We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of The Terrace Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Terrace Motel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Great spot for two nights! Extra clean and neat with a nice kitchen area. If you plan to cook, be aware of the limited grocery store stock in Franz Josef. We bought supplies in a larger town before we got there, and it worked out fine. The hostess was very helpful with information about the sights to see, and she let me use the WiFi in the motel office when I had trouble connecting in our room.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    113
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
65
171
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villanova, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2012

if you are a family of 4 and want the best value for the money with superb accomodations, service, cleanliness and all you need for a great price then the terrace motel is for you.

the hoey family
villanova, pa
stayed november 16, 2012

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Thank you so much Hoey Family for the wonderful comments. It is a pleasure for us to know that you've enjoyed your stay here and hope for the rest of your trip in NZ as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Friendly hosts, well equipped comfortable unit with modern decor. Plenty of parking space outside the unit. The unit was very clean. Lovely setting in a quiet surrounding. Wish we could have stayed longer.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMFJ, Owner at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Dear Dawn,
Thank you for your recent stay at Terrace Motel and your great comments are well appreciated.
We are glad that you've enjoyed your time in Franz Josef. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Excellent hosts. Rooms large, very clean and good kitchen in room. Coffee and plunger. Large firm bed. Would be happy to return. Wish we could take this accommodation with us rest of trip. Good value for money. Cassy and Trev

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMFJ, Owner at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Cassy and Trev,
Thank you for your kind comments.
We hope your trip around New zealand will be filled with Sunshine and Smiles.
We appreciate your taking time to comment.
Tom and Rosemary
Terrace Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, West Coast, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Tom and Rosemary at the Terrace Motel gave us a great family deal at short notice.
Units were very comfortable and clean. Icing on the cake though, was that Rosemary allowed our sick daughter to stay on sleeping till 11.30am while the boys of the family went to see the glaciers. This was hugely appreciated as otherwise we would have had to drive straight home without anyone visiting the glacier. Thanks heaps Rosemary!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMFJ, Owner at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Mandy,
Thank you for your lovely comments.
i hope your daughter is feeling better,Having a family ourselves we realize children always become ill at an inconvenient time.We were happy to help at this time.
We hope the rest of family enjoyed their glacier Visit.
Thank you for staying with us.

Tom and Rosemary
Terrace Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We were 2 couples travelling around the South Island and stayed at the Terrace Motel in a 2 bedroom unit with car parking right out the front of the unit.The Motel is an older style but was spotlessly clean with cooking facilities and well heated on a cold/wet nightThe staff were very friendly and is centrally located in town with an excellent restaurant/bar next door.Represented good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rangemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Making our way round New Zealand we wanted to see the Franz Josef Glacier.....we had not pre-booked any accomodation....but we able to obtain a room at The Terrace Motel....staying at one of the ten cottages ....the room was bright, airy, modern furnishings and comfortable bed...with small area to make tea/coffee etc..TV and clock/radio ....table and chairs ..also laundry fascilities it was not within easy walking distance to the Glacier itself....but in the car around 10 minutes drive....there was adequate parking ...also for disabled........there are various walks to enjoy...and the walk to see the Glacier itself took around 20 to 25 minutes..but it was well worth the effort...views are stunning....but you need to take a pair of decent walking shoes....and it was quite warm while we were there...so sun protection is a must.....stunning waterfalls......there were plenty of shops and retaurants in the surrounding areas which catered for all tastes.....its a lovely place to stay for a few days.....and i would definately return there again,,,,,,,,,,,,,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,346 reviews
0.0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace Motel

Property: The Terrace Motel
Address: 15 Cowan Street, Box 44, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Terrace Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrace is the closest Motel to the centre of Franz Josef Village, yet on a quiet side street. The 4 star Terrace Motel offers views of snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from its grounds. Unlimited Free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking are included. The Terrace offer Hotel style rooms along with rooms with cooking facilities, next to reception is a quiet restaurant operated by two of Franz Josef most experienced restauranteurs. The Terrace is the closest Motel to Franz Josef's free Glow Worm Caves and Franz Josef Kiwi Bird Centre where guests can experience New Zealand's national bird up close. The Terrace offers spacious ground floor accommodation with electric blankets and electric heating, flat-screen Televisions, tea/coffee making facilities and all en suite bathrooms, some feature a Spa Bath. Guests have a choice of studio's or spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Most rooms features stove tops and microwaves along with a dining area (please note Hotel style rooms offer tea / coffee and breakfast making facilities only). All rooms are serviced daily. Guests have access to shared laundry and barbecue facilities with outside tables and chairs. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing