We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So very helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holly Homestead B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So very helpful”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our visit to this B&B began with a glass of wine with Bernie in the living room. She is so very knowledgeable about all the attractions in the area. After our help-hike the next day she gave us towels and directed us to the hot pools near town. Both restaurants she described well turned out to have wonderful food. In the morning while looking out at the mountain vista Gerard served us a yummy breakfast. We spent 2 nights here and had the large room in the back of the house. It's sitting room was complete with refrigerator, sink, and an electric pot for coffee, tea, etc. As we were leaving Bernie handed us a list of places we could stop and explore on our way to Queenstown. She had the mileage between stops down perfectly with an estimate of how long to stay at each destination. What really put this B&B over the top is that Bernie did our laundry for us while we were at dinner. Bless you, Bernie, for going the extra mile.

Room Tip: The one in the back has a beautiful claw foot tub as well as separate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canyonskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    26
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
179
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The house is a lovely old building with lovely gardens. The bedrooms are roomy and comfortable. Bernie is very helpful, including carrying my bags. My only small grouse is that you have to go to the kitchen to get a cup of tea, not great if you ant to go back to bed with it. Gerard cooks the breakfast. Good base if explring the glacier.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alecver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Steve and I { from christcurch } stayed at the Holly Homestead for one night after our glacier trek. It's fabulous. The grand homestead is set on rural land but still only minutes from the township and the Hot Pools. It is beautifully restored to the finest quality . There are great views of the landscape and horses in the paddocks . The dinning room has a picture post card window showing off the Glacier, what a great view to take in over a yummy breakfast! . Bernie has copies of the local restaurants menus and full of helpful information . I think overseas visitors would love this gem of a place to experience a bit of New Zealand history and to meet a great NZ couple who are fabulous hosts. This place can't be faulted for location , the warm welcome , lovely bathroom goodies and cleanliness. I feel proud as a New Zealander that many international travels will take away a bit of Kiwi heart from their experience there.
Many thanks Bernie and Gerard

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The house is stunning - a time warp back to the 20s/30s with fabulous rooms and bathroom to match. We had a large free standing style bath it looked wonderful and matched the looks of the room, everyone was so friendly and so helpful I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We enjoyed a one night stay at this wonderful accommodation, which is perfectly situated to tour the glaciers. Our host, Bernie, was incredibly helpful with our plans and reservations, and we regret that we only had one night to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed two nights in the gorgeous suite with awesome views. Bernie and Gerard, the owner,s maintain an immaculate home and B&B. They are full of hospitality, helpful hints, and delicious breakfasts and cocktail hours.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank proflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Bertie and Gerard exude hospitality from every pore. From breakfast through to recommendations through to a glass of port at night, they are always waiting

The house is charming. We opted for the suite and were not disappointed. A sitting area comes complete with fridge, cutlery and plates along with coffee/tea making facilities and TV. There is a bathroom with claw and ball feet bath and walk-in shower. Beanie has even installed a small night light in the bathroom to ensure that no feet are stubbed on any nocturnal visit. It appears that this suite is a new feature but it has been completed in full sympathy with the rest of this arts and craft house with lots of wood and features.

The breakfast is cooked to order. Guests sit around the table and thus able to share their experiences. Gerard offers small or large portions. With the fruit, cereals, toast etc. this provides a good boost to the day. Beanie keeps the tea and coffee flowing.

This is a definite find.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.4 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Homestead B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Homestead B&B

Property: Holly Homestead B&B
Address: 2900 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holly Homestead B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B : This colonial homestead whispers history. Originally constructed from beautiful native timber in 1926, now tenderly refurbished staying true to the Arts & Crafts style of architecture. Start your day early with a panoramic view of the Franz Josef neve from the breakfast table. Go exploring at your own pace and come home to a glacial sunset, a glass of port in the guest lounge and a welcoming bed. Age restriction: children 12+ welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holly Homestead B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing