We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Franz Josef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Franz Josef
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, very nice hostel, great kitchen facilities & common room area. The bedroom was clean, beds very comfortable. Shower facilities good. Great wifi. Helpful staff. Newmans bus drops you outside, all in all a great plsce to stay, highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracey-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    139
    64
    25
    7
See reviews for
22
118
87
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights in late July, I had arrived early so I dropped my bags off. There's a really friendly cat called 'Milkshakes' which is a nice thing to have when away from home. The main kitchen sitting room area is open plan with a fire and a TV lounge attached. The dorm had one of the most comfy beds I've ever had in a hostel. The price was incredibly cheap if staying in a 10 bed dorm and only a little extra if staying in a smaller room. One of the nicest hostels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Dizzle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We chose to stay at YHA based on the good reviews that it had, and the moment we stepped in we knew it was going to be great.

We stayed in a twin room for two nights. The guy at reception was welcoming and gave us directions to our room. Although this hostel was moderately big, but it still managed to retain its cosy, homely atmosphere. The place was never a party central or noisy throughout my stay. If it is quiet and cosy place that you are after, while being able to chat and meet other friendly travellers this is the place to be! We had a friend in our group who stayed at Chateau next door, she loved YHA so much that she was over for most of the time (dinner etc!).

Location wise, it is just a short walk to the village and the bus stops (5ins?)and a flat road all the way (no worries about rolling your luggage bags here). Head down the same road that the hostel is located on and you will reach 2 eating places/pubs and the hot springs. (however in general the whole of franz josef village is so walkable, it isnt very big..). Another bonus is that intercity drops and picks up from YHA daily! so you dont have to walk to the main bus stop with your bags:)

The rooms:
The rooms are great! More than enough space for two people and our luggage bags. Loved it that it came with 2 pillows as well. Warm blankets. The only gripe I have is that their heater switch goes off every two hours (to conserve the electricity probably). As a result I kept waking up cold at night, having to crawl out of bed to press the heater switch (for it to work for another two hours before the same thing repeats itself again). Not very good when I am trying to get a good uninterrupted sleep!

Bathrooms:
Clean bathrooms. Wished there were more bathrooms though! there are only 3 showers for the whole hostel, but then again I never had to wait for any of my showers.

FREE SAUNA!! how good is this! Enjoy the sauna while overlooking lush foliage out of the window (that is lit up during the night).

Kitchen is great for cooking. Lots of space and equipment.

They have big umbrellas that are free to hire with a $20 deposit bond (returnable).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayymine197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The place was clean and friendly. I ended up getting my own 5 person room which was nice. The beds are comfy and you get pillow/blanket. The bathrooms are clean and nice. The location is good since it's right by the main road. Only a few minutes from the Glacier walk. The kitchen and community room are large. Fireplace is nice to relax in front of

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 325irollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our stay in one of the private rooms was very comfortable. The hostel was quiet, which was nice! The fireplace and resident cat made it very homey. The hostel is extremely clean and comfortable, and the lounge and kitchen areas are spacious. The hostel has an eco initiative which is very admirable, but as part of that initiative the heat in the room is set in a two hour timer. On both of our two night stays there I woke up several times during the night freezing, having to jump out of bed and turn it back on! If there is some way to change that so that stays over the winter are a little warmer, the place would be perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is a really excellent hostel with all amenities on hand. It is just a short stroll away from the shop, bars/restaurants, hot pools, glacier guides office and most importantly the beginning of the walking trails. On arrival the receptionist gives you the opportunity to book onto a bus which will bring you to the base of the glacier (about $12 return if I remember correctly) and is also very happy to give you advice on walking trails and other things to do in the area. The hostel itself is very clean in both the common areas and rooms. The common areas consist of a large well equipped kitchen a spacious seated area with a fire for the winter, a nice sheltered BBQ area and a TV room. There is also a sauna in the building. I had a double ensuite private room. The room and bathroom were clean but a little on the cold side in winter. I was also pleasantly surprised to find tea/coffee making facilities in there.

There is plenty of parking or if you are using public transport the intercity buses drop and pick up outside the hostel.

As budget accommodation goes, this is the business.

Tip: As mentioned in other reviews there is a cat resident in the building who seems to mostly stay in reception. Does not bother me in the slightest but if you are not a cat fan be warned!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aplj100
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Perfectly good hostel with lots of space although we were there off season. Only problems were caused by manners of other guests, but the hostel itself offers everything for a good stay, with the bonus of a sauna to boot.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room, not en suite, but there were never queues for the shower....it was off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aplj100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.0 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#3 of 12 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glow Worm Accommodation
Glow Worm Accommodation
#2 of 12 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Franz Josef

Property: YHA Franz Josef
Address: 2-4 Cron Street | PO Box 12, Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly Franz Josef Glacier YHA)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Franz Josef 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Franz Josef Glacier offers 5 star backpacker accommodation in a lush rainforest setting in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier village. Only a five minute drive to the famous Franz Josef Glacier and just 30 minutes to Fox Glacier. Fantastic communal areas with lots of entertainment options: flat screen TV, DVDs, Sky TV, pool table, piano and cosy open fire. Free sauna - perfect for relaxing in after a day’s walking on the Glaciers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Yha Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing