We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Great accommodation, clean, spacious, comfortable, and best of all Jo our host, welcoming, informative and very busy lady. go go Jo !!!!!, on arrival she brought us a welcoming basket of goodies for breky . on our last morning after very heavy west coast rain she was very informative telling us that the Haast Pass was closed which made us change our travel plans, thankfully.
MANY THANK JO X X X
FROM THE WELSH LOT, Pred, Nan, Meinir, and Meic Diolch yn fawr (welsh)

Room Tip: All good. best on left side units
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank predport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    79
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
102
114
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

My family stayed for two nights and we were all very touched by Jo's hospitality and warm gestures. Rooms are spacious with a well equipped kitchen and clean bathrooms. Thanks Joan for making our stay a pleasant one! We really appreciate it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamelawongg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion Park, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We just recently visited New Zeakand traveling the south island for three weeks. Along our way we visited many hotels but none measured up to this one. The rooms were clean, the kitchen was modern with everything available to us with a nice peaceful atmosphere to sit back and relax.

A huge part of our fantastic experience was due to the manager Jo. She was so warm, friendly and helpful. She was very warming to my three year old daughter and was always ready for a cuddle from here.

This is a fantastic holiday stop for families.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Spent 3 nights here. The host was fantastic, she did every to make us feel welcome and went beyond the call of duty to make our stay here as nice as possible. Unfortunately, the actual accommodation lets it down a bit. Don't get me wrong, the place is very peaceful and quiet, located about 5 mins drive from Franz Joseph and 30 mins drive from Fox. I just wouldn't call it ' luxury '. For starters, there's a bad odour in the cabin. Possibly from cooking smells as there is no range hood. There is no dish washer, there are no wardrobes or any kind of storage for your clothes. The lounge furniture is tired and worn out. The beds are so hard that it is impossible to get a decent nights sleep and you wake up feeling like you've had two ribs broken in a brawl. Sorry guys, great host but only average cabins.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I am writing this review on behalf of my mother and her friend who recently spent a night here. They are 84 and 87 years old and have nothing but praise for the place. Facilities were fantastic, but best of all was the host, who went way, way beyond what was expected. They have demanded, I write a review in thanks for a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The most helpful and welcoming host we came across in New Zealand. Thanks so much for your hospitality and advice for visiting the glacier. The host Jo did everything she could to get our trip sorted, booking the trip in her own time, rising extra early to let us know and the accommodation was superb to top things off. Breakfast was even provided for an early start, and the heating was on before we arrived to make it a warm stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Property offers a lot of space and still you feel having enough privacy. Great breakfast and service of the manager - very friendly and helpful. Can recommend for families, couples or group of friends. Nature around is wonderful. Excellent place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnurnber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,116 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.9 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
657 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Property: Franz Alpine Retreat
Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has personalised facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment.Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet, Phone & insect screens. Other facilities within the complex DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities, continental breakfast.A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing