We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, spotless, well-equipped chalet in a serene surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed in a two-bedroom chalet (though as a couple we only used one bedroom). It was spacious, modern, comfortable, and spotless. While JAG Escape Franz Alpine Retreat is just off the main road, its location is quiet and serene. It's about a five-minute drive from the center of Franz Josef village, thus slightly distanced from its activity and commotion. Because it is not in the village, this would not be a practical choice for those who arrive by bus. But for those with their own transport this is a great choice and great value.
The kitchen had a full-size refrigerator, oven with stove top, loads of counter space, deep kitchen sink and preparation sink, microwave, electric tea kettle--in other words, most of what you would expect for making meals. (It was useful to have an oven because we made dinner while we were here.)
There is a laundry room on the premises. Parking is next to the chalet for easy unloading and loading of luggage.
Our bathroom had a shower, but no tub, which was fine, and complimentary toiletries. I must say I was puzzled by the reviewer who included a photo of a moldy shower curtain with their negative review, because our chalet did not even have a shower curtain, but a glass door instead (as you can see from my photos).
Free Wi-Fi was provided.
The management was friendly and helpful (and they allowed us to check in early).
When we arrived during the early afternoon, other guests were enjoying the sunshine and taking in the forest and mountain views from the decks in front of their chalets. The atmosphere was overall pleasant and relaxing. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this accommodation to anyone and I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PassarinhoAzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you so very much for the detailed review, and photos! We are pleased you enjoyed our retreat, hoping the rest of your travels were lovely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is one of the best Alpine style hotels I have stayed in across Australia and New Zealand. The room was clean and did not smell of chemicals. The service friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Free WIFI was an added bonus. No mobile reception however we were invited to use the phone free of charge if needed. Thank you Jennifer

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you very much for the review. It was such a pleasure meeting you both, only wish you had been able to stay with us longer! Always so nice to hear from past guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed a night with my wife recently. Is absolutely amazing. Great chalets that were warm and well presented. Very clean as well. The staff was very friendly. Appropriate for the price charged. Would certainly stay again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for the review always great to receive feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found all you needed to feel comfortable while visiting Franz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We booked for a group of 10 more than 6 months in advance but 2 weeks before our visit we discovered a problem with the booking that meant we could not all be accommodated. Jennifer, our host, went far beyond expectations to find extra accommodation in town and ensure that our total cost remained as it was booked. When we arrived she was welcoming and very helpful. Her restaurant recommendation, Blue Ice riding in the stretch Hummer both ways, was excellent and very appropriate for 5 couples on Valentine's Day. The setting is idyllic and the cottages are spacious, comfortable, and very well serviced at very reasonable prices. Our only regret was that we were not all able to stay there. We are hoping to find a reason to go back soon and stay for longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank palbion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. You we all such a lovely and understanding group! I again do apologies for the issue and wish we could have hosted ALL of you for the night. Hope the rest of your travels were amazing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroomed cabin style lodge. Very clean and modern. Free WiFi with excellent reception. Location 5 mins drive away from centre of town which was great as very peaceful. Excellent hosts. Breakfast delivered night before (continental). Repeat guests and second visit just as good as first. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BargainSpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for the review, and we appreciate your repeat business! It was very nice meeting you and hope the rest of your vacation was wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The quality of the units was exceptionally high,and Jennifer and David could not have been more helpful or friendly. The location is a little out of town and is very peaceful with nice views of the hills. Our only disappointment was the heli hike was cancelled because of the weather,but we managed to walk to the glacier which was great fun and was some compensation. I would strongly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: All units are very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you so much for the review!
It was an absolute pleasure to have you as our guest, sorry we could not fix that rain problem, happy you got out anyways to see the glaciers and make the most of your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great value accommodation providing the convenience and practicality of a motel/self catering apartment with the added bonus of the little touches you would expect from a hotel.

The two bedroom cabin we had was spacious and attractively furnished. We were only here for one night but it would make a great base for spending a few days exploring the glaciers.

Above all else we were made to feel very welcome by Jennifer and David. They went the extra mile and offered us service more akin to a concierge in a 5* hotel. Making recommendations and reservation for dinner and booking, driving my wife into town and loaning us DVD's to entertain my daughter.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Instapav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you James for the wonderful review, it is very appreciated. Your family was lovely to have stay with us, of course I was more than happy to assist you however possible.
Hoping the rest of your vacation and visit with family was wonderful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,457 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#9 of 13 in Franz Josef
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: £91 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment. Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet. Other facilities within the complex include Book exchange, DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities available, Kiwi "continental" breakfast and activity bookings. A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing