We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable for a hostel”
Review of YHA Franz Josef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2009

For a hostel, this is superior. Our room was clean. The facilities were working and many. And the place is in town, near to restaurants and other facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank andantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for YHA Franz Josef
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2008

Stayed here for one night and its a great place to base yourself for Franz Josef. The reception staff are really helpful (though the early winter closing times continue to plague all the hostels!!)

The room was nice a big though a little bit damp. Its easy to book local activities and theres plenty of YHA discounts on offer - just talk to the guys in reception. Nice kitchen though a bit of a shortage of cooking utensils meaning people were doing other people's washing up cos they needed pots (and the original users were still eating).

Theres a great free sauna in the evenings and the telly room has a massive flatscreen TV and plenty of films to choose from, as well as Sky Movies. Close to the supermarket.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank intrepudtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

We stayed in the Franz Josef YHA for two nights as part of a three week trip around NZ South Island. We booked a double ensuite room which was fine although a little tired and dirty in the corners ! The hostel was nice with a large communal area and kitchens. The laundry room was cheap but too small and there was always a queue to use the computers. Just a short walk from the centre of Franz Josef village and the hostel had negotiated lots of great deals with local companies for discounted food, drink and tours. Staff were friendly but not all of them were very efficient resulting in some pretty long queue's at reception. I would use the hostel again but I have certainly stayed in better hostels.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Moose-groupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2008

YHA is tucked away at the end of the street, against some trees. The room that we've got had that 'forest view' which is ok except that its raining whole day while we were there hence inviting insects. But the windows had the insect nets so we didn't get major problem with fliers.

The ensuite double room is very basic and without TV. But the thin walls resulted in alot of noise. We could hear everyone thats walking by, we could hear our korean neighbours talking and slamming the doors.

Despite having no TV, YHA has a very cozy TV room with video tapes of some old movies. If those tapes didn't work, there's always sky movies to fall back on. There's a pool table which is a good post dinner hang out place.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Remuslupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2008

Stayed in an ensuite-double that was booked through the YHA's excellent on-line service.

Being situated in the Franz Josef township, the hostel enjoys some beautiful surroundings with convenience to all the amenities and attractions. We found it to be clean, tidy and well presented, with satisfactory facilities.

The room was also clean and tidy. Furnishings were basic, but more than adequate and the additional cost for the ensuite facilities was very reasonable.

Overall the hostel provided above average accommodation at a below average cost - a definite thumbs up.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sn0wman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2007

Stayed for one night in a double bedroom ensuite.
This yha is rated as 5 star and after staying at Sydney central yha in Australia ( which was great) i had high hopes...

The room was small which wasnt the biggest problem as we were only staying for one night

but the bed was the most uncomfortable i've slept on - you could feel the springs on your back !

The walls and ceilings are paper thin - we had a family staying above us with kids jumping around and honestly though the ceiling was going to give way. I had to go upstairs and tell them to quieten down as we simply could not get to sleep.

The bedding wasn't very clean either.

The bathroom faired better and was clean and functional.

Service wasnt a problem though and Franz Josef is a really small town so i dont think there is much to choose from in term of accomodation. Stay one night if you have to !

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sun247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2007

This is an amazing hostel, the location is wonderful even though that the town is not that big and is mainly there because of the Glacier itself.
The Kitchen was huge and well equiped, the living room was so comfortable with a big open fireplace, which is good after a long day trekking.
They have a sauna which is amazing also.
All in all this is a brillant Hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rachel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#2 of 12 in Franz Josef
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glow Worm Accommodation
Glow Worm Accommodation
#3 of 12 in Franz Josef
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Franz Josef

Address: 2-4 Cron Street | PO Box 12, Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly Franz Josef Glacier YHA)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: £22 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Franz Josef 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Franz Josef Glacier offers 5 star backpacker accommodation in a lush rainforest setting in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier village. Only a five minute drive to the famous Franz Josef Glacier and just 30 minutes to Fox Glacier. Fantastic communal areas with lots of entertainment options: flat screen TV, DVDs, Sky TV, pool table, piano and cosy open fire. Free sauna - perfect for relaxing in after a day’s walking on the Glaciers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your YHA Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Yha Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing