We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable and convenient accommodation.”
Review of 10 Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
10 Cottages
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Nice comfortable and convenient accommodation. Hosts very helpful and knowledgable about the district and available activities could not be more helpful. Close to Kiwi exhibit, restaurants and excellent glacier flight.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank C_Windy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your comments, it always makes my day along with the team to get nice comments as we really enjoy sharing our wonderful area with visitors.

I hope you are able to stay with us again one day, for the best rates please book direct with us.

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Extremely comfortable king sized bed, bathroom slightly squishy, can cook for yourself in the lovely set out kitchen. Views of the mountains with snow on the top peaks, all in all good value and spotless. Owner was friendly and able to give lots of helpful advice on where to eat out and what to see.

Room Tip: Any of the cottages would be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozanvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Good value and compact . Spotlessly clean and great position. Make sure to do the helicopter flight onto the glacier and you can walk to see glow worms late at night. Good places to eat nearby so good location if staying only a couple of nights

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GB0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Many thanks for your nice comments, we try very hard to offer our guests quality accommodation. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

For the best value always book directly on our own website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

it was clean and comfortable and quiet. The host was exceedingly helpful and informative and keen to make your stay enjoyable and interesting, giving a lot of good tips concerning the sights to visit. The shops and restaurants are in walking distance

Room Tip: follow the instructions and remember to pick up the key at a different place (which is not far)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Walked in one morning hoping to get accommodation in the attached motel and were lucky enough to be able to get one of the cottages for 2 nights. Guy on reception was really friendly and helpful in advising on things that were going in in Franz Josef during our stay. The cottage we were staying in was actually build for wheelchair users, so also a good choice in the regard. Also a great view. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ling_M_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose_tom10, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for your review, we are always happy to provide information on the many wonderful activities on offer in the region. I hope you had a great holiday and enjoyed Franz Josef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

we had so problem of our trip. Host help us to arrange and discuss with us kindly. It's a very nice place to stay. everything is clean. your will have a small kitchen cooking by your self. Or went to the main street. there is a very good steak! By the way, the road close every 18:00. Make sure your trip is not going to the south after 18:00.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose_tom10, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

I am glad you managed to get your walk on the Glacier and hope you got through to Wanaka without any issues.

For other travellers benefit the Haast Pass is currently closing near Haast at 6pm (6:30pm if you are coming from Wanaka / Queenstown). The closure is due to an active slip which can affect the road. Haast is about 2- 2.5 hours drive South of Franz Josef so the slip will not affect your trip if are leaving in the morning and heading towards Wanaka or Queenstown. You may however want to stay at least two nights so you can enjoy the actives on offer (or just relax in the hot pools) and you don’t have to rush South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Excellent location...walking distance to restaurants, tour offices and grocery store. As noted in some of the reviews, you check-in and pick up keys at a different location. This location is just around the corner from 10 Cottages (2 min walk) so it worked out fine for us. The staff was super friendly and had great local recommendations. They went out of their way to keep the check-in office open after hours on our arrival. The rooms are clean and cozy and the kitchen is well stocked with teas and coffee. This is definitely a great stay for visiting the glaciers and needing a good rest afterwards.

I appreciate having the windows open to bring in the fresh air. It would be an added bonus if management would add screens to at least a few windows/sliding door to keep some of the friendly insects from coming inside.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose_tom10, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for your nice comments, we try hard to make sure everyone has a great stay and gets to enjoy our part of the world. I will see if it is possible to add some form of insect screen to the windows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,237 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Cottages

Address: 8 Graham Place, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range: £71 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 10 Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backing onto peaceful greenery, 10 Cottages offers self-contained Cottages with individual balconies. Located just 2 minutes walk from the centre of Franz Josef Village and 3 minutes walk to the Glacier Hot Pools, 10 Cottages is the ideal stop for a holiday in Franz Josef. Guests can enjoy Unlimited Free WiFi and free off-street parking. The 10 Cottages offers views from snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from most rooms and its grounds. All rooms contain a kitchenette with microwave and breakfast making facilities, flat-screen-televisions with satellite channels, hairdryer, electric heating and blankets. There is an onsite launderette and the nearest restaurant is within 100 metres. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. The 10 Cottages has also arranged discounts for guests with some restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 10 Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing