We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clear and cozy place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clear and cozy place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

The general experience has exceeded my expectation. It was clear, tidy and cozy. The staff at reception was helpful. I like the in room rubbish bin which divided into two, one for refuse and one for recycle. We stayed at the 1st room and the view from the room was great!
Oh yes, their bath gel, shampoo and conditioner smells nice, with cucumber and mint.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WY_KWAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHFJManager, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear WY_KWAN

Thank you for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor. I am glad my team we able to assist you during your stay.

In regards to the environment and sustainability, Scenic Hotel Group as a company are continually reviewing and adapting internal and external practices to minimise any detrimental impact on the environment. We are proud of not only the results but also our ongoing efforts in each property.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the beautiful West Coast in the future.

Best Wishes Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    230
    108
    43
    16
See reviews for
113
301
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

While the hotel played a great role in making this stay the most memorable part of our trip, I think the location is such that even if you are sleeping on the road, you will not complain

Coming back to the hotel, nice rooms (did not get upgraded inspite of multiple requests of being on our honeymoon), ate food in the nearby restaurants (must visit for the lively atmosphere)

Good and courteous staff

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParagbMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuttack
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were surprised to see such a hotel in a remote area like Franz Josef.The room size is okay,but there is no air condition machine inside the room.The glacier is very near to the hotel.The breakfast provided in the hotel is nice.The hotel service staffs are very quickly serve our request.It was very enjoyable to stay one night in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mani-1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We arrived at the Scenic Hotel in the driving rain, soaked to the bone. Our room was large, but fairly bland and dorm like. Watch out when taking a shower, the temperatures fluctuate hugely, especially on the hot side! The bar and lounge, however, was a different story. A cozy fireplace with ample and comfy lounge style seating was exactly what we needed after a long ride in the rain. Fellow travelers trapped by the bad weather waited out the storm by playing Yahtzee, jigsaw puzzles and cards under the warm and attentive care of the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bickles27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHFJManager, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Bickles 27

Thank you for taking the time to place comments on Tripadvisor. I do recall the time you were staying in the hotel and the lounge area was a cosy place to be.

The water temperatures in the room that you mentioned have been assessed.

I do hope enjoyed your stay in Glacier Country and hope you will return to explore more of the West Coast in the future.

Kind Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrevieja
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stayed here for one night while on a pensioners bus tour of NZ. Agree with other reports concerning very very comfortable beds. Room was large and clean but no view from the rear wing - although we didn't stay long enough in the room to worry about that. Restaurant was excellent with plenty of well presented choice. As seems the norm with a lot of fine hotels - free wifi is very restricted to half an hour which I believe is poor service when considering the price paid for accommodation, but this is nit picking. Staff were friendly and obliging.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacko48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

This hotel in a small town like Franz Josef is wonderfull.The rooms are large in size,amenties in the hotel are nice.We stayed here for one night and enjoys the hotel environment nicely.The rooms are very fresh and clean.The breakfast buffet is appreciated.The staffs are very cooperative.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabindra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

As much as we love wonderful, romantic B&Bs, it is very comforting, towards the end of a long vacation far away from home, to stay in a place that reminds us of the best resorts/spas in the United States. Our suite was huge, the bed downy soft, and the deck replete with stunning views. We would certainly stay again!

Room Tip: Go for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dvdsne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Property: Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Address: 36 Main Rd | Off State Hwy 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier sits at the edge of the Westland World Heritage Park, and is just moments from one of New Zealand’s most spectacular natural attractions, the Franz Josef Glacier. Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier makes the most of its alpine location and offers quality accommodation in two separate hotel ‘wings’. Stay in either the Douglas or Graham wing, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings within Franz Josef village. Our hotel is in a premium location, making it the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the magnificent Westland region.Our professional, friendly staff look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Your visit will be made even more memorable by the many natural wonders in the area. Just be sure to bring your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing