We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Very spacious and luxurious accomodation with an excellent view of the glacier from the lounge window. Jo went the extra mile to make sure we had everything we needed plus more and was very helpful in providing information about different attractions and restaurants. Great place to unwind. A+A+A+

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

Our family occupied two chalets which were of excellent quality and every need was met by Jo to accommodate two babies making sure cots were available. The chalets were pleasantly warm and cosy on our arrival. Jo ensured we were comfortable in every aspect of our stay, children given DVDs, home-made scones were also very much appreciated. Jo was on hand to take family photos of the wonderful scenic views on our departure and after a couple of days we felt as though we were one big happy family. Thanks ever so much Jo for your tremendous hospitality and local knowledge of area. We will return.

Room Tip: Bedding configuration was well suited to adults and children in our group plus availability of 2 add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathydon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The cottages are well equipped and spacious and everything has been thought of. Anything that isn't Jo will take care of it. Like others, enjoyed the benefits of Jo's advice on where to go and what to do. After a long day sightseeing, we were given a special treat from Jo, a lovely ice cream to have after tea, very thoughtful. Thanks again, would definitely recommend Franz Alpine Retreat. Don & Therese

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I travelled with my husband and 2 friends. First of all I would like to thank Jo for her hospitality. She attended to our every need. She was always smiling and offered brilliant advice regarding tours, walks and dining options. The chalet itself is spacious and well-equipped. The complimentary DVDs we borrowed were a great touch after a long day's hike at the glaciers. We have no hesitation coming back and would definitely recommend Franz Alpine to all our friends.

Thanks again Jo for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Sajida T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We were travelling with another couple and when we checked in we were advised that there were no keys for one of the two rooms. The previous guests did not return the key????
We had no choice at 5pm but to take the room that could not be secured. Well there is always a first time for everything.
You would think that they would always keep a spare key!!
The room was small but tidy.
As it was cold, the heater worked quite well, but we ran out of hot water for the shower.
It is located about 5 minutes drive from town, and was in a quiet location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALR1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Our family of four (including young children) stayed the night after a long drive from Wanaka and very much enjoyed the experience. From the moment we arrived, Jo made our stay very pleasant and comfortable. She was very good to the kids and made us feel welcome. The DVDS for the and continental breakfast were a winner and Jo even offered us some towels for the Glacier Pools. The accommodation is very modern, spacious and comfortable. Very much recommend staying here, especially if you have small children.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nalin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My experience was similar to others with excellent hosts and a comfortable room. I had no issues about he size of the room and found it to be exceptionally clean and well presented. The heated towel rack was a pleasant touch. The continental breakfast was fine but nothing to write home about.

My scheduled bus to Queenstown picked me up,outside the motel.

My only issue was wifi; I was given a card for a complimentary "session" in my room. The wi finwas woeful and I gave up. I was able to connect from my iPhone bul the speed was too slow. I tred cinnctngftom my iPad but had no success. In ths day and age of technology, I believe all motels should offer wi if, ideally included in the tariff. It's better to offer no service at all rather than one that is deficient, I appreciate Franz Josef is a relatively remote location.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Paul_in_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
376 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: £103 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment. Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet. Other facilities within the complex include Book exchange, DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities available, Kiwi "continental" breakfast and activity bookings. A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing