We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thoroughly pleasant”
Reviewed 6 January 2008

My initial impression, as we arrived on a rather dull day, was not that great. The buildings looked a bit bland and functional from the outside, but my mood ws much improved once we'd checked in (very friendly and helpful - not the actual owners I believe) and seen our accommodation. After a series of hotel rooms and restaurant meals it was great to have our own little apartment - nice bedroom, adequate kitchen, lounge/dining area in an open plan arrangement. Parking right next to the door and a pleasant decking area. We took full advantage of the facilities and cooked our own meals on both nights.

The people running reception gave us good advice and offered to book excursions for us.

Convenient for the town of Franz Josef, about a five minute drive - not really viable for walking into town.

  • Liked — Apartment style
  • Disliked — Noise from farmstead opposite
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtravellingguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    178
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
128
308
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2007

This is a truly lovely place to stay. The accomodation is like a mini house!!

On the first floor you get a large open plan sitting, dinning room, kitchen area, a large bath room with modern fittings and a walk in shower and a double bedroom. Up stairs there is a twin bedroom.

The sitting area has glass doors leading out onto decking. The sofas are very comfortable. The kitchen area is very well equiped, there is a small selection of drinks and nibbles which can be purchased, along with the complimentry tea, coffee etc.

The beds were equiped with electric blankets.

The accomodation was spotlessly clean and the owners super helpful. We needed a late checkout which the owners agreed to without hesitation. They were very knowlegable about the area and provided us with a map showing the best places to eat with children.

Wireless access is well priced. There is a small childrens play area and a laundry open 24 hours a day.

We would love to go back to stay, this time for a longer period of time.

  • Liked — The space and the friendly owners
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Herefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Michigan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

We stayed here during our honeymoon, at a stopover in Franz Josef. The room was clean and pleasant, but nothing wowed us, like the other places we stayed.

The front desk was helpful in suggesting things to do, but we'd already booked a heli-hike.

I do remember the bed wasn't the most comfortable of the trip, and the hot water ran out before my wife could shower. I had to sweet talk them into giving us a late check-out so she could shower after the heli-hike. They were accommodating in that respect.

Was there anything glaringly terrible? No. Was there anything spectacular? No. I'd say it was a nice, clean, average place to stay.

  • Liked — It's location to Franz Josef Glacier
  • Disliked — The hot water running out
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wilkintj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

Our stay here involved quite a bit of rain, but still managed to get out to see the glaciers. A cabin with a view definitely improves the experience as some cabins do face the road (though no traffic at night to speak of).

Most of the cabins were empty at the time we stayed and this added to quietness of the location and the feel of being away from it all.

Friendly staff, clean rooms and a short drive into town. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozzy_kul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2007

We were only able to stay 2 nights here but it was 2 amazing days we owe in part to our stay here. Weather definitely plays a huge part as another review posted. We were lucky - had super clear weather for our helihike/helicopter rides.

We booked early enough too to ask for one of their villas that face the mountains. Wow. What a view. We felt like we were off on our own in our own home. Loved it! It was on the higher end, price-wise, but we couldn't have been happier. We arrived late and were greeted by the host without any issues. And we were welcomed too in having our 3 yr old daughter.

It is a short drive from town, but you need to have a car for sure.. I'm glad we stayed out of town (5 min) and would definitely go back if we go back to hike the mtn. Oh, and they booked the day trips for us too. My husband took the helihike and my daughter and I took the helicopter ride. They coordinated it all! Fantastic!

2 nights is a must too.. just in case of weather for seeing/hiking the glacier.

  • Liked — spacious, individual units
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lib3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2007

This little collection of cabins was a nice, quiet place to stay. The
units are all pretty basic but clean and sunny. Our villa had a kitchenette of decent size, a small bedroom and a nice size bathroom but no tub. The living area had a pullout sofabed and there is a nice little deck on each unit although ours was not facing the mountians and so had no real view. The staff is friendly and there is a nice laundry room that won't break the bank. It is not right in town and requires a short drive to get to the main area.

  • Liked — Nice rooms, friendly staff
  • Disliked — distance from town, our unit didn't have a view or overhang for parking
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bihagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2007

Our apartment was very spacious, clean, well furnished and maintained, albeit just a trifle soulless. However this could have been partly our mood as the weather was really poor and our helihike was cancelled, so we were not feeling very cheery. Franz Josef is very touristy with nowhere particularly amazing to eat (we were feeling so grumpy we retired to our villa with a bottle of excellent New Zealand desert wine and a tub of hokey-pokey!) However I would have no hesitation in recommending these apartments - they are on the main road a car drive out of town, but there is so little traffic in New Zealand that just does not matter. I think previous unhappy customers might just have been very unlucky.

  • Liked — Terrace with a view of a fence
  • Disliked — Distance from town
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scissorsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Property: Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing