We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairly basic accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fairly basic accommodation”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We had a two bedroom villa, which gave us plenty of space, but overall, we felt the accommodation was pretty basic. The weather was warm, and there are lots of insects around, particularly sand flies, which give an unpleasant bite. We had air-conditioning, but it only operated in the lounge area, so the bedrooms remained muggy, and opening a window was not an attractive option because of the sand flies. Also, unlike other apartment style accommodation at similar prices, there was no dishwasher and only a communal launderette, at extra cost. Location is not ideal either, being 3 or 4 km out of town, so a taxi is required if you want to have a drink with dinner! Accommodation choice is limited in Franz Josef, but there is lots of room for improvement here, in what are quite expensive villas.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    178
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
128
308
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lustenau, Austria
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Situated approx 2km north from the center of Franz Josef Glacier village, right off the highway. Very quiet location, good for children. Stayed in one bedroom villa. Space sufficient, with the kitchen that was adequate for 1-2nights stay. Bed comfortable, in the room had a heater in case of cold spell. Service was very helpful, desk manager willing to come after cleaning hours to make our room (our baby slept during their work hours), adding requested pots and pans for our cooking. Very good TV reception and cable package. On the back of the villas you can find small playground for children and across the dirt road in front of the main entrance is a corral with farm animals that you can visit. We did but the goats were huge and scary:-)
The car is necessary to get to the village but other than that the place is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

country location a few kms away from Franz Joseph village which actually adds to its attractions. a collection of very spacious eco properties with good views of the mountains although it was cloudy on our stay so we did not get the full benefit of its location. despite its proximity to the road, nice quiet location. we only stayed one night on our way from the train at Greymouth to Wannaka and with more time, would have liked to stay longer.

we enjoyed the alpacas, goats and chickens which gave a very friendly feel to the place.

Room Tip: ask for a room with mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentor
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This will be an easy review because I don't have one negative thing to say about this place--it's all good. It's possible that some people may not like that it is located a bit too far from town to walk to restaurants and such, but we thought of this as a positive thing because the area was quiet and the views were beautiful. I especially liked the big roomy modern bath, and the refrigerator/freezer was larger and nicer than the average in most hotels. There was also a fold up clothes drying rack, which I made use of after washing a couple clothing items--I've never stayed anywhere that had a clothes drying rack so this pleased me very much. It was clean, we slept very well, shower had a good flow, spacious. Would definitely stay there again. The hosts were very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Arrived on St. Valentine's Day,many thanks Sassa for "emergency" rose and milk!Stayed 5 nights,staff very friendly and helpful.Sassa booked our kayaking trip on Okarito Lagoon,wonderful seeing White Heron and Spoonbills in the wild.Great glacier views from villa number 3.Accomodation excellent,very well equipped,best we stayed at during 4 weeks in New Zealand.Very quiet and relaxing despite proximity to SH6.We would certainly recommend Glenfern Villas and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Good mountain/glacier views from no 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights in February 2013. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the one bedroom villa was clean and well equipped. Whilst not far from Franz Joseph it's a fairly long walk along a busy road so we used the car more than we thought we would. A good place to stay when visiting the wonderful Franz Joseph.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GordonHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Excellent place to stay

We stayed at the Glenfern Villas for three nights arriving on 8 March.

Glenfern Villas is situated a few minutes' drive (30 / 40 minute walk) from Franz Josef village.

We received a very professional and friendly welcome on arrival which set the tone for our stay.

We had booked a two bedroom apartment and were given Villa 1. This was situated away from the road, was very peaceful and quiet and had great views of the mountains.

The Villa was superb, modern and stylish, very clean, it was a real pleasure to stay there.
Downstairs was a large lounge and kitchen area, the main bedroom and wet room with toilet. Upstairs there were three single beds.

The Kitchen was very well equipped and had everything we needed to self cater; cooker with two ring hob, good size fridge and separate freezer, microwave, kettle, good range of pots, pans, crockery and utensils. We ate in on each of the three nights we were there. There is a well stocked 4 Square supermarket in Franz Josef village.

The lounge, had two settees and a TV, with Sky Movies, Sky sport 1, Disney, Discovery, CNN and TV 1 & 2. There was also a DVD - a good choice of films were available at reception no charge.

The main bedroom had a large comfortable queen bed, wardrobe and a cabinet on which to put our suitcases.

The wet room had a large excellent shower unit with glass screen, washbasin and toilet.

Outside was a nice garden with table and chairs where you could sit, read and admire the views of the snow capped mountains.

There was also excellent Wi Fi which was provided free.

With Glenfern Villas you get the best of both worlds, the peace and quiet of being out of Franz Josef but only two minutes drive from the restaurants and activities on offer in the village.

We had booked in for two nights but enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night.

Room Tip: We stopped in Villa 1 a two bedroom unit. Excellent, plenty of room, stylish, modern really well eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueJim126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Property: Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing