in. We are pleased to know you'd consider staying again if visiting the Glacier Region in the future. We are more than happy to welcome you back.

Regards,
10 Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

You check in for 10 Cottages just around the corner at a motel, with friendly and helpful service. The receptionist immediately provided a detailed map of the area, marking places she recommended and answering any questions we had. Our unit looked a bit like a corrugated metal shed with a sliding glass door from the front, but inside where it counts, was everything we needed. In the room with comfortable bed and plenty of room were a minifridge, hair dryer, kitchen sink, microwave, glasses, dishes, utensils, TV, and blow dryer. There was even a little private Laundromat with a couple of washers and dryers available for a few two-dollar coins.

Everything in town is within walking distance, and they had booked a glacier walk for us with Franz Joseph Glacier Guides. I thought the price for the helicopter transport up and back, and the three hour glacier walk, was pretty steep before we did the walk. Afterward I decided the price was a bargain—don’t miss this one. It was one of the highlights of our three weeks in New Zealand.

Two minor issues that should not affect your decision to stay here: wi-fi is provided in blocks of 50MB per night, which is plenty if you just want to email and file a TripAdvisor report or two; but don’t think about sending large files, such as photos, back home, unless you want to pay for extra capacity. The speed is very slow at times, but that may well be a problem throughout this fairly isolated town. And like many hotels, there’s a sign in the bathroom indicating where to put towels if you want them washed. Also, as in many hotels, this one is ignored by the cleanup people, and our towels were washed after only one use.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Compact units but had all we wanted for two nights. Very clean with little mini kitcehn area with sink and microwave but no hob. Parking outside cottages a little limited and was not sure which parking spot we should have parked in. Close to main street. Found staff very helpful

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth/Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

These compact (8 * 4 meter) cabins are located just 150 meters from the center of town just one street east of the main road. Check in is at the Terrace Motel next door.

Our cabin was equipped to sleep three, was well heated, and had a small table and three chairs. The kitchenette included a microwave, fridge and sink.

It was an absolute delight to wake up to a view of a snowcapped peak right from our bed. I believe cabins one through five all have this beautiful view.

Room Tip: Suggestyou ask for cabin 1 through 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thanks for your feedback. We are happy to share a beautiful part of the region with you on your stay here. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,252 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Cottages

Address: 8 Graham Place, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range: £58 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 10 Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backing onto peaceful greenery, 10 Cottages offers self-contained Cottages with individual balconies. Located just 2 minutes walk from the centre of Franz Josef Village and 3 minutes walk to the Glacier Hot Pools, 10 Cottages is the ideal stop for a holiday in Franz Josef. Guests can enjoy Unlimited Free WiFi and free off-street parking. The 10 Cottages offers views from snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from most rooms and its grounds. All rooms contain a kitchenette with microwave and breakfast making facilities, flat-screen-televisions with satellite channels, hairdryer, electric heating and blankets. There is an onsite launderette and the nearest restaurant is within 100 metres. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. The 10 Cottages has also arranged discounts for guests with some restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 10 Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing