We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous little Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous little Hotel.”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Really clean and modern rooms. Staff extremely helpful. Bed is like sleeping on a cloud. Has a great open fire in the bar, perfect for a night cap. Short walking distance to all the things you will need during your stay. Great value for money. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPearce79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    244
    112
    43
    16
See reviews for
119
317
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We found this hotel stay 90% satisfactory, 3 negatives are, No sky channels were available, bed was uncomfortable due to large hollows and humps, Would suggest the topping thing be changed as we both found it extremely hollowed and uncomfortable, lastly dam bus that was parked right next to our room started up and left running for 3/4 of an hour at 6am, why allow buses to park right next to rooms is unsatisfactory especially when there is a large car park where the bus could have been directed to the far away side where no rooms are. The room was clean, fresh & modern as well as roomy in size. Staff excellent service. Location close to township so as to walk around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twotravellers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, wonderful stay,spacious rooms, good views and exceptionally great amenities, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, had breakfast at the restaurant with excellent breakfast from chef deepthi, Alvin at the service end delivered great customer service. Heis a very joyful person and all of the staff really enjoy their work.Everything in this hotel is very well managed, though the location is not that well equipped, but the staff and this well structured hotel makes you feel at home, take away coffee cups are above the expectations and i will definitely stay here again and will also suggest this hotel to many who select this hotel as their stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liabam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greymouth
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here recently after a meeting. Recently redecorated and it looks fantastic. Good size rooms and tastefully decorated. Nice and warm - if anything too warm but easily fixed and better to be warm rather than cold. Love the bar area with the cozy fire setting. Restaurant was great - good food and service. Huge ups though to the staff - in every area, reception, bar, waiting (both dinner and breakfast) and the cleaning staff. Super friendly and welcoming. A credit to their training. Very enjoyable experience, highly recommend and wouldn't heistate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jedsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

It may look like a motel from the road, but the insides of the rooms, especially the restrooms, are fairly modern and nice. The TV has a good selection of channels. The breakfast food is good, as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcrob96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gandia, Spain
Level Contributor
181 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

this was an unexpected pleasure to stay in and better than hoped for. It was well situated for the glaciers and we had a large and well furnished room and bathroom. It was close to shops and a supermarket and we had a very enjoyable stay. Very good restaurant and excellent menu. We had the three course option which was very good. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I'd actually give this a 4.5 rating. We stayed at the Scenic at Franz Josef for a single night in Feb 2013, having stayed at the Scenic in Queenstown for two nights the previous week. While we had a nice view for the Queenstown Scenic out over the mountains, this was very ordinary (out into the courtyard where our car was parked), and we didn't have a glacier view, sadly. However, we received a very warm welcome; the reception staff were charming and booked us a table in the restaurant even though that involved a bit of organisation as we arrived quite late and it was Valentine's day. The room was extremely comfortable and well appointed, with two double beds, crisp linen and excellent pillows. There was a wet-room style shower and a bath, with big fluffy towels, and everything was super-shiny and clean, and there were good quality bath/shower products. Our meal was great. Both of us started with top notch French onion soup. For my main, I had two lamb shanks which were absolutely enormous (I was soooo full) while my partner had a more sensible-sized wild goat curry which was tasty but still very filling. Neither of us could even consider a dessert. With a bottle of Lindaur sparkling wine, the meal was about £60. We got a really excellent night's sleep: the room was dark, quiet and very cosy. Nice for a bit of luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for a glacier view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
24.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Property: Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Address: 36 Main Rd | Off State Hwy 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier sits at the edge of the Westland World Heritage Park, and is just moments from one of New Zealand’s most spectacular natural attractions, the Franz Josef Glacier. Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier makes the most of its alpine location and offers quality accommodation in two separate hotel ‘wings’. Stay in either the Douglas or Graham wing, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings within Franz Josef village. Our hotel is in a premium location, making it the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the magnificent Westland region.Our professional, friendly staff look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Your visit will be made even more memorable by the many natural wonders in the area. Just be sure to bring your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing