We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Pleasant simple hostel”
Review of YHA Franz Josef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We started here over night i'm a double room on our way through the glacier country. The room was simple and clean with a very comfortable proper double bed, not two singles pushed together! Kitchen is well equipped. It was also great being so close to the glow worm walk. Would have been nice if there were more bathrooms, but that is a minor quibble.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank hcgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Good place to stay. Rooms are quite comfortable. Even a piano in the sitting room. However, we three girls booked together but we were assigned to 2 rooms. The toilets and bathrooms were just so so. The lock of the door sometimes not work.

Room Tip: I was living in a 5 shared female room.Quite ok. But sometimes the lock of the door does not work. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lydia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a double on suite room. Basic but comfy and sufficient room. Tea and coffee , towels etc provided. Good location. Tip, take your YHA members card for free Wifi. Well equipped hostel, big sitting room and also a tv lounge. Walls were a tad on thin size however was quiet after 10pm . I think every one gets turned playing out on the glaciers and retires early.

Glad we chose franz over fox as we had a drive to fox and it was very quiet and small and not as many facilities and things to do as Franz. Lake matheson is well worth a walk round and a visit to the cafe there.

Room Tip: We had room 15 on ground floor, handy for reception and no stairs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

YHA Franz Josef is a fairly typical NZ backpackers but is quite a bit more expensive than a typical NZ backpackers. The hostel needs modernising to make it good value: everything looks a bit worn out. In particular, the kitchen and communal eating area have an institutional feel and the laundry facilities are too small for a hostel of this size - especially when one of the washers is out of order. They have a prime location and they should be making more of it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was where we stayed on the second night of our trip and we found it to be in a convenient location, however Franz is pretty small so they are all in a great location. The room was average size and the lack of parking meant a lot of people including us couldn't park in the carpark provided.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

This hostel has a great kitchen and eating area which we liked. It was alos quiet at night so we slept well. The only downside was the wet bathroom floors. Seemed weird. Shops very handy to YHA too. Lovely cafes.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Karen323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on our new zealand trip.

The hostel is well located. Check in was ok, the staff were extremely helpful and informative, they dealt with every question we had about franz josef. We stayed in a double room which was basic but kept clean and it was quiet. The facilities in general were very good and we made use out the communal kitchen.

Nothing negative and we will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,479 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
9.8 mi away
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
#10 of 11 in Fox Glacier
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glow Worm Accommodation
Glow Worm Accommodation
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
323 reviews
0 mi away
Chateau Backpackers and Motels
Chateau Backpackers and Motels
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Franz Josef

Address: 2-4 Cron Street | PO Box 12, Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly Franz Josef Glacier YHA)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: £24 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Franz Josef 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Franz Josef Glacier offers 4 star Gold Qualmark-rated backpacker accommodation in a lush rainforest setting. Our convenient location, well-equipped communal areas, and lively atmosphere are what make us popular with our guests. Our hostel is set back just behind the main street, a short stroll from the heart of the village and only a five minute drive to the famous Franz Josef Glacier. Fox Glacier is just 30 minutes drive away. The large open-plan lounge and dining area features extras like a fireplace, piano, guitar, board games, pool table, and more. 2GB free WiFi per day helps our guests stay connected to friends and family at home. Our TV room is well-stocked with free DVDs and we even have popcorn! The kitchen and laundry are fully-equipped for your convenience, and the sauna is just an added bonus after a day exploring the glaciers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your YHA Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Yha Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing