We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a view!!”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Our touring holiday of north & south New Zealand was organised by a travel company and all our accomodation pre booked. In our original itinery we were in a lodge in the heart or Franz Josef. On arrival in New Zealand we found some of our accomodation had been changed, this being one of them and were a little dissapointed. That is untill we checked in. We had already checked out the original accomodation and although it was in the heart of everything it was also srrounded by everything, ie, other motels, coach parks and restaurants.
Glenfern is a little outside of town but no more than 5 minutes by car. The villas are modern, spacious, spotlessly clean and more than adequately equiped. You have your own parking bay outside of your door, a seated decking area outside of the patio doors, surrounded by countryside, a small holding with alpacca and ours had a view to die for.
Cesar ( hope this is the correct spelling ) one of the joint managers, greeted us on arrival and could not have been more helpful. Tips on the best places to go for views and eating and a local map were supplied with an enthusiasm that only comes from someone who takes enormous pride in their job and establishment.
My only dissapointment was the fact we were only staying for one night. We could have stayed and relaxed for days !

Room Tip: A view of the mountains is reccomended, but as you are surrounded by countryside all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Framps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    178
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
130
310
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stopped here for a couple of nights when travelling via Franz Joseph. The managers were very helpful and accommodating. The Villas were well priced, very clean and modern, with a lovely alpine feel. We had an outside deck and undercover parking which was really handy with the rain. Its a short drive (about 5min) into the town of Franz Joseph.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrentsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Glenfren Villas are a little way out of Franz Joseph town but beautifully set with a backdrop of snow capped mountains. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The villa was clean, spacious and comfortable. The kitchen area well equiped. Had the weather been better we could have sat out on our own deck.
Free wifi was available. We didn't realise how much of a bonus this was so till later in our trip.
.
Only down side for us may have been welcomed by others. There was no onsite cafe or resaurant for breakfast; it was prepare your own from supplied ingredients. Any food left overs were happily scoffed by the goats and alpacas.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alix48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Our bookings were done by our travel agent for our fourth trip to New Zealand but this one is really at the top of our list.

Very clean quiet with very professional attentive hosts.

Our chalet came well equipped with kitchen facilities that allowed us to cook in so we could enjoy the patio with a nice bottle of wine.

Put this one on your to stay list as you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

....because they were fully booked the next night and we would have loved to stay longer. However, they helped with finding another accomodation in town. Cesar and Erika from Argentina, who manage the place, are very friendly and helpful, also pointed out the nicest walks in the area. The unit we had was impeccable and very comfortable and we enjoyed the boccia outside

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable clean and with all the comforts of home. We had a two bed room villa check in was fast people were very friendly and our son enjoyed meeting the animals next door . They had goats chickens and Alpacas nice and quiet and only 5 mins by car to Franzs

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nighthound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The check-in and general setup for this accommodation was efficient and welcoming. The facilities in each villa were excellent, although our bedroom was on the small side. Our lounge and kitchen area in the villa was probably the best part of our accommodation and very useful after a long day walk to the glacier(s). We didnt bother with the breakfast box, preferring to use an excellent cafe/restaurant in Franz Josef town.The relaxed and friendly hosts plus the fact that you can walk straight from your car into your room with all your walking gear was a bonus. The peace and quiet plus wonderful early morning views of the Southern Alps helped make our 2 night stay here a memorable one.
Overall a thoroughly recommended, clean and comfortable facility for anyone walking and treking in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
1.5 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Property: Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing