We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, with welcoming Hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Terrace Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Terrace Motel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
“Lovely stay, with welcoming Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

As a family with teenage children, we are looking for good value, with a bit of space. Terrace ticked all the boxes. A well appointed, clean and motel with welcoming Hosts, who were very helpful.
The motel is very handy to restaurants, shops and tourist activity booking agents.
I absolutely recommend it!

Room Tip: Stayed in a front room, noise not an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the Terrace Motel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We are very lucky with our location, being central but still very quiet at night, ensuring a good nights sleep! We are thrilled that we ticked all the boxes for you! thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    107
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
63
160
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We picked this place for a powered site only because it was the first one we found coming through Franz Joseph heading north in the dark and needed a place to stay after a long drive. The staff was very courteous and helpful eventually however the bathroom/toilets were not very nice (very wet inside and toilet seat wet from shower + no where to put your stuff + shower in dark as light did not work). We purchased wi-fi which did not reach our powered site so we had to sit in office until it closed - however the wi-fi ran out before then (which already cost more than anywhere else we had stayed on South Island).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsh1393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your review for our powered campervan sites.
We are sorry that they did not meet your expectations. The shower/toilet cubicles are modern and maintained to a high standard of cleanliness and throughly cleaned every day, however late at night with a busy campervan park, they can be used often and condensation from the showers can cause facilities to become wet. There are hand rails, hooks, shelves and basins with space to put items on either side.
The light bulbs are checked every morning, we would have happily replaced the bulb if informed.
With regards to the wi-fi, it is fitted around the motel, and extends to most of the campervan park but there are a few blank spots. You are always welcome to sit in reception to access your devices. We use an internet provider that caters for motels/hotels and is used by many other businesses in the south island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Terrace Hotel for two nights in early June 2013. We were delighted with the room which was spacious and comfortable and had a separate bathroom which was very nice. It was lovely to be able to spread out so much and the mountain view from the window was a real treat. The owner is very friendly and has lots of information to share. We followed his advice and had a thoroughly enjoyable visit to Franz Joseph and surrounds. The motel is centrally located to everything. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Possumcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your review, We are glad your enjoyed our view studio, which provides a beautiful view of the mountain, which you can enjoy whilst having your morning coffee! Tom, Rosemary and myself are more than happy to provide information on any activities in and around Franz Joseph and help with bookings, we are thrilled that you found our advice and guidance helpful! Thanks again, Natasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Franz Joseph is a lovely compact town and the Terrace Motel was both well appointed and well situated. We had one of the nicest rooms in our travels, with a great little restaurant right next door. The staff were extremely helpful in booking a helicopter flight to see the glaciers.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the Terrace Motel, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Franz Joseph Glacier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, NH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

The Terrace Motel is an excellent, clean motel located in the compact town of Franz Joseph. Restaurants, groceries, shopping and tour activity offices are all within a few blocks of the motel. The parking and hiking areas for the Franz Joseph Glacier are just a short drive away.

Our room was very large and included cooking facilities, although we did not use them.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler4230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the Terrace Motel, We are very happy that you found our location and services satisfactory. We are within walking distance of everything Franz Joseph has to offer. Lots of our rooms include cooking facilities, which guests find handy if you are missing a home cooked meal! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

As other reviewers have said, the rooms were very clean and comfortable, management was very courteous, and the property is conveniently located. However, compared to other places we stayed in New Zealand, I was disappointed that there was no separate sink in the kitchen area; one had to use the sink in the bathroom for kitchen needs. The gravel parking lot made quite a bit of noisy when cars drove up, and proximity to the restaurant situated right outside our window made for some interesting smells. Although wi-fi was free, which we always appreciate, the bandwidth was such that we had to stand in a certain place next to the window to get a decent connection. All things considered, I had to give the Terrace Motel an average score relative to the other places we stayed during our three-week tour of New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BetHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the Terrace Motel. We are glad that you found the room clean and comfortable and the location convenient.
We are sorry that you were disappointed with the only sink being located in the bathroom.
As advertised ,The Hotel style studio does not have 'cooking facilities', only a fridge, kettle and toaster. There are plates, cups and glasses included for your convenience as we offer complimentary tea,coffee, hot chocolate etc, but as the design is based on your average 'hotel' room, there is not a kitchen sink, only one in the bathroom.
The room is serviced daily if the guest is staying longer than one night and we will happily wash and replace these items for you.
With regards to the wi-fi, we have rectified the problem with connectivity in certain parts of the rooms and now have a wider coverage through out the whole property.
We hope the rest of your travels through our beautiful country were enjoyable and thank you again for staying with us. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, South Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My wife and I spent one night here traveling down the West Coast to visit the glaciers. The motel is conveniently located within walking distance to anything in Franz Josef (it's not that big of a town). The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and fine for the stay. It you are looking to visit Franz Josef Glacier, the helipad is within walking distance. If you are looking to visit Fox Glacier, it's only about a 25 minute drive to the helipads in Fox. I recommend the Terrace Motel for a quick stay while driving down the west coast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mstiwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace Motel

Property: The Terrace Motel
Address: 15 Cowan Street, Box 44, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Terrace Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrace is the closest Motel to the centre of Franz Josef Village, yet on a quiet side street. The 4 star Terrace Motel offers views of snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from its grounds. Unlimited Free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking are included. The Terrace offer Hotel style rooms along with rooms with cooking facilities, next to reception is a quiet restaurant operated by two of Franz Josef most experienced restauranteurs. The Terrace is the closest Motel to Franz Josef's free Glow Worm Caves and Franz Josef Kiwi Bird Centre where guests can experience New Zealand's national bird up close. The Terrace offers spacious ground floor accommodation with electric blankets and electric heating, flat-screen Televisions, tea/coffee making facilities and all en suite bathrooms, some feature a Spa Bath. Guests have a choice of studio's or spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Most rooms features stove tops and microwaves along with a dining area (please note Hotel style rooms offer tea / coffee and breakfast making facilities only). All rooms are serviced daily. Guests have access to shared laundry and barbecue facilities with outside tables and chairs. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing