We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and Beyond” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

This is a very comfortable property with large guest rooms, dining and shared living areas. The breakfast was yummy with plenty of choices. I can't say enough about the service. I left a very expensive piece of jewelry in my room. Kaz not only located and mailed it too me but even went back to the post office to track it when it was not received in a timely manner. I happily paid only $16 the cost of postage and insurance. I don't know where else I would have received this kind of service! All the rooms are extra clean and on ground level and removed from the noise of the highway.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyGite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    54
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
158
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I recently stayed here while on a six week trek down under...it was a great place! Kaz the owner was a wonderful, lovely lady. The property was great as was the included breakfast...you can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian-Teri Pollack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bavaria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed here shortly before Christmas. We were very impressed with the lodge. Although fully booked, we felt totally secluded in our coach house apartment. The apartment was very tastefully decorated, spacious and the patio was surrounded by a beautiful garden with spectacular views of the glacier. The breakfast in the main lodge was absolutely delicious. We had the full English and eggs Benedict before our hike, which kept us going all day. We only wish we could have stayed here longer.

Just be aware that throughout the whole of the town, you will be mobbed by the sandflies. Take some good bug repellent.

Room Tip: The coach house was fantastic, secluded, spacious and with stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyBavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as we passed through Franz Josef on our South Island tour. Accommodation was excellent with large, clean and comfortable rooms. The Lodge Great Room with fire and bar - hosted by the owner - was wonderful for a warming sit down out of the rain and to chat with other travelers. Breakfast was really good. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

This is a small property but extremely well run and cared for by Kaz.

Kaz has done a great job of redesigning the Westwood in a way that gives a home away from home feeling. She is fastidious in the upkeep of the property.

The breakfasts are great and the rooms are welcoming including a real shower instead of other properties in Oz and NZ we stayed at.

There are some great restaurants in town although unlike others we were disappointed with Alice Mays - too busy to provide decent service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Kaz was very welcoming as was Benson the labradoodle who is superbly trained and doesn't go into the rooms.
Lovely accommodation, excellent shower/wet-room and tub bath
Complimentary wifi was much appreciated as we had been away from uk for nearly 4weeks
Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The lounge/public areas are lovely and although it was quiet when we visited (just prior to the Christmas rush) I can imagine its a lovely place to mix with fellow travellers
Eating out entails a 20 minute walk but there is a good choice- we particularly liked the Alice May
Complimentary umbrellas if its raining provided.

Room Tip: We were shown main house (which had the tub bath) or coach house which was slightly bigger but only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stopped here for one night along our 10 day trip through New Zealand. I was super impressed with this luxurious little roadside lodge. It's set up more like a motel than hotel, but I liked the privacy, and the roadside location didn't bother us at all. Large beds, nice bathrooms, robes, coffee and a private patio.
The owner was extremely nice, and the main lodge is really beautiful. Great place for an evening drink or breakfast.
My only issue is that it's a few minutes outside of the town. Not a big deal if it's a nice day out as you could walk it (although it would probably take 15-20 minutes) but on a colder day you definitely have to get in your car.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahDallas222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.8 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
1.5 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel

Property: Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel
Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Lodge offer stylish cotemporary accommodation set in a delightful landscaped native garden with Alpine & Glacier views. All rooms are superbly comfortable, choose between the Main House Suites with a luxurious French tub or a Coach House suite with fantastic alpine views. All suites have underfloor heated spacious ensuites with dual handbasins & large open titled showers. For total comfort all include complimentary toiletries, robes & hairdryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing