We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Kaz and Muri were welcoming and helpful. We loved our room, with the private area on the deck and the gorgeous views. Lots of birds to enjoy!

Kaz took time to sit around the fireplace and visit with my husband and me, and it was wonderful to hear stories about the area to fill out what we knew from the guide book.

The room was super clean, large and comfortable. A+ bed and pillows! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubysusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

An unexpectedly lovely experience.

We came here for the glacier, of course, and found the most delightful pine lodge with vaulted ceilings, open fireplaces and a really homely atmposhere.

We were upgraded to the best suite, a whole flat to ourselves with lovely en-suite.

Only one night but we wished it had been too.

Room Tip: As for an upgrade to the top suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed a couple of nights here mid April, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in units set away from the main lodge, which are beautifully constructed from wood to a very high standard. The unit is large, well equipped and has a walk in shower room. The views of Franz Josef Glacier from the units are spectacular and worth the stay for just that alone. Westwood Lodge is situated a couple of minutes from Franz Josef or 15 minutes if you fancy a walk, but don't be put off by that, it is lovely and peaceful and to hear the birdsong in the morning is something special. We have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Having been capitivated by the awsome scenery and things to do in Queenstown we left our departure from this area rather late in the day to travel to Franz. however once we arrived at Westwood Lodge we knew we had chosen well. Recommended by friends in Hokitika they were spot on with their advice. Kaz made us welcome and got us settled into one of the the best rooms before suggesting a couple of options for our evening meal in Franz.
We returned from our short trip into town and indulged in a spa bath before sleeping soundly until late. A 9.00am breakfast was not a problem and the offerings at breakfast sensational with a generous and well presented cooked breakfast available as well as the great selection of fruits and fresh breads.
The scenic views from the lounge room of the alps is sensational and I can only imagine how awesome it would be with more snow on the peaks. Whilst we travelled in summer this would be a geat place to stay in the winter with a large lounge and huge open fire plus a separate billard room.
Well doe Kaz and team.. keep up the great work

Room Tip: The room we had was number 9 and recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryanDeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This is a good quality hotel, the design and build quality is superb, from moment we arrived staff were helpful, could not fault our room in any way the detail s there right down to having fresh milk in the fridge. Sleep quality we both slept a solid 9 hours, something we rarely do.
Breakfast was a delight with individually cooked breakfast from a menu, my wife had the egg Benedict, I had had the full Kiwi. Even at breakfast the detail is there with the weather forecast included within the menu.
If you stay here the wifi is a decent signal, if you both want to log on you for some reason need separate passwords.
If you say here you will not regret the choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freeman5802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

We only had one night with Karen at Westwood lodge but found her to be extremely attentive. She organised our restaurant and helicopter flight immediately and although it's the biggest pkace we stayed in along our way the service was still very personal. Breakfast was served in a wonderful lounge area with magnificent views and such friendly efficient manner. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathrynmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This is a very comfortable property with large guest rooms, dining and shared living areas. The breakfast was yummy with plenty of choices. I can't say enough about the service. I left a very expensive piece of jewelry in my room. Kaz not only located and mailed it too me but even went back to the post office to track it when it was not received in a timely manner. I happily paid only $16 the cost of postage and insurance. I don't know where else I would have received this kind of service! All the rooms are extra clean and on ground level and removed from the noise of the highway.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BetsyGite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,217 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.8 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel

Address: Rapid Number 2919 State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range: £161 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Lodge offer stylish cotemporary accommodation set in a delightful landscaped native garden with Alpine & Glacier views. All rooms are superbly comfortable, choose between the Main House Suites with a luxurious French tub or a Coach House suite with fantastic alpine views. All suites have underfloor heated spacious ensuites with dual handbasins & large open titled showers. For total comfort all include complimentary toiletries, robes & hairdryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing