We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hospitality we had in all of NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here on 2 occasions during our trip to NZ. Both times Jo was amazingly helpful and knowledgeable. We found the rooms to be private, very clean and more than comfortable, with the villas being larger than we expected.
This is the only accommodation I would recommend to any of our friends and family if they were to come over as, although all the rest of the places we stayed at were very nice, this is the only place where we felt like we were a priority instead of just being paying guests.
Thankyou very much Jo for all your help and give Zeke a pat and a hug from us
Hayley and Michael

Room Tip: The end room villa a great view of the glacier and is further away from the road which has occasiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights in July. It was amazing. Jo was so much help and so friendly. This woman is worth her weight in gold !! Unit spotless and so warm. Comfortable beds were a major plus as was the view. Breakfast supplied each day and units serviced. Excellent advise on all activities and the Helicopter ride was stunning. Am I raving ?? Just a bit.! Best holiday for our wedding anniversary. Thank-you so much Jo for making our holiday so great.

Room Tip: Beds were firm and good quality, no roll together
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

One of our friend from Middle East visited us we took a trip together to New Zealand. Staying in franz josef retreat was icing on the cake. It was lovely view and great location. Staff was great , it was clean and heated Well. they even left the breakfast for the next day. We had a great time

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheetalbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My family and I stayed at Franz Alpine for 2 nights just recently (early July 2013). Our chalet was very comfortable and felt just like a mini home. The weather was pretty shocking while we were there but nevertheless, Jo was fantastic and offered our kids DVDs to watch in our room and gave us some suggestions for keeping occupied in the rain. She was so helpful and friendly and was a wealth of information. It was a peaceful haven and we really loved it. Plus the coffee supplied in our room was also great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ida G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Franz Alpine Retreat last week (early June 2013). We were very happy with the chalet. We stayed for three nights and really enjoyed a good mix of relaxation and the sights and activities of the area. The chalet was very clean and well appointed with a full kitchen and dining table. The continental breakfast was very welcomed - basic but nicely presented. We were thrilled that there was good plunger coffee available - we enjoyed that.

Jo was most helpful and invited us to help ourselves to the DVD library and also kindly provided foot spas for us to use after our days activities.

Although the Franz Alpine Retreat was 4 km's out of the town it was very easy to find and the chalet was good value - we had a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree_Auckland_1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The views were spectacular. It was situated perfectly so that when you woke up, you woke up to bliss. It wasn't too far away from the city and yet it was far enough for you to hear the birds chirp and the mountains speak! I cannot recommend Jo more highly - she was extremely helpful and, all in all, a great person. She turned our heaters on for us so that it was warm before we entered. She allowed us to raid the DVD cabinet and even gave us a DVD to take home after she heard that we were having a baby! The rooms were very clean, modern and extremely comfortable. The continental breakfast was just right although I would have liked some fruit (that's me being a bit picky, of course). All in all, a great experience and I would recommend this spot to anyone who wants a quiet escape away from their daily lives. My husband and I only have good things to say about this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AM17_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The location of the place is spectacular. Aloof as well as near the city. The first thing you see when you wake up is the Glacier, from your living room window :)
The host, Jo, was very courteous and she helped out with everything and even gave us a DVD collection to raid. She helped us with the sight seeing as well as the road and weather information. Never have met such a good host. The apartments were fully equipped and neat and clean.
All in all, a great experience.:)
Thanks JO :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Resham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,480 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#9 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: £92 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment. Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet. Other facilities within the complex include Book exchange, DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities available, Kiwi "continental" breakfast and activity bookings. A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing