We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terrace Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier View Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
319
193
36
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
193
36
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villashort drivefarm animalsthe kitchenviews of the mountainsstate highwayliving areain towntwo nightsself caternew zealandwalk in showera great stayhelicopter flightour honeymoonsouth islandenjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
297 - 302 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This will be an easy review because I don't have one negative thing to say about this place--it's all good. It's possible that some people may not like that it is located a bit too far from town to walk to restaurants and such, but we thought of this as a positive thing because the area was quiet and the views were beautiful. I especially liked the big roomy modern bath, and the refrigerator/freezer was larger and nicer than the average in most hotels. There was also a fold up clothes drying rack, which I made use of after washing a couple clothing items--I've never stayed anywhere that had a clothes drying rack so this pleased me very much. It was clean, we slept very well, shower had a good flow, spacious. Would definitely stay there again. The hosts were very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Arrived on St. Valentine's Day,many thanks Sassa for "emergency" rose and milk!Stayed 5 nights,staff very friendly and helpful.Sassa booked our kayaking trip on Okarito Lagoon,wonderful seeing White Heron and Spoonbills in the wild.Great glacier views from villa number 3.Accomodation excellent,very well equipped,best we stayed at during 4 weeks in New Zealand.Very quiet and relaxing despite proximity to SH6.We would certainly recommend Glenfern Villas and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Good mountain/glacier views from no 3.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights in February 2013. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the one bedroom villa was clean and well equipped. Whilst not far from Franz Joseph it's a fairly long walk along a busy road so we used the car more than we thought we would. A good place to stay when visiting the wonderful Franz Joseph.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GordonHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Excellent place to stay

We stayed at the Glenfern Villas for three nights arriving on 8 March.

Glenfern Villas is situated a few minutes' drive (30 / 40 minute walk) from Franz Josef village.

We received a very professional and friendly welcome on arrival which set the tone for our stay.

We had booked a two bedroom apartment and were given Villa 1. This was situated away from the road, was very peaceful and quiet and had great views of the mountains.

The Villa was superb, modern and stylish, very clean, it was a real pleasure to stay there.
Downstairs was a large lounge and kitchen area, the main bedroom and wet room with toilet. Upstairs there were three single beds.

The Kitchen was very well equipped and had everything we needed to self cater; cooker with two ring hob, good size fridge and separate freezer, microwave, kettle, good range of pots, pans, crockery and utensils. We ate in on each of the three nights we were there. There is a well stocked 4 Square supermarket in Franz Josef village.

The lounge, had two settees and a TV, with Sky Movies, Sky sport 1, Disney, Discovery, CNN and TV 1 & 2. There was also a DVD - a good choice of films were available at reception no charge.

The main bedroom had a large comfortable queen bed, wardrobe and a cabinet on which to put our suitcases.

The wet room had a large excellent shower unit with glass screen, washbasin and toilet.

Outside was a nice garden with table and chairs where you could sit, read and admire the views of the snow capped mountains.

There was also excellent Wi Fi which was provided free.

With Glenfern Villas you get the best of both worlds, the peace and quiet of being out of Franz Josef but only two minutes drive from the restaurants and activities on offer in the village.

We had booked in for two nights but enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night.

Room Tip: We stopped in Villa 1 a two bedroom unit. Excellent, plenty of room, stylish, modern really well equipped, quiet and peaceful and great views of the snow capped mountains.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueJim126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

These people are great. They are friendly and helpful and the facility is clean and pleasant It's a lovely spot and they do all that they can to make your stay relaxing. They explained where the best restaurants were and have a free DVD rental library
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews