We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holly Homestead B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We wish we would have been able to stay longer. This was one of our favorite places on our two week tour of the south island. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a nice bathroom. Bernie went out of her way to make us comfortable and provided excellent guidance on what to do in the area. On her recommendation we walked the Okarito trail which was one of the most beautiful tracks of our trip. She also provided a list of places to visit on our drive down to Lake Wanaka. Breakfast was delicioius and she even did our laundry! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    28
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
183
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Interlaken, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

On our 4 week trip through NZ north and south islands we were lucky to find this place. Thank you, Bernie and Gerard, for this extraordinary stay in your beautiful house, thank you for the friendly welcome, for helpful advice to plan some special excursions in your region, for the outstanding breakfast table, for a well working WiFi and for all the interesting conversations. We will surely be back at this lovely place, whenever we will be in NZ again. Droli & Andi Baumgartner from Switzerland

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Droli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We only stayed one night here but were made to feel very welcome by Bernie who was a very attentive and helpful host.
The breakfast was top quality and the room and bed very comfortable. Sadly, our trip up the glacier was cancelled due to poor weather.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2013

After an extremely long drive from Queenstown the welcome that we received from Bernie (cup of tea and biscuits) was really great. Bernie was friendly and very helpful in arranging our trip up to the Franz Joseph Glacier on a helicopter. The house was lovely and the room very comfortable. The breakfast cooked by Gerard was perfect and extremely tasty. It was good to meet other guests at the dining table each morning. The Glacier is excellent and we would recommend anyone to take the helicopter ride to the top and walk around on the crisp snow. There is a good choice of places to eat in the town, but it is a car ride or a long walk. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Holly Homestead to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We came back a second time, it was lovely to stay again and see Gerard and Bernie. Immaculate room and hospitality. We were very fortunate to travel there from Greymouth, the week before the bridge at HariHari was affected by torrential rain. It caught up with us in Queenstown though!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl and Stew... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

After driving 4-5 hours from Queenstown it was great to be met by such a friendly host. Bernie made us feel very welcome and the tea and home-made biscuits on arrival really hit the spot. Our room was very clean and had all the facilities we needed. Nothing was too much trouble and Bernie phoned up for a restaurant booking and also ensured that our heli-hike booking was reconfirmed. It was shame we could only stay one night and we'd definitely stay longer another time as the whole surrounding area is so picturesque.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullfinch6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

we spent 2 nights here in dec, to do our heli-hike on franz josef. host bernie was gentle, comprehensive and lovely to chat with, and gerard cooked one of the best breakfasts we had in our 3 week stay. house was authentic and beautifully restored and we had one of the most charming and pretty bathrooms with wonderful daylight and pretty fixtures on the wooden floor. (room 3). dining area was generously sized and lovely to talk with other guests. road noise was a little loud but the earplugs helped.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonniesing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
1.0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Homestead B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Homestead B&B

Property: Holly Homestead B&B
Address: 2900 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holly Homestead B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B : This colonial homestead whispers history. Originally constructed from beautiful native timber in 1926, now tenderly refurbished staying true to the Arts & Crafts style of architecture. Start your day early with a panoramic view of the Franz Josef neve from the breakfast table. Go exploring at your own pace and come home to a glacial sunset, a glass of port in the guest lounge and a welcoming bed. Age restriction: children 12+ welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holly Homestead B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing