We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well organised and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Lindfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Well organised and comfortable”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was a one night stay as part of a tour. Room in one of the annexes was clean and comfortable with good shower. Nice bar area for pre meal drink and reasonable prices.
Meal was limited choice but orders taken and delivered efficiently. Food was fresh and well presented.
Hotel well located to walk to bars in main street and service was excellent throughout.

Room Tip: Annex near main building has rooms with balconies to sit out if weather good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Ken F,

Thank you for posting your hotel review on TripAdvisor.com.
I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and taken positive memories with you back home.

Thanks for visiting and please stay in touch.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    247
    112
    43
    17
See reviews for
122
318
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is ideally situated for a trip to the Glaciers. A very consistent brand where you know what you are going to get and it is good. I liked their can do attitude to resolving issues that you have

Room Tip: Didn't use other facilities so can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Gill H,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel in Franz Josef Glacier and the Scenic Hotel Group. It is pleasing to hear that you find the hotel located in a convenient distance to the Glaciers and rate highly the can do attitude from our staff. Scenic Hotel Group has many hotels positioned around New Zealand in prime tourist locations that all offer a consistent high standard of guest service and value for money.

Please keep us in good memory and we hope we will be able to welcome you back to one of our many hotels in the future.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh uk
Level Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Driving a long distance thro lush west coast bush it was a welcome sign to see the Glacier Motel just by the roadside
Very friendly lady welcomed us and showed us to our rooms
They were well equipped and comfy and on a cold day ..warm
We were glad we had chosen the Glacier just a short walk from loads of eateries

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MorningEdinburghuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear MorningEdinburghuk,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.com.
I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to extend a bit of light and warmth of New Zealand hospitality to you. Please stay in touch and visit again when you are back in New Zealand.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Although the weather did not cooperate our stay at the Scenic Hotel was very nice. Staff was superb - very courteous. Dining room good use a little upgrade to provide more atmosphere but the food was good. Room was nice and clean. Only issue is a non-authorized charge on my credit card which I haven't received any answer from th Hotel after emailing two days ago.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jozeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear jozeke,

Thank you for your positive mentioning on TripAdvisor.com.
I am pleased to read that you had a nice stay at our hotel.

I have investigated your concern of being charged a non authorised transaction on your credit card and spoken to the Front Office Manager. She has advised me that she has been in touch with you and was able to shine some light on the mystery of the credit card charge situation. It appears that the transaction was executed by the local Department of Conservation and not by the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier, what is a relief as it confirms that the system is working and we were once more able to assist a guest with solving an issue.

Once again, thank you for your positive review and I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the hopefully not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour group doing a round tour of New Zealand.
The hotel has several good restaurants within easy walking distance., and we ate at The Landing nearly next door.
Rooms are spread out on the site, but are mainly reached via covered walkways.
The room was a good size,clean and well furnished with a huge walk in shower in the bathroom. There were good quality toiletries and a good supply of tea, coffee and chocolate drinks.
The buffet breakfast was perfectly satisfying to us.
WiFi is free for an hour, but has to be used in one chunk or you lose the rest of the time.
Overall we found the hotel to be a good comfortable overnight stop.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Tynes1der,

Thank you for your detailed review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent trip in New Zealand. Please stay in touch and visit again.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The staff, room, views & food A++
I cannot speak highly enough of how accommodating the staff are here, they upgraded us for free with fantastic views & whatever we needed they were quick to assist.
Franz Joseph can be full of overrated accommodation and younger tourists who like to party, the Scenic View Hotel is far more relaxing and quiet place to stay and the rooms are very clean, comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Jodie G,

Thank you for posting your positive comments on TripAdvisor.com. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and rate the hotel as the best in New Zealand. Feedback like yours really encourages us to aim for more.

Thank you and please visit again.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were happy with room. But restaurant meal was disappointing. With a main costing $38 we expected some flair, not just a steak on cabbage. Waitress did not point out where salad bar was or remind us it was included. Restaurant lacked atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Gillian O,

I appreciate the time you have taken to review your experience at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier.

We are glad that you enjoyed the accommodation aspect of your stay.

Apologies that you did not enjoy your meal in our Restaurant, and that you felt it was not value for money with a main Steak and salad bar at $38.00. I will pass your comments onto our Restaurant Manager and Executive Chef so that we can improve the finesse in regards to presentation.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Property: Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Address: 36 Main Rd | Off State Hwy 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier sits at the edge of the Westland World Heritage Park, and is just moments from one of New Zealand’s most spectacular natural attractions, the Franz Josef Glacier. Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier makes the most of its alpine location and offers quality accommodation in two separate hotel ‘wings’. Stay in either the Douglas or Graham wing, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings within Franz Josef village. Our hotel is in a premium location, making it the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the magnificent Westland region.Our professional, friendly staff look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Your visit will be made even more memorable by the many natural wonders in the area. Just be sure to bring your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing