We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly motel in a Glacier area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Driving a long distance thro lush west coast bush it was a welcome sign to see the Glacier Motel just by the roadside
Very friendly lady welcomed us and showed us to our rooms
They were well equipped and comfy and on a cold day ..warm
We were glad we had chosen the Glacier just a short walk from loads of eateries

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MorningEdinburghuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear MorningEdinburghuk,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.com.
I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to extend a bit of light and warmth of New Zealand hospitality to you. Please stay in touch and visit again when you are back in New Zealand.

Best regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Although the weather did not cooperate our stay at the Scenic Hotel was very nice. Staff was superb - very courteous. Dining room good use a little upgrade to provide more atmosphere but the food was good. Room was nice and clean. Only issue is a non-authorized charge on my credit card which I haven't received any answer from th Hotel after emailing two days ago.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jozeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear jozeke,

Thank you for your positive mentioning on TripAdvisor.com.
I am pleased to read that you had a nice stay at our hotel.

I have investigated your concern of being charged a non authorised transaction on your credit card and spoken to the Front Office Manager. She has advised me that she has been in touch with you and was able to shine some light on the mystery of the credit card charge situation. It appears that the transaction was executed by the local Department of Conservation and not by the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier, what is a relief as it confirms that the system is working and we were once more able to assist a guest with solving an issue.

Once again, thank you for your positive review and I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the hopefully not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour group doing a round tour of New Zealand.
The hotel has several good restaurants within easy walking distance., and we ate at The Landing nearly next door.
Rooms are spread out on the site, but are mainly reached via covered walkways.
The room was a good size,clean and well furnished with a huge walk in shower in the bathroom. There were good quality toiletries and a good supply of tea, coffee and chocolate drinks.
The buffet breakfast was perfectly satisfying to us.
WiFi is free for an hour, but has to be used in one chunk or you lose the rest of the time.
Overall we found the hotel to be a good comfortable overnight stop.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Tynes1der,

Thank you for your detailed review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent trip in New Zealand. Please stay in touch and visit again.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The staff, room, views & food A++
I cannot speak highly enough of how accommodating the staff are here, they upgraded us for free with fantastic views & whatever we needed they were quick to assist.
Franz Joseph can be full of overrated accommodation and younger tourists who like to party, the Scenic View Hotel is far more relaxing and quiet place to stay and the rooms are very clean, comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Jodie G,

Thank you for posting your positive comments on TripAdvisor.com. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and rate the hotel as the best in New Zealand. Feedback like yours really encourages us to aim for more.

Thank you and please visit again.

Best regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were happy with room. But restaurant meal was disappointing. With a main costing $38 we expected some flair, not just a steak on cabbage. Waitress did not point out where salad bar was or remind us it was included. Restaurant lacked atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Gillian O,

I appreciate the time you have taken to review your experience at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier.

We are glad that you enjoyed the accommodation aspect of your stay.

Apologies that you did not enjoy your meal in our Restaurant, and that you felt it was not value for money with a main Steak and salad bar at $38.00. I will pass your comments onto our Restaurant Manager and Executive Chef so that we can improve the finesse in regards to presentation.

Best regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Well located in centre of village close to amenities. Windows were really dirty in our room and access doors to buildings. Dead flies were still there after the room had apparently been cleaned before we arrived and on the second day. Wifi is only free for ONE HOUR, after that you pay $10 for 24 hours. The 1 hour wifi is free for up to 4 devices but once I had paid for 24 hours my husband couldn't connect. He wasn't allowed the free one hour and the payment only covers ONE DEVICE. Compared to the many other NZ hotels and B&Bs we have stayed it this is way out of line. The price is also too high for the standard of accommodation which is really a motel with a restaurant, not a true hotel in our view. The bathroom was very tired indeed...and complete with dead flies...it did all work however and the toiletries provided were nice.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pammie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear RhinoLondon_England,

Thank you for your feedback. Our central location, a stones throw from the village makes it easy to enjoy all the village has to offer.

It is disappointing that you did not find the cleanliness of your accommodation up to standard. I have addressed the issues raised with our Executive Housekeeper and she will audit our internal procedures to ensure a repeat of this oversight does not occur.

Thank you for noting the complimentary 1 hour WiFi access for up to 4 devices that is available for our guests. There are several additional options available for your convenience and unfortunately it appears that a the 24 hour laptop plan may have been utilised on your device, instead of the “multiple access plan”, apologies for any inconvenience that this caused.

We are glad that you enjoyed the Les Floralies bathroom products are wonderful and a staple throughout the Scenic Hotel Group.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A typical hotel in a busy tourist area. Good clean accommodation, good food, easy access to the tourist traps around town. Possibly a bit noisy from the helicopters taking off from over the road. This is to be expected and was no problem really.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank GreyNomad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear GreyNomad65,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are pleased that your enjoyed your stay with us and our convenient location to the village and Heliport.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the stunning Glacier Region.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,456 reviews
2.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Address: 36 Main Rd | Off State Hwy 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: £129 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier sits at the edge of the Westland World Heritage Park, and is just moments from one of New Zealand’s most spectacular natural attractions, the Franz Josef Glacier. Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier makes the most of its alpine location and offers quality accommodation in two separate hotel ‘wings’. Stay in either the Douglas or Graham wing, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings within Franz Josef village. Our hotel is in a premium location, making it the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the magnificent Westland region.Our professional, friendly staff look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Your visit will be made even more memorable by the many natural wonders in the area. Just be sure to bring your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing