We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Views and Peace & Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Views and Peace & Quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Amazing view of the mountains covered in snow out one side and fields galore out the other. Whilst only a 4 minute drive from town, it felt like you were living in the Country. Nice to get away from the hussell and bussel. Free DVD's to watch was awesome after a day in the snow. Managers couldn't of been more helpful and helped plan our 2 days so we didn't have to worry about anything. Would stay there again in a flash. Was one of the best places we had stayed in.

Room Tip: One on the left so you can wake up to the Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Star B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and were more than happy to help plan your activities whilst you were here. There is so much to do In Franz that it can be hard to know where to start.
The view from the chalets is amazing and always a delight to wake up to in the mornings. One of the joys of been just outside the main township is the peace and quiet so glad you took the time to relax and regenerate your energy for the rest of your travels.
Kind Regards
Mel & Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    79
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
102
115
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR, USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The accommodations are individual little cabins/cottages lined up right next to each other, so it feels more like a crowded housing development than a "retreat." Unless somebody closes curtains, your neighbors and you will have great views of each other. The cabins were spacious and basically nicely done, but are starting to feel a little shopworn. It was not an unpleasant stay, but I can't think of any reason we would make an effort stay here again. I did not like the fact that at check in, within about two minutes after I walked into reception, they were trying to sell me guided glacier tours, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hcajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. As the new Managers we take on board your comments about your Chalet and are currently in the process of re-doing them. We have a huge passion for the area and do like to help our guests know what is available for them to do in Franz Josef. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday and the beautiful scenery of the South Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. The cabins are fabulous, really clean and warm. The couple that run the retreat are super nice and gave us breakfast each morning and dvds to watch at night. I highly recommend a stay here but u will need a car as its about 5 or 10 mins drive from the township.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Sometimes it is quite nice to relax and watch DVD's at night when it is pouring with rain and you just want to relax. It is great been only a short drive from town so you can you enjoy both the country and the city life. We also have a shuttle service available if needed. Enjoy the rest of your holidays.
Kind regards
Mel & Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

You need a car for this property but most people do. Modern, comfortable and every lounge with a view of the glacier!. Free WiFi a boon. You even get a complimentary continental breakfast tray each day. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: All chalets are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basename164_friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

First things first. This property is a 5 minute drive from the town of Franz Josef. If you don't have your own transport then this may not be the best property for you. But if you do this is a much nicer location than anything in town. So close you might as well be there, but far enough away that it feels like the middle of nowhere (in a good, quiet, secluded way).

The rooms are great, everything you need for a self catering holiday. New looking, clean, tidy, comfortable and car parking right outside (good for when it rains, which it will). Staff are very friendly and a great help if you are wondering how to fill in your day (thanks Jen).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgsub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our family of four adults stayed in Franz Alpine Retreat for 2 nights in March. The chalet was very well-maintained, clean, spacious, and the surrounding mountains were breathtaking. Easy unloading and loading of luggage from the allocated parking lot right outside the chalet. David was very friendly and helpful, ready with information about the restaurants and convenience stores in Franz Josef. Great value stay, as the hotels around Franz Josef were very pricey, and the retreat made an affordable and comfortable alternative. Look forward to lots of rest and quiet time, as the wi-fi, mobile reception, and tv reception were not very stable (might have been the result of heavy rains and distance from town).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yi Xin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your review, it is appreciated. Very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and yes as beautiful as the West Coast rainforest is the heavy rain and mountains do affect reception at times, such is life here in paradise :)
Hope the rest of your travels were amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband, adult son and I stayed 1 night in their "2 bedroom chalet". The unit was very new, modern and clean. Bedroom #1: king bed with inner spring mattress (OK), 2 night stands, a clock, no dresser, no closet and very limited space for any luggage. Bedroom #2: 2 twin beds, 1 bedside stand, clock, no closet, no dresser, fair luggage space. Bathroom: Nice in size walk-in shower with hand-held spray, good mirror over sink, hair dryer, poor lighting - ceiling only, no counter space, no towel bars. Living room: 3-seater couch and 1 overstuffed chair, ~36" TV with satellite channels . Dining room table with 4 chairs. Kitchen has refrigerator, toaster, microwave, and nice counter space. Guest laundry is present for a fee and cold water wash only (not posted as such). We had to ask twice for sufficient towels for bathroom. Located about 5 Km (6 min.) drive outside of main area where one can find restaurants. Adequate for one night stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your detailed review, I am sure future guests can appreciate the information.
We do apologies again for the miscommunication of the type of towels you requested, happy it got sorted for you, there are however heated towel racks in all chalets located next to the sink. The laundry facilities are standard in New Zealand, the sign posted states colour wash only, we have taken your comments to heart and have now highlighted that only cold water is used on this cycle. We hope you enjoyed your time in Franz Josef and your family had an amazing New Zealand vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 12 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Property: Franz Alpine Retreat
Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has personalised facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment.Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet, Phone & insect screens. Other facilities within the complex DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities, continental breakfast.A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing