We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location with great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Peaceful location with great views”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

As previous contributors have mentioned, the owner, Jo, is very welcoming and works hard to ensure you have a pleasant stay. Nothing is too much trouble.
We had a complimentary continental breakfast, free WiFi and laundry powder was provided free of charge. The washing machine was only NZD3 and there was a communal washing line and clothes airer provided. We borrowed a couple of DVDs from the library in Reception during our stay.
The apartment was well furnished apart from the lounge chairs which were very lumpy and the floor was rather bouncy, like you get in a mobile home!
The location is only a 5 minute drive from Franz Josef town centre and we never had any problems parking to use any attractions or parking.
Jo was very helpful, providing information on things to do and where to eat. When it was time to leave for the long drive to Queenstown she advised on where to refuel and places to stop and the traffic situation after the closure of the Haast Pass.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gwyndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    80
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
103
115
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were met on arrival by Jo who was as friendly as everyone states and we had a nice apartment with two bedrooms. We selected here as it was slightly out of town and had a more rural feel and view (even though close to the road).

It was clean, everything worked well and we had a good rate through booking.com. If we had paid the standard rate from the website it would have been over the top for the apartment as the facilities are fine but basic and there are areas where money has been saved with the decor and funishings.

We had a good night's sleep and in the morning Jo was very helpful with where to walk near the glacier and checked the status of the local roads for us as there had been recent problems with a land slip at haast pass.

Overall we would stay here again if we could get the same discounted rate as we paid this time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Jo was warm and friendly as everyone mentioned. I booked early and got it at a good price, but to be honest, I won't pay more for a cabin like this. It's very basic and if I could choose again, I would pay a bit more stay in town instead. But if you don't mind 'roughing up' a bit then it's the perfect place for budget minded families.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SOONSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Garston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were a little surprised that it was ten minutes out of town. However this was no issue. We were welcomed by Jo who as others have said is a mine of information and hints and tips. The cabins are spacious and comfortable with good quality furnishing and appliances. Free WiFi is good but limited to 100Mb. Good value. Would certainly stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaqal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Have just spent 2 nights at Alpine Retreat and would highly recommend. Accom was spacious, clean, private & warm and great value. Bed not as firm as we would like. The view of the mountains from the cabin was a bonus. Slightly out of town but very quiet. Kitchen facilities were great plus a guest laundry to use. But what stood out the most was the warm welcome by Jo the manager. Her advice as to what to see, do, where to eat was fantastic. You felt like you were one of the family. Nothing was too much trouble. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It's true about Jo! Jo certainly goes out of her way to ensure all of her guests are well looked after and definitely makes you feel glad you chose to stay at the Franz Alpine Retreat. When my partner asked where he could get some whitebait from (local delicacy), Jo produced Whitebait to our door!. We had to rebook our accommodation a few times and each time Jo was very accommodating and hepful. Thanks for making our stay so special Jo. See you again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We cant thank Jo enough for what met us on arrival at Alpine Retreat .Instead of a four drive from Queenstown to Franz Josef we had to make a nine hundred KM detour because of the closer of the Haast Pass taking eleven hours and not arriving until 22.30 tired and worn out . On the door of the reception was a note welcoming us and telling us which chalet we were in ,on entering Jo had put on the heating for us and came around in the morning to check every thing was ok .She told us of the best places to dine and the places to visit .Because of our detour we only had one day at Alpine Retreat but it was worth the drive. Thankyou Jo for all your help would love to return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 12 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Property: Franz Alpine Retreat
Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has personalised facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment.Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet, Phone & insect screens. Other facilities within the complex DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities, continental breakfast.A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing