We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern but a bit remote”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Modern but a bit remote”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed in a very modern and clean 2 bedroom chalet but we didn't realize it was quite so far out of the Townsip of Franz Josef, so your own transport is a must. Free wi-fi was a bonus but the connection was very patchy and dropped out constantly. My daughter found the double bed to be extremely hard and uncomfortable and there was no provision in either bedroom to hang up clothes. Overall I think it was a little overpriced for the location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chakra120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    80
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
103
116
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Found this place through Google....................IT was just one big disappointment!
I was looking for a luxury motel/hotel. This place on their website advertises 2 bedroom luxury apartments................They are nothing but luxury. For what they charge you cannot but help feeling you have been ripped off (especially when you compare their std to other luxury motels/hotels). They quote "Get the best night’s sleep in Franz Josef at the Franz Alpine Retreat" well unless you are really knackered you are not going to get the best sleep here. There are no king bed available in the 2 bedroom units according to the reception.......but they advertised the fact.
The only good thing about this place it was clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tradewithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

It's a little bit away from town but don't care if you have car. The unit is so new and comfortable. I was very relax and want to stay more. Really recommend for those who have car.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MixyMix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Highly recommend this place for the price. Cabins don't look like much from the road, but were very new with comfortable fittings and spotlessly clean. 5 minutes drive from town but not an issue as FJ is tiny anyway. Managers were lovely and accommodating. We borrowed a gas BBQ for both nights we were there and had a great time grilling on the patio of our cabin. Helicopter landed right next door which my young son found very exciting. Good solid 4* apartment for your glacier visit and probably amongst the best in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyBoyBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Lovely, modern accommodation just outside of town - cabins look directly towards FJ Glacier which you can see on a clear day. Warm and comfortable rooms to relax in at night. Hosts were very helpful.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaccy_13_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray M, Owner at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Franz Alpine Retreat.

We are very fortunate to be situated in such a quiet beautiful environment that affords our guests views of surrounding farmland, Lake Mapourika and panoramic views of the mountains and Franz Glacier; a fact that you clearly relished!

I wish you the very best on your travels!

Kind regards,
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Like the other reviews they were clean and well equipped and Amy the Manageress was lovely.
We had 24 hours rain whichwas a bit noisy on the metal roof. A bit out of town, but restful when you have been touring for 3 weeks.

Room Tip: Take the walk up to the glacier on your own before you decide to pay for a guide
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray M, Owner at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
I'm pleased to hear that you took some time out at Franz Alpine Retreat from your busy touring schedule. Our quiet rural location just a few minutes from the Franz Josef village is an ideal spot to relax, unwind and enjoy the magnificent scenery. I appreciate your feedback and wish you all the very best for the remainder of your trip around our beautiful country.

Warmest regards,
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Spacious, modern, clean chalets. they feel a bit bare and clinical but it does what it says on the tin.
Out of town location is v quiet. Amy was really helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot-abroad-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray M, Owner at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. It is always very pleasing to receive nice feedback about our staff and we strive to look after our guests to the highest standards. Our property in Franz Josef is situated in a very secluded and quiet area as you mention. Our guests enjoy the tranquility and views over the farmland down to Lake Mapourika and feel they can relax after a day exploring the wonders of the Glacier Region. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

All the very best for the remainder of your trip around our beautiful country and wishing you safe travels home!

Warm regards
Ray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,158 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 12 in Franz Josef
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Property: Franz Alpine Retreat
Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has personalised facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment.Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet, Phone & insect screens. Other facilities within the complex DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities, continental breakfast.A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing