We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franz Alpine Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Me and My Husband took a trip to NZ in August. I must say this was the best place to stay if you want homely treatment away from home. The manager Jo is a not only a good manager,she is a wonderful human being. Even though this review is coming little late, I still want to thank you Jo for your kind words and all the help during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harjeet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    79
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
101
114
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed at the Franz Alpine Retreat for two nights on a 3 week tour of New Zealand. Our stay was marvelous and was enhanced greatly by the Joe the owner who truly went out of her way to ensure that our stay was as pleasurable as possible. We cannot commend her service or thoughtfulness enough.

The unit was large and spacious and had all the amenities we required. The rooms were spotlessly clean The facilities on site were excellent and despite stating 10 am checkout we were encouraged to take our time at no extra charge which was greatly appreciated

I would highly recommend the retreat to other travelers and a big thank you to Jo

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Very spacious and luxurious accomodation with an excellent view of the glacier from the lounge window. Jo went the extra mile to make sure we had everything we needed plus more and was very helpful in providing information about different attractions and restaurants. Great place to unwind. A+A+A+

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Our family occupied two chalets which were of excellent quality and every need was met by Jo to accommodate two babies making sure cots were available. The chalets were pleasantly warm and cosy on our arrival. Jo ensured we were comfortable in every aspect of our stay, children given DVDs, home-made scones were also very much appreciated. Jo was on hand to take family photos of the wonderful scenic views on our departure and after a couple of days we felt as though we were one big happy family. Thanks ever so much Jo for your tremendous hospitality and local knowledge of area. We will return.

Room Tip: Bedding configuration was well suited to adults and children in our group plus availability of 2 add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathydon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

The cottages are well equipped and spacious and everything has been thought of. Anything that isn't Jo will take care of it. Like others, enjoyed the benefits of Jo's advice on where to go and what to do. After a long day sightseeing, we were given a special treat from Jo, a lovely ice cream to have after tea, very thoughtful. Thanks again, would definitely recommend Franz Alpine Retreat. Don & Therese

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

I travelled with my husband and 2 friends. First of all I would like to thank Jo for her hospitality. She attended to our every need. She was always smiling and offered brilliant advice regarding tours, walks and dining options. The chalet itself is spacious and well-equipped. The complimentary DVDs we borrowed were a great touch after a long day's hike at the glaciers. We have no hesitation coming back and would definitely recommend Franz Alpine to all our friends.

Thanks again Jo for a wonderful stay.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sajida T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We were travelling with another couple and when we checked in we were advised that there were no keys for one of the two rooms. The previous guests did not return the key????
We had no choice at 5pm but to take the room that could not be secured. Well there is always a first time for everything.
You would think that they would always keep a spare key!!
The room was small but tidy.
As it was cold, the heater worked quite well, but we ran out of hot water for the shower.
It is located about 5 minutes drive from town, and was in a quiet location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALR1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.9 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Property: Franz Alpine Retreat
Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has personalised facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment.Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet, Phone & insect screens. Other facilities within the complex DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities, continental breakfast.A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing