We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Indulgence stop in South Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Vila
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Indulgence stop in South Island”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Having been capitivated by the awsome scenery and things to do in Queenstown we left our departure from this area rather late in the day to travel to Franz. however once we arrived at Westwood Lodge we knew we had chosen well. Recommended by friends in Hokitika they were spot on with their advice. Kaz made us welcome and got us settled into one of the the best rooms before suggesting a couple of options for our evening meal in Franz.
We returned from our short trip into town and indulged in a spa bath before sleeping soundly until late. A 9.00am breakfast was not a problem and the offerings at breakfast sensational with a generous and well presented cooked breakfast available as well as the great selection of fruits and fresh breads.
The scenic views from the lounge room of the alps is sensational and I can only imagine how awesome it would be with more snow on the peaks. Whilst we travelled in summer this would be a geat place to stay in the winter with a large lounge and huge open fire plus a separate billard room.
Well doe Kaz and team.. keep up the great work

Room Tip: The room we had was number 9 and recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanDeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    55
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
161
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This is a good quality hotel, the design and build quality is superb, from moment we arrived staff were helpful, could not fault our room in any way the detail s there right down to having fresh milk in the fridge. Sleep quality we both slept a solid 9 hours, something we rarely do.
Breakfast was a delight with individually cooked breakfast from a menu, my wife had the egg Benedict, I had had the full Kiwi. Even at breakfast the detail is there with the weather forecast included within the menu.
If you stay here the wifi is a decent signal, if you both want to log on you for some reason need separate passwords.
If you say here you will not regret the choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeman5802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

We only had one night with Karen at Westwood lodge but found her to be extremely attentive. She organised our restaurant and helicopter flight immediately and although it's the biggest pkace we stayed in along our way the service was still very personal. Breakfast was served in a wonderful lounge area with magnificent views and such friendly efficient manner. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathrynmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This is a very comfortable property with large guest rooms, dining and shared living areas. The breakfast was yummy with plenty of choices. I can't say enough about the service. I left a very expensive piece of jewelry in my room. Kaz not only located and mailed it too me but even went back to the post office to track it when it was not received in a timely manner. I happily paid only $16 the cost of postage and insurance. I don't know where else I would have received this kind of service! All the rooms are extra clean and on ground level and removed from the noise of the highway.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyGite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I recently stayed here while on a six week trek down under...it was a great place! Kaz the owner was a wonderful, lovely lady. The property was great as was the included breakfast...you can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian-Teri Pollack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bavaria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed here shortly before Christmas. We were very impressed with the lodge. Although fully booked, we felt totally secluded in our coach house apartment. The apartment was very tastefully decorated, spacious and the patio was surrounded by a beautiful garden with spectacular views of the glacier. The breakfast in the main lodge was absolutely delicious. We had the full English and eggs Benedict before our hike, which kept us going all day. We only wish we could have stayed here longer.

Just be aware that throughout the whole of the town, you will be mobbed by the sandflies. Take some good bug repellent.

Room Tip: The coach house was fantastic, secluded, spacious and with stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyBavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as we passed through Franz Josef on our South Island tour. Accommodation was excellent with large, clean and comfortable rooms. The Lodge Great Room with fire and bar - hosted by the owner - was wonderful for a warming sit down out of the rain and to chat with other travelers. Breakfast was really good. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
657 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 12 in Franz Josef
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel

Property: Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel
Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Lodge offer stylish cotemporary accommodation set in a delightful landscaped native garden with Alpine & Glacier views. All rooms are superbly comfortable, choose between the Main House Suites with a luxurious French tub or a Coach House suite with fantastic alpine views. All suites have underfloor heated spacious ensuites with dual handbasins & large open titled showers. For total comfort all include complimentary toiletries, robes & hairdryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing