We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well equipped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well equipped”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on W Coast trip. Room very comfortable and nicely equipped. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great position for town restaurants and bars. Visit baby kiwis in wildlife centre next door.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lozweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear lozweir,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel on TripAdvisor.com. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel’s amazing location and that our team took good care of you.
I hope you will visit us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    244
    112
    43
    17
See reviews for
120
317
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

This was probably one of the best hotels in the town. Recently renovated and very comfortable for someone who is used to staying at large hotel chains.

Location is also great, minutes walk to restaurants, tours and gas station.

Service - fast and friendly.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TammyToronto25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear TammyToronto25,

Thank you posting your review on TripAdvisor.com following your recent stay in Franz Josef Glacier. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and rate it as one of the best. The hotel certainly does boast an enviable location, making it very convenient for travellers to explore the surrounding areas. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on future travels.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
176 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Decent 3-4 star rooms (Graham Wing). Normal Scenic facilities and service, including the 1 hour limited free WiFi. Restaurant for dinner was fine. And so was service, esp. Manuel the bellboy is great,
Breakfast however reminded us of Manuel-from-Barcelona from a fictitious hotel. Quite limited continental b'fast, and a menu with paid cooked food options. Only when we asked explicitly the waiter admitted 'yes you can order any of these, free included in normal room rate'. The hot food however, though a bit late, was good.
Even more interesting is the rotating bread toaster. They put it on such a narrow desk that the outlet is directly on the edge, or shall we call it precipice in line with the lovely surroundings? 45 seconds after you have entered your slice of bread you MUST stand at the machine to catch the ejected slice, or otherwise it falls flat on the floor. The latter happened to us and quite a few other guests, and the staff is so kind to dump it in the dustbin then and warn you.
2nd morning they had slightly corrected the behaviour by putting a tray under the toaster and sticking this 10 cm or so out of the edge. Pro: no soccer goalkeeper behaviour needed anymore of the guests. Con: another very unpractical setup, people walking along the toaster place regularly hit the tray and dislodge it. Some more lessons to learn here :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear ErikdR,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. It was good to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we even managed to entertain you a little with the challenge we experienced in correctly positioning our breakfast toaster. You will be pleased to know that the situation has now been resolved. Lesson learned in the end.

Thank you for positively mentioning the overall service and especially Manuel. One of many superstars we fortunately have in our team.

Please visit us again.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

It's worth it to stop for breakfast even if it's just to drink in the view of the mountains. From the outside, the hotel reminded me of summer camp, but I was delighted with how modern the rooms were. I was impressed that they even thought to add recycling bins in the room. The hotel is located within a short walk of a couple of trail heads. Even though all the rooms do not have views, you won't care when you get a good night's sleep after an exhaustive day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colorado_Traveler_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Colorado_Traveler_98,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel following your stay back in December 2012. I am pleased to see that even after 11 months you still remember what comfortable stay you had at our hotel and in particularly the fantastic views from our restaurant. I can tell you it hasn’t changed!

Perhaps time for a return visit!? We would love to welcome you back to Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
438 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Probably the best property in town. Staff are accommodating. This is a no frills facility, but clean and comfortable. We were in a handicapped room on the first level; not sure why. Be aware that there are no elevators.
Breakfast resembled most of the breakfast buffets we encountered in our four weeks in New Zealand; what I would call a typical English breakfast of scrambled eggs, beans, mushrooms, sausage and bacon, toast and tea/coffee.
While there we took advantage of the Kiwi Experience within a block of the hotel. Saw an adult and three young birds. Wow!
Good value, clean, great location. Would go back.

Room Tip: Remember there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Jeffrey S,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time with us and rated the hotel as good value for money, clean, comfortable and in a great location.
The hotel has 130 guest rooms total with 87 guest rooms located on the ground floor. Therefore the need of an elevator is not necessary. Furthermore, the rooms are designed and positioned to suit most guest needs so that even the most discerned traveller can feel at ‘home away from home’ .
It is pleasing to read that you made the most out of your time in Franz Josef and visited the close by West Coast Wildlife Centre that operates in conjunction with the Department of Conservation to protect the Rowi Kiwi Bird. A really great project that protects one of the most endangered birds in New Zealand.

Thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier in the hopefully not so distant future.

Best Regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Hotel is centrally located, however, we were unhappy with the service provided and found the staff tad unfiendly. We are here for Christmas, we were expecting much more. The hotel was very colorless, no excitement or decoration. Surprsingly, it was very hot on the eve, and the room fell short of portable fans to provide. Not exactly the treatment we were expecting on xmas eve.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShreyLoonker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear ShreyLoonker,

I appreciate being made aware of any shortfall in guest expectations, even if the feedback refers back to a stay as far back as 11 months ago. As you can see from more timely TripAdvisor reviews, the majority of our guests are complimenting us especially for the friendliness and the service provided by our staff. Something we are really proud of, as we are aware that positive staff interaction is highly valued by our guests. Unfortunately this was not visible to you at the time you stayed at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier but we trust that a return visit would give you a completely different and most likely more enjoyable experience.
I am also happy to report that we have taken the necessary steps to ensure that the hotel will be well dressed up for this year’s Christmas – with all the bells and whistles!

Thank you for your visit and we hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here on our trip through the West Coast. A great spot to stay. The Reception and restaurant have obviously been done up recently. The room was very luxurious tastefully decorated and had everything you wanted. The walkways and stairs need some TLC and I am sure that it they did that up they would be much more popular.
A great place to stay, breakfast was exceptional more like what you get in a European Hotel.
Will definitely stay again when we come through.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Paul S,

Thank you for sending us your positive feedback. It is really pleasing to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel has been extensively refurbished in 2012 with the aim to provide quality service and facilities to national and international travellers on their stay in Franz Josef Glacier. I certainly take onboard the comment you have made in regards to the appearance of our walkways and stairs and will include this in our internally managed property maintenance program.

I look forward to welcome you back next time you are in Franz Josef Glacier.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
24.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Property: Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Address: 36 Main Rd | Off State Hwy 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier sits at the edge of the Westland World Heritage Park, and is just moments from one of New Zealand’s most spectacular natural attractions, the Franz Josef Glacier. Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier makes the most of its alpine location and offers quality accommodation in two separate hotel ‘wings’. Stay in either the Douglas or Graham wing, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings within Franz Josef village. Our hotel is in a premium location, making it the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the magnificent Westland region.Our professional, friendly staff look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Your visit will be made even more memorable by the many natural wonders in the area. Just be sure to bring your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing