We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Terrace Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier View Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
174
131
30
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
131
30
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarm sconesgreat locationglow wormsthe main roadbutter and jamrestaurant next doorking studiofranz josephwildlife centremiddle of towncooking facilitiesgood sizesmall placestayed for two nightsliving areawalking distancefriendly hosts
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 341 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Franz Joseph is a lovely compact town and the Terrace Motel was both well appointed and well situated. We had one of the nicest rooms in our travels, with a great little restaurant right next door. The staff were extremely helpful in booking a helicopter flight to see the glaciers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review of the Terrace Motel, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Franz Joseph Glacier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The Terrace Motel is an excellent, clean motel located in the compact town of Franz Joseph. Restaurants, groceries, shopping and tour activity offices are all within a few blocks of the motel. The parking and hiking areas for the Franz Joseph Glacier are just a short drive away.

Our room was very large and included cooking facilities, although we did not use them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler4230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for your review of the Terrace Motel, We are very happy that you found our location and services satisfactory. We are within walking distance of everything Franz Joseph has to offer. Lots of our rooms include cooking facilities, which guests find handy if you are missing a home cooked meal! Thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

As other reviewers have said, the rooms were very clean and comfortable, management was very courteous, and the property is conveniently located. However, compared to other places we stayed in New Zealand, I was disappointed that there was no separate sink in the kitchen area; one had to use the sink in the bathroom for kitchen needs. The gravel parking lot made quite a bit of noisy when cars drove up, and proximity to the restaurant situated right outside our window made for some interesting smells. Although wi-fi was free, which we always appreciate, the bandwidth was such that we had to stand in a certain place next to the window to get a decent connection. All things considered, I had to give the Terrace Motel an average score relative to the other places we stayed during our three-week tour of New Zealand.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for your review of the Terrace Motel. We are glad that you found the room clean and comfortable and the location convenient.
We are sorry that you were disappointed with the only sink being located in the bathroom.
As advertised ,The Hotel style studio does not have 'cooking facilities', only a fridge, kettle and toaster. There are plates, cups and glasses included for your convenience as we offer complimentary tea,coffee, hot chocolate etc, but as the design is based on your average 'hotel' room, there is not a kitchen sink, only one in the bathroom.
The room is serviced daily if the guest is staying longer than one night and we will happily wash and replace these items for you.
With regards to the wi-fi, we have rectified the problem with connectivity in certain parts of the rooms and now have a wider coverage through out the whole property.
We hope the rest of your travels through our beautiful country were enjoyable and thank you again for staying with us. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My wife and I spent one night here traveling down the West Coast to visit the glaciers. The motel is conveniently located within walking distance to anything in Franz Josef (it's not that big of a town). The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and fine for the stay. It you are looking to visit Franz Josef Glacier, the helipad is within walking distance. If you are looking to visit Fox Glacier, it's only about a 25 minute drive to the helipads in Fox. I recommend the Terrace Motel for a quick stay while driving down the west coast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstiwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The Terrace Motel is in a great location for both Fox & Franz Joseph glaciers and Franz high Street and Spas. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. I spent New Year's Eve here and had a great time. Parking right outside the apartment was fantastic and the rooms and facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertBalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews