We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lipstick on a pig” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lipstick on a pig”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel shows well with a modern lobby and nice curb appeal but the interior rooms lack considerably. I'll give the rooms one star for newer carpet and an attempt to make the bed appealing with soft sheets but that's where the "luxury" stops in this room. The tacky built-in furniture is original green laminate circa 1950....which on its own is no big deal in a town like this but is a precursor for the horror one finds when stepping into the bathroom. Upon walking in, the floor had clearly not been clean and showed dirt...or perhaps permanent stains? Who knows with it being this old. The shower was the real gem...or should I say Petri dish...since it was growing mold in various corners. Love the tiny soap holder, big enough to hold only the black scum building up so you have to put your products on the floor near the other mold. In an attempt to be environmental, the toilet has dual flush buttons but the half flush is broken so even when going #1, the toilet kicks up enough water to spray the floor evenly. But at least they installed an automatic fan that turns on 30 seconds after the light is switched and continues to rattle noisily for 5 min after it's shut off so when using in the middle of the night, everyone gets woken up. It clearly works too since all the paint is peeling off the ceiling. I can go on but I think you get the picture. This place baits and switches you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieOakley79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear AnnieOakley79,

I am surprised to read your review as it clearly does not reflect the appearance standard of our hotel rooms.
The Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier was fully refurbished in mid 2012. All rooms have been made up and so have the public areas of the hotel. Our daily focus is on keeping the high standard of our guest rooms so national and international travellers have a quality accommodation option in Franz Josef Glacier where they can feel home-away-from-home.

Can it be that you have stayed with us prior to the aforementioned room refurbishment? Sometimes we do receive reviews/feedback that go back as far as 2 to 3 years.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    230
    108
    43
    16
See reviews for
113
301
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I love beautiful scenery, and New Zealand is one of the most beautiful countries I've ever seen. However, it is NOT heavily populated, especially in the central areas of South Island. So, you are NOT going to have cities, gas stations, and fancy hotels all over the place like, for instance, the American Rockies, or even the European Alps. The weather is not always predictible, so it's expensive to even build in these areas. So, not unlike small towns in beautiful areas in any country, hotels can pretty well set the rates they can.

The tradeoff, here, though, from staying in a fancy Auckland hotel, is that here you will see some really rugged and beautiful territory. Because of this ruggedness, Prince Josef is a very small town. On a motorcoach tour, and stopping for the night, we walked from one end of town to the other in maybe fifteen minutes. So, if you love scenery and want to stay in, instead of passing through a very pretty little town with the glacier in the near distance, this is a NICE hotel! No, this is NOT the Hilton, nor will you have employees running all over the place like in a large hotel in Auckland.

But the hotel atmosphere is very welcoming and pleasant. Plus, the views of the mountains from some of the rooms were breathtaking! Our room was quite clean and comfortable. The hotel is on the main road, but, with little, if any, traffic at night, it was very quiet.

Maybe a half block behind the hotel was a hot springs I believe. We did not walk there as some of the others in our group, but, having been both in a motor coach and train a lot during the day, instead, chose to walk and explore the little wooded trail at the end of town past the small church.

Later, it started raining, and our tour group enjoyed a very good meal in the hotel dining room where, surrounded by huge windows, we coudl see the fog rolling in. I must eat GF meals, so the staff was really helpful in my meal selection. We were also pleased with our breakfast buffet the next morning.

This hotel is popular with motorcoach tour groups (that says something in itself), so make your reservations in plenty of time.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room overlooking the glacier. If you like to sleep really late, be aware that the tou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Jean30,

Thank you for your detailed review. I am pleased to read that we were able to look after you and your dietary requirements.

Please stay in touch and vist us again when you are next in New Zealand.

Yours truly,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here just at the tail end of a massive storm. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant excellent and the rooms clean and modern. Despite most of the town being without power - they had their own generator and most stuff was working just fine.

Franz josef is not exactly huge but nonetheless the hotel was perfectly paced for the wildlife center and the glacial pools.

We had adjoining rooms (with 3 children to accomodate) and it worked really well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear rob e,

Pleasing to read that you have enjoyed our hotel together with your family.
I hope we will be able to accommodate you again when you are next in our beautiful country.

Warm regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

It was great to get an upgrade for our stay. The room was clean and had a modern design. Everything was in order in the room and we enjoyed our stay there. The view was great as we could see the glacier from our balcony.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurtnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Kurtnova,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the wider TripAdvisor community.
Your feedback is much appreciated.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days during our 2 week NZ trip. Our initial impression of the hotel was great. It was an overcast day and the hotel looked lovely with the clouds and the glaciers in the backdrop. The hotel's location is also a big positive.

While the service quality was good, the rooms left a lot to be desired - especially for the price. It was the more expensive hotel we booked on that trip and we were disappointed with what we got. The beds were really small and uncomfortable and the room was rather compact with no view.

We would certainly like to come back to Franz Joseph, but this time we would like to try out some other place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishal0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Vishal0910,

It is disappointing to read that you have not fully enjoyed our hotel during your New Zealand visit back in December 2013. The same as you do many of our guests rate the location of the hotel as a big advantage as it gives them the option of reaching attractions and bars/restaurant within minutes. I am also pleased to see that you positively experienced the service quality we provide to our guests. This is really important to us.

The Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier has 130 guests rooms in two different room categories. From your feedback I understand that you have stayed in one of our standard rooms that offer less space than the next category up. However, all rooms offer the same high standard that most of our more regular guests highly value – the Scenic signature bedding, high quality room amenities from ‘Earth Botanics’ and of course a very personal and uncomplicated experience with our service professionals that are dedicated to look after you in the best possible way.

I instantly hope that we will be able to welcome you back to one of our 17 Scenic Hotels around New Zealand and in Tonga.

Thanks for your visit.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Only stayed one night over the Easter period, but very comfortable, warm, and clean suite room. The location is good and it's an easy walk to pools and restaurants nearby. The important things - the shower and bed were good.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Jac9393,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.com.
Despite an eventful Easter weekend this year with high winds and stormy conditions I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time in Franz Josef and in our newly refurbished hotel.

Thanks for visiting and please stay in touch.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Srirangam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed just one night. Good Room, but rooms are spread out over different buildings. Close to shopping and restaurants. A decent breakfast buffet. Friendly staff. (As booking was done through a tour company, no idea of the tariff and so can't say anything about the value for price).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M.g. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear M.g. S,

Thank you for staying with us at your recent visit to the West Coast of New Zealand.
I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed hotel and the service it provides to our guests.

We would love to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Property: Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Address: 36 Main Rd | Off State Hwy 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier sits at the edge of the Westland World Heritage Park, and is just moments from one of New Zealand’s most spectacular natural attractions, the Franz Josef Glacier. Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier makes the most of its alpine location and offers quality accommodation in two separate hotel ‘wings’. Stay in either the Douglas or Graham wing, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings within Franz Josef village. Our hotel is in a premium location, making it the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the magnificent Westland region.Our professional, friendly staff look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Your visit will be made even more memorable by the many natural wonders in the area. Just be sure to bring your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing