We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Leicester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Another great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Only stayed the one night and only one complaint be careful when using the bathroom the floors can get slippy, room comfort second to none, food no complaints, you can see the mountain from the hotel a wonderful setting

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TezFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear TezFoster,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to your next stay at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    232
    108
    43
    16
See reviews for
114
302
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is not a value for money hotel. We stayed for couple of nights here but the experience was really terrible. The most annoying part was that some member from the staff opened the door from outside without even knocking the door when we were sleeping inside the room. We were really scared after this. The bathroom locks were not working and there was also the problem with hot water. Overall a terrible experience and i would not like to suggest this hotel to anyone. Just to mention we were offered some complimentary passes after this situation but in the end they cannot make up for the incovenience we had

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinmangla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Robinmangla

I understand your disappointment and once again I apologise that we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion.

It is unfortunate that the specialty vegetarian meal we prepared just for you, the complimentary bottle of New Zealand wine, personal laundry services, and passes to the luxurious Glacier Hotel Pools was unable to provide sufficient compensation for the disturbance caused by this unfortunate circumstance.

Once again I apologise for the error that occurred as a result of one of our team members misreading a report, and incorrectly concluding that your room was vacant. We have addressed this issue with the team member involved and also looked at our internal procedures to ensure this will not happen in future. I can assure you that an event of this nature has not previously occurred during my tenure with the hotel.

After our conversation and numerous attempts to “right the wrong” it is unfortunate that you have still left with a negative impression of our property, and we were unable to turn the situation around, as I thought we had.

I hope that your remaining time in New Zealand will provide you with a more favourable experience.

Regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The moment u step into the lobby of the hotel, it give u a very nice resort feel. The restaurant is very nice with the mountain view. The room has probably gone through some refurnisement and everything seem new and clean. Breakfast was good and I have to comment that the service staffs were all very polite and efficient. We have breakfast on 4 dec and the waiting staffs were simply excellent especially one of the lady (probably an Indian nationality staff) - I must comment that your are extremely polite and strike a good conversation that make the day wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fixer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear fixer72,

It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Feedback like yours is greatly appreciated and welcomed by our staff as it gives them the very good feeling that they do look well after our valuable guests. I have already passed on your feedback to Nipra who has served you for breakfast that day in our newly reopened Glasshouse Restaurant. She was really happy what is priceless!

Thanks for staying and we look forward to welcoming you back on future travels.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on W Coast trip. Room very comfortable and nicely equipped. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great position for town restaurants and bars. Visit baby kiwis in wildlife centre next door.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lozweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear lozweir,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel on TripAdvisor.com. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel’s amazing location and that our team took good care of you.
I hope you will visit us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

This was probably one of the best hotels in the town. Recently renovated and very comfortable for someone who is used to staying at large hotel chains.

Location is also great, minutes walk to restaurants, tours and gas station.

Service - fast and friendly.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TammyToronto25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear TammyToronto25,

Thank you posting your review on TripAdvisor.com following your recent stay in Franz Josef Glacier. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and rate it as one of the best. The hotel certainly does boast an enviable location, making it very convenient for travellers to explore the surrounding areas. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on future travels.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
174 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Decent 3-4 star rooms (Graham Wing). Normal Scenic facilities and service, including the 1 hour limited free WiFi. Restaurant for dinner was fine. And so was service, esp. Manuel the bellboy is great,
Breakfast however reminded us of Manuel-from-Barcelona from a fictitious hotel. Quite limited continental b'fast, and a menu with paid cooked food options. Only when we asked explicitly the waiter admitted 'yes you can order any of these, free included in normal room rate'. The hot food however, though a bit late, was good.
Even more interesting is the rotating bread toaster. They put it on such a narrow desk that the outlet is directly on the edge, or shall we call it precipice in line with the lovely surroundings? 45 seconds after you have entered your slice of bread you MUST stand at the machine to catch the ejected slice, or otherwise it falls flat on the floor. The latter happened to us and quite a few other guests, and the staff is so kind to dump it in the dustbin then and warn you.
2nd morning they had slightly corrected the behaviour by putting a tray under the toaster and sticking this 10 cm or so out of the edge. Pro: no soccer goalkeeper behaviour needed anymore of the guests. Con: another very unpractical setup, people walking along the toaster place regularly hit the tray and dislodge it. Some more lessons to learn here :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear ErikdR,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. It was good to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we even managed to entertain you a little with the challenge we experienced in correctly positioning our breakfast toaster. You will be pleased to know that the situation has now been resolved. Lesson learned in the end.

Thank you for positively mentioning the overall service and especially Manuel. One of many superstars we fortunately have in our team.

Please visit us again.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

It's worth it to stop for breakfast even if it's just to drink in the view of the mountains. From the outside, the hotel reminded me of summer camp, but I was delighted with how modern the rooms were. I was impressed that they even thought to add recycling bins in the room. The hotel is located within a short walk of a couple of trail heads. Even though all the rooms do not have views, you won't care when you get a good night's sleep after an exhaustive day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colorado_Traveler_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Colorado_Traveler_98,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel following your stay back in December 2012. I am pleased to see that even after 11 months you still remember what comfortable stay you had at our hotel and in particularly the fantastic views from our restaurant. I can tell you it hasn’t changed!

Perhaps time for a return visit!? We would love to welcome you back to Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Property: Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Address: 36 Main Rd | Off State Hwy 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier sits at the edge of the Westland World Heritage Park, and is just moments from one of New Zealand’s most spectacular natural attractions, the Franz Josef Glacier. Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier makes the most of its alpine location and offers quality accommodation in two separate hotel ‘wings’. Stay in either the Douglas or Graham wing, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings within Franz Josef village. Our hotel is in a premium location, making it the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the magnificent Westland region.Our professional, friendly staff look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Your visit will be made even more memorable by the many natural wonders in the area. Just be sure to bring your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing