We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The Franz Alpine Retreat is a wonderful place to stay while in the Franz Josef glacier area. Its a quick 5 minute drive to town so it's relatively convenient but a car is necessary. We stayed in a stand alone chalet with parking for 1 car, 2 bedrooms, a kitchen with a gas stove, microwave, fridge, utensils, pots, etc... The place is well appointed with modern furniture, a small flat screen TV and DVD player. The proprietor of the place, JO, also has a selection of DVDs for viewing including the Lord of the Rings. Jo is a very helpful with great knowledge of the area and offered great advice. The only drawback with the place was the inconsistent WiFi access. In addition, although Booking.com states WiFi is free, this is not true, since you need to buy vouchers for WiFi.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moving_furnisale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Franz Alpine Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2011

The hotel has beautiful independent chalets - complete with modern furnishing and amenities. ( & free wifi! ). The rooms look exactly like the ones shown on their website. Its a 10 minutes drive to the centre of the city - but if you are in franz josef you mostly have your own vehicle. The manager Claire - is an extremely sweet lady who was very helpful with everything we wanted. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hankuna_Matata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Franz Alpine retreat was one of the best places we stayed during our 3 week trip through New Zealand (north and south island). Very new bungalows with nice and functional furniture. Parking in front of the bungalow and very friendly and helpful owners.

Internet is included but for wireless you will get vouchers with limited download volume (believe it was 50MB and was given 2 or 3) but I realized that when connecting by network cable there was no limit (which is really needed as 50MB get you only so far with skype)

Location is perfect as it is very quiet and only a short drive to town where you will find restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlanetEarthTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Franz Alpine Retreat offers 2-bedroom chalets a little outside of the center of Franz Josef. There is really no need to be in the city center in Franz Josef as it is only a short drive of a few minutes to get to all outdoor activities center and restaurants.

It is new and very comfortable, probably one of the best accommodations in FJ and still unknown of lots of people.

The owners are very friendly and almost always around to help or make sure everything is alright for guests, giving the little “village” (8 or 10 chalets) a good feeling. Laundry facilities were very appreciated as we were on a 3-week trip in NZ. They even offered us a rack to hang our clothes, all very nice.

Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

My Fiance and I have been traveling around New Zealand for a little over a week. We stumbled across this listing and found the cottages to be a great value with a wonderful staff. The cottages are located a couple of miles outside the main city so it's about a 7 minute drive to get to all the main restaurants and recreation areas (perfect if you have a car). My Fiance fell off a horse in Queenstown and Claire helped us get her into see the doctor at the local clinic. We couldn't be happier with the decision to stay here. Beautiful, well appointed, contemporary furnishings. We will be the Franz Alpine Resort!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davekrug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We were 3 adults and one toddler and stayed here for a long weekend and were very comfortable. The self-contained units are very clean and furnished to a very high and classy standard with a big kitchen with plenty of cupboard space, microwave, kettle, large fridge-freezer, oven and decent sink. This was important to us since we were self-catering. There was a large dining table with plenty of chairs. The living area had a large flat screen with sky channels and you could borrow dvds from the reception to play on the dvd player. There are two bedrooms with very comfortable beds. The place had big windows with lovely green views and was light and airy and warm.
The owner/receptionist was extremely thoughtful and concerned with our well-being and when I realised I couldn't climb the three steps upto the unit easily because of my disability, she moved us the next day to an access unit which had a sloped entrance and a wonderful spacious walk-in shower with seat. She couldn;'t do enough for us, even providing toys for our daughter.
We stayed in a lot of places during our time in New Zealand and usually you get some milk for you tea/coffee when you first arrive - this can range from a couple of tiny individual samples even if there are 4 people to a small carton/bottle of milk. At the Franz Alpine Retreat we received a carton of full fat and a carton of skimmed milk plus fresh biscuits and proper coffee every morning. Also we were given plenty of fresh toiletries and tons of towels every day without asking. These things are small and don't cost much but make the stay so much more pleasurable. I became quite an expert at reading the hotel information booklet in the room at all the places we stayed and at the Franz Alpine Retreat the way it was written was courteous and welcoming with good useful information and even offering foot-spas after a hike if you request from the reception. We have been in other places in the same price range where the whole booklet was 'don't do this...don't do that' i.e. very patronising and almost like 'you're here because we wnat the income but don't you dare do anything to cause us any inconvenience whatsoever'.

All-in-all a very pleasant stay especially since we were cooped up there because the weather was bad. This new accomodation definately deserves a five-star rating from us.

A very few minor down sides - the internet was fine in the unit we had near the reception, but the access unit which was further from the reception had problems and it was only because of my hi-tech husband that we got connected. The retreat is a few minutes drive to the 'town' (only one street) so you need a car but it is unlikely you'll be in the area without a car anyway because the place is so remote and the glacier is the sole attraction. The owner/recptionist isn't always available; when we left, she wasn't around and after waiting for about half an hour and coming back an hour later too, we left without checking out properly but just leaving our keys (she had our credit card info).

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roses30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kies een verblijf in Franz Josef zelf....
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
369 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
314 reviews
2.0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: £98 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment. Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet. Other facilities within the complex include Book exchange, DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities available, Kiwi "continental" breakfast and activity bookings. A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing