We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My family and I stayed at Franz Alpine for 2 nights just recently (early July 2013). Our chalet was very comfortable and felt just like a mini home. The weather was pretty shocking while we were there but nevertheless, Jo was fantastic and offered our kids DVDs to watch in our room and gave us some suggestions for keeping occupied in the rain. She was so helpful and friendly and was a wealth of information. It was a peaceful haven and we really loved it. Plus the coffee supplied in our room was also great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    80
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
103
116
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Franz Alpine Retreat last week (early June 2013). We were very happy with the chalet. We stayed for three nights and really enjoyed a good mix of relaxation and the sights and activities of the area. The chalet was very clean and well appointed with a full kitchen and dining table. The continental breakfast was very welcomed - basic but nicely presented. We were thrilled that there was good plunger coffee available - we enjoyed that.

Jo was most helpful and invited us to help ourselves to the DVD library and also kindly provided foot spas for us to use after our days activities.

Although the Franz Alpine Retreat was 4 km's out of the town it was very easy to find and the chalet was good value - we had a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree_Auckland_1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The views were spectacular. It was situated perfectly so that when you woke up, you woke up to bliss. It wasn't too far away from the city and yet it was far enough for you to hear the birds chirp and the mountains speak! I cannot recommend Jo more highly - she was extremely helpful and, all in all, a great person. She turned our heaters on for us so that it was warm before we entered. She allowed us to raid the DVD cabinet and even gave us a DVD to take home after she heard that we were having a baby! The rooms were very clean, modern and extremely comfortable. The continental breakfast was just right although I would have liked some fruit (that's me being a bit picky, of course). All in all, a great experience and I would recommend this spot to anyone who wants a quiet escape away from their daily lives. My husband and I only have good things to say about this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AM17_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The location of the place is spectacular. Aloof as well as near the city. The first thing you see when you wake up is the Glacier, from your living room window :)
The host, Jo, was very courteous and she helped out with everything and even gave us a DVD collection to raid. She helped us with the sight seeing as well as the road and weather information. Never have met such a good host. The apartments were fully equipped and neat and clean.
All in all, a great experience.:)
Thanks JO :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Resham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I have everything good to say about this place, it is clean, and neat and very comfortable. The breakfast was in our fridge ready to go, including a jug of orange juice.(We made the toast with honey for afternoon tea). Although we were out of town, this just gave us a better view of the mountains.

But what made the place stand out in my mind is Jo. She took the time with us on check-in to show us our room and point out the important things (including the view from the windows). She suggested all sorts of things to do in town. It was unfortunate that the weather was quite terrible and we didn't want to go out into it, however she suggested that we help ourselves to the free DVD selection. At checkout, Jo asked us where we were heading, and even gave us a good warning about the roadworks that were ahead.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToowoombaBilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon recently. Jo was an awesome host! Made us feel so welcome and even gave us a special surprise for our honeymoon. Went out of her way to find out about weather for our trip on the ice. Lovely place, clean and beautiful view. Thanks Jo

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isibeal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray M, Owner at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thankyou so much for your review. We really appreciate that you took the time to do this. Yes, Jo is awesome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at Franz Alpine Retreat. Jo (the owner) was sensational and could not have been more helpful. We had a bedroom chalet - spotlessly clean, very comfortable. The location is a about 3km out of town - and we loved it. Thanks Jo!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickylee207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,172 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.1 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Property: Franz Alpine Retreat
Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment. Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet. Other facilities within the complex include Book exchange, DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities available, Kiwi "continental" breakfast and activity bookings. A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing