We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and friendly”
Review of YHA Franz Josef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Judging by what people say about other places in Franz Josef, this is probably one of the best options.
i had a single room, it was very basic (nothing but a bed, chair and a small mirror) but for some reason it felt good and comfy.
the kitchen is big, so is dining area and a fireplace lounge. This hostel does have a nice atmosphere.
wifi is $10 a day, towel for rent is only $1.
ah, and they got a lovely little sauna which is free. that was cool yeah.
located pretty well.. you actually can get a bad location in such a small place like Franz Josef :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trubo4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for YHA Franz Josef
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hostel was so cozy that I actually opted NOT to go outside and do the tour I had been planning on doing. The lounge area had a big fire place that was kept and big comfy couches. instead of seeing the glacier I actually stayed behind and did puzzles and played board games in front of the fireplace! The staff was also very friendly, learned my name even though I was only there for one day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler_684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Good budget option for Franz Josef. The comunal area was freezing and smelled strange! The English guy at reception couldn't have been any more helpful, and helped us sort out our activities for out stay. The private rooms are nice, clean and ensuite. We had to leave a day early with no refund or credit. Apart from that, would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G-M-Byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My husband and I stayed in a private room at the Franz Josef Glacier YHA for 2 nights. We had ice climbing and walking in mind, so what we were really after was a warm, quiet room to return to after a day of slogging it out on the glacier. Thankfully, the YHA didn't disappoint and if anything, the staff were overzealous about keeping our place tidy - I was having a nap one afternoon when one of the front desk folks entered our room. Unfazed, she tidied up the place and we ended up having a nice, albeit half-asleep chat on my part.

Really, this place has it all for active people - a great location near restaurants, activities and the bus stops, a fabulous sauna looking out at the wilderness (perfect on a rainy afternoon) and a special arrangement with the bar across the road, which resulted in a round of free drinks over woodfired pizza one night. That said, the common areas especially are showing their age, but as we never ate in, it didn't matter much.

Our room was relatively spartan and small, but had sufficient room for all our luggage. The two heaters in the room kept the place very toasty, as well as providing an all-important mechanism for us to try our wet clothes after getting caught in the rain on at least one occasion. All the linens were very clean and we had no problem swapping out our used towels for new ones. As well as being quiet, the room overlooked a garden, which added to the serenity of the place.

Here's the icing on the cake - the showers are hot and strong. So, the bathroom is very small (romance is off the agenda), but after a day walking the equivalent of 40 flights of stairs, even a bucket of water would seem like a blessing.

Overall, we had a great time in Franz Josef - the days were adventure-packed and this great little YHA gave us the opportunity to sleep like logs at night. We couldn't have asked for a better deal.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The Hostel is clean and there is not a lot to complain about. The common area is nice and the sofa in front of the fire place really comfortable. But there is also not a special highlight. It's what you expect from a YHA and that's why it's is rated average.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I thought FJYHA was a great hostel. My six bed dorm room was clean, spacious & comfortable. The beds all had two pillows on, and extra blankets were available. The bathroom was always spotless and the showers were nice & hot. The kitchen was clean and well equipped. Tea, coffee & sugar was available for free (although milk was not supplied). The lounge had a lovely atmosphere. The sofas round the fire were very sociable. There is also a TV room, where you can watch DVDs, a pool table and a sauna (I didn't go in this, however, as I went in the hot pools down the road). The staff were friendly and helpful, and Milkshake the resident cat is very cute! The hostel is a couple of minutes walk from supermarket, and most of the activity booking offices. I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The staff are helpful and lovely (and that Kiwi lad is a sexy beast).
The cat is fat and awesome and should be commemorated with a bronze plaque.
The rooms are tidy and the communal areas are great for hooking up with other travellers.
Also, it rains a lot apart from when it doesn't. But that's good, because rain is lush.
The staff should probably all get haircuts though. :-D lol jokes.
AWESOME

Room Tip: Leave your window open and the cat might join you in bed. :D lol
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#2 of 12 in Franz Josef
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glow Worm Accommodation
Glow Worm Accommodation
#3 of 12 in Franz Josef
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Franz Josef

Address: 2-4 Cron Street | PO Box 12, Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly Franz Josef Glacier YHA)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: £22 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Franz Josef 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Franz Josef Glacier offers 5 star backpacker accommodation in a lush rainforest setting in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier village. Only a five minute drive to the famous Franz Josef Glacier and just 30 minutes to Fox Glacier. Fantastic communal areas with lots of entertainment options: flat screen TV, DVDs, Sky TV, pool table, piano and cosy open fire. Free sauna - perfect for relaxing in after a day’s walking on the Glaciers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your YHA Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Yha Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing