We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed a night with my wife recently. Is absolutely amazing. Great chalets that were warm and well presented. Very clean as well. The staff was very friendly. Appropriate for the price charged. Would certainly stay again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for the review always great to receive feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found all you needed to feel comfortable while visiting Franz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    80
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
103
116
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We booked for a group of 10 more than 6 months in advance but 2 weeks before our visit we discovered a problem with the booking that meant we could not all be accommodated. Jennifer, our host, went far beyond expectations to find extra accommodation in town and ensure that our total cost remained as it was booked. When we arrived she was welcoming and very helpful. Her restaurant recommendation, Blue Ice riding in the stretch Hummer both ways, was excellent and very appropriate for 5 couples on Valentine's Day. The setting is idyllic and the cottages are spacious, comfortable, and very well serviced at very reasonable prices. Our only regret was that we were not all able to stay there. We are hoping to find a reason to go back soon and stay for longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank palbion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. You we all such a lovely and understanding group! I again do apologies for the issue and wish we could have hosted ALL of you for the night. Hope the rest of your travels were amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroomed cabin style lodge. Very clean and modern. Free WiFi with excellent reception. Location 5 mins drive away from centre of town which was great as very peaceful. Excellent hosts. Breakfast delivered night before (continental). Repeat guests and second visit just as good as first. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BargainSpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for the review, and we appreciate your repeat business! It was very nice meeting you and hope the rest of your vacation was wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The quality of the units was exceptionally high,and Jennifer and David could not have been more helpful or friendly. The location is a little out of town and is very peaceful with nice views of the hills. Our only disappointment was the heli hike was cancelled because of the weather,but we managed to walk to the glacier which was great fun and was some compensation. I would strongly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: All units are very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you so much for the review!
It was an absolute pleasure to have you as our guest, sorry we could not fix that rain problem, happy you got out anyways to see the glaciers and make the most of your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great value accommodation providing the convenience and practicality of a motel/self catering apartment with the added bonus of the little touches you would expect from a hotel.

The two bedroom cabin we had was spacious and attractively furnished. We were only here for one night but it would make a great base for spending a few days exploring the glaciers.

Above all else we were made to feel very welcome by Jennifer and David. They went the extra mile and offered us service more akin to a concierge in a 5* hotel. Making recommendations and reservation for dinner and booking, driving my wife into town and loaning us DVD's to entertain my daughter.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Instapav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you James for the wonderful review, it is very appreciated. Your family was lovely to have stay with us, of course I was more than happy to assist you however possible.
Hoping the rest of your vacation and visit with family was wonderful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenai, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This proved to be a good choice for two couples traveling together. It was quiet, comfortable and clean. We each had our own bedrooms and shared a bath. We cooked our dinner after going to the hot pools for a soak.

Room Tip: They are really all the same units so it doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you Patricia for taking the time to write this review, it is appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your retreat on a West Coast wet evening, the Hot Pools are definitely a lovely place to relax and enjoy the rainforest in that weather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I arrived on a bus and found that I was outside of town with no transportation. Not to worry, the manageress offered to drive me into town to a restaurant that supplied a shuttle back to Franz Alpine Retreat. I wasn't very enthusiastic as I was very tired after travelling all day. Then she offered to take me to the grocery store which was just what I needed. The chalet was new, modern, very clean and quiet and peaceful. The manageress and her boyfriend were the friendliest most helpful couple I could ask for.An excellent place to stay. The electric blanket was wonderful as the bed was nice and warm when I got in

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Keith, it was such a pleasure meeting you! thank you so much for the lovely review, we hope the rest of your trip went well and you enjoyed your time in Australia as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.1 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Property: Franz Alpine Retreat
Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment. Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet. Other facilities within the complex include Book exchange, DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities available, Kiwi "continental" breakfast and activity bookings. A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing