We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The apartment was warm and very spacious with everything we needed. Friendly staff and very helpful on things to do in the area. The Villas are a short drive to the town. They suggested Fox Glacier which we did and so glad we did.
The room looked back to the mountains and was a lovely sight early in the morning as the sun came up. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenSorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

From the moment we drove into the villa until the moment we left, we loved everything about it. Friendly staff greeted us, took us to our very nice and spacious room, equipped with a large kitchen area and lounge.Comfortable seating good heating and wondreful views. A short drive into town and their are several places to choose from for a meal or just to sit and have a drink.The only disappointing thing about this experience was that we only booked to stay one night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

From the moment we checked in we felt both welcome and relaxed. There was nothing that was too much trouble from free wi fi to being escorted and shown the room.
Added extras of vouchers were another surprise.
I do not write too many reviews but I found this place worthy of praised and somewhere you should definitely consider if ever you are fortunate enough to travel down to this part of the world

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

A few minutes drive from the village of Franz Josef make this a nice and quiet location with great views of the mountains from rear decked area . The villa had plenty of space, large lounge / dinner / kitchen with separate bedroom and bedroom , with all that you need for your stay. Ideal base for visiting the glaciers.
Children would like feeding the goats and Alpacas and using the play equipment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alang684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Great hosts. Could not do enough for you. Good advice when your traveling is handy and these guy's were spot on. Lotsa room to move. A little out of town but this is quiet and lovely part of the world. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Firstly we were greeted by very pleasant staff, car parking is outside your villa, so much space with lounge & TV, all facilities that you need inc a kitchen & plenty of space in the bedrooms. Great location and with so much to do in Franz Josef you need to stay the night here. Hot pools are nearby & Kiwi place & book an adventure on the glacier!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed one night whilst touring the South Island. A very pleasant quiet clean well presented motel with separate large units. Staff very pleasant and polite. Excellent value for money. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again
Maxine G

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxineG599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,249 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
691 reviews
1.5 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: £107 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing