We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Terrace Motel(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier View Motel(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (751)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveller rating
249
298
133
49
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
298
133
49
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelnew zealandbreakfast buffet isfirst floorlamb shankthe ground floormain buildingopen firesmall towncomfortable bedswildlife centrein towngood sizestayed here for one nightroom was largefree wifibad weather
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
606 - 611 of 751 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is our second stay at this property and BOTH visits have been very enjoyable. We checked in at 4 and the receptionist sent us right out to see the Glacier while the weather was still good. She was so RIGHT. Get the suite - two very large, extremely clean rooms. We enjoyed the dinner - the server had us wait until a large number of folks had left. We had the restaurant to ourselves. The pumpkin soup was great (again). We left very early to head to a location to see Mt. Tasman and Mt. Cook (we were directed by the receptionist, be sure to get this info because it is so beautiful).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Patricia W,

I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your return visit to the hotel. This past September we were blessed with predominantly beautiful sunny days and it was good to see that you made the most out of it and explored the area at its best.
Please stay in touch and we would love to welcome you back to the hotel some day soon.

Best regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here 2 nights as we liked it so much! Very quiet area, beautiful rooms, great bathrooms with the best products in! Super comfy beds! Great friendly service @ reception!
Overall an absolute delight!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spiritbird116812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is a very clean, comfortable hotel. The rooms are quite spacious and well appointed with a lovely outlook. The grounds are well maintained We found the receptionist helpful and informative about the local Glaciers and the various ways of accessing the Glaciers.

Room Tip: we had a room facing the reception area, which had a nice outlook.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelrulesAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We found this hotel to be an amazing luxurious experience for such a remote location. After exploring the west coast we stayed 2 nights, had excellent meals, beautiful walks, and a glacier hike. We would recommend ordering from the menu for breakfast (instead of buffet) but you can assess what you would prefer. The staff are wonderful, accommodating and friendly. We would definitely recommend this hotel and are already planning our summer return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skoolstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful very welcome sleep in a magnificent bed !!! Room had been recently tastefully modernised. Only 2 complaints would be the phone to reception wasn't working and when I told them they said "oh" and nothing done. Thd second would be the bus outside that kept running all thd time. Other than this I would definitely recommend this hotel for top cleanliness and comfort at a reasonable price. Easy location for all activities and scenery even though it was raining when we were there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews