We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
141
123
32
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
123
32
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice cottage hot scones glow worm tour small cabin electric blankets the main street butter and jam walking distance to restaurants mountain view sliding door two nights eating places comfortable stay single bed parking space short stay great accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed in one of the cottages and it was very difficult to keep the cottage warm. Coming in there was a smell of mould. The place was spacious wit good beds and electrical blankets in each bed to keep you warm during night. The kitchen was not very well equipped, no whisk, no scissors, no oven gloves, etc etc.
Frying pans where of poor quality and everything was very simple.

A positive was the Big Bang grill and how quiet the place was. I am sure it would have been a different experience during the summer months.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank kalleviken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hi Kalleviken

I am sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay.

I am happy to hear you found the house quiet and enjoyed our beds and electric blankets.

I believe you stayed in our largest option, a 3 bedroom house which is different in design to the standard studio cottages. I appreciate it has been unusually cold recently with fresh snow and the extra high ceiling in the house which are normally a nice feature make for a larger space to heat up. Had we known you were cold we have plenty of additional heaters we could have given you.

We have not had other guests request whisks or scissors before – I will seek feedback from the next few guests on what additions people would like.

I have checked the house, which is in very regular use, and believe the smell you found was from the last persons cooking. We request people not to cook items with strong odours or to use the BBQ however unfortunately some people ignore this request.

Once again I am sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay, normally people really love staying in such a large house and we get great feedback on it.

We hope the rest of your holiday goes well.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Quite a small cabin/cottage but good for a short stay. Was clean and had the amenities we needed. Nice quiet location. And the tavern next door is a must best place in town. We had a lovely view of the mountains and woke up to fresh snow on the peeks, stunning.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank Pamella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hi Pamella

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your view and the fresh snow was have had along with our central quiet location.

We hope you are able to stay with us again in the future, when you do please book directly on our website for our lowest prices.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

The cottage was neat and tidy. There was a third single bed, which with the 3rd persons belongings would have been pretty cramped. The staff were friendly and helpful, bringing us an extra heater on our first night as we found the room was taking an age to warm up.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kewtypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Hi

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, we hope the rest of your holiday went well and you are able to come back and stay with us again in the future. When you do, please book directly on our website for our lowest prices.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Staff was great. We had the pleasure of staying at the Executive Deluxe Suite, it was new and the fireplace kept us warm throughout the cold night. Room was clean and spacious, it was a one bedroom suite came with a jacuzzi bathtub and even had a Nespresso machine in the kitchenette. Service was fantastic as well. The lovely lady at the front desk walked us to our room to show us the place. :)

She gave us a 10% discount if we dined at Alice May restaurant. We went there anyway because it looked like a decent family restaurant. The food exceeded our expectations, what's more, price was reasonable and service was excellent. Our 2 young children were well taken care of, their kids' meals were satisfying and they loved everything from the main course to desserts.

If we visit Franz Josef again, we will do it all over. Thank you 10 Cottages for the pleasant experience. :)

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Front Office Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018


Hi Ashley,

Thanks for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay.


I hope the rest of your trip went well and you are able to come back and stay with us again in the future (when you do our lowest prices are on our own website).

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

We stated at 10-Cottages in Franz-Josef for two nights while on a two week driving tour of the South Island in early April. The name is appropriate – there are ten small cottages arranged around a gravel parking area. The room was clean, relatively large, the beds were comfortable, and the Wi-Fi worked (if not a little slow given Franz-Josef’s remote location). Plus, one of the delightful folks who rents the place brought us warm scones on our first day. Charming!

All that said, while the word “cottages” evokes cozy old world charm to me, these were very modern and a bit soulless and felt somewhat pre-fabricated. It does not detract from the service or room, but made the whole experience a little less special.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RWHHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Hi RWHHouston

Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear you found the rooms clean and comfortable. As you may have read on our website or the in room information the cottages are designed by my father to be a modern version of the traditional accommodation early visitors to the region. With a lack of roads to the area early buildings where made with materials that horses could easily transport along the beach.

We hope the rest of holiday went well. Hopefully you are able to come back to Franz Josef and stay again, if you do please book on our own website for our lowest prices.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews